A New Day

Taking a look at all of the things I've been missing

Recent Summer Favorites

on July 23, 2017

Hello everyone!

Long time, no favorites! Blogging has taken a back seat to life the last few months – thing are definitely on the upswing and I’m finally able to sit down and start typing out some of my thoughts. So here we go!

Since the heat and humidity are at their worst, I’ve switched up some of my facial products. Cooling sprays are what I crave! After working outside or when I’m just feeling generally miserable, I reach for the Avène Thermal Spring Water. After spending a few hours in 80+ degree weather with 90% humidity, I came home and showered and followed it with a generous mist before putting on a mask. It was refreshing and cooling after a super hot day. I’ve also added the Lush Breath of Fresh Air back into my morning routine. Serums were making my face feel a bit greasy so I eliminated one in exchange for this under my moisturizer – definitely the right choice. Just a couple spritzes leave my skin hydrated all day without feeling oily.

Speaking of dealing with summer… I’ve shifted away from powder blushes and have been using cream blushes pretty much every day. They have some serious staying power and still look pretty and natural when skin is a bit dewy. Two of my favorites have been the Becca Beach Tint Shimmer Soufflé in Watermelon/Moonstone and the Bite Multistick in Gelato. They are completely different, but really allow me to change up my summer looks throughout the week.


The Becca shade is a bright, punchy coral with a bit of shimmer. The photo was taken in direct sunlight, making it seem super glittery. It is actually quite subtle on my face. Gelato is a somewhat cool toned plummy/mauve shade, similar to Bite Thistle (reviewed here) with less of a taupe finish. The swatch applied pretty heavily, but it is actually quite sheer and buildable. Both shades are easy to blend and incredibly long lasting.

I’ve been on a perfume buying kick… shhhh, don’t tell! I have always loved breezy, beachy scents, but this seems to be at an all time high. My two current favorites are the Tom Ford Neroli Portofino and the Jo Malone Basil & Neroli – notice a trend? The two scents are similar, but the Tom Ford has more citrus notes and a hint of bergamot. Neroli and bergamot are so crisp and clean – I can’t help but be drawn to them. I also just picked up a bergamot scent, but I can’t officially say if it is a favorite yet. 😉

So there you have it – just a few things that are getting me through summer. What are some of your current favorites? Share below!

2 responses to “Recent Summer Favorites

  1. Courtney Zimmerman says:

    I got a sample of Clean Reserve perfume in Sueded Oud and I have been wearing it and liking it a lot! It’s not something I would’ve picked out but that’s the fun of sample boxes. I also got a Tarte Gaurd tinted moisturizer and have been using that regularly as well.

    • Laura P says:

      Clean has been knocking it out of the park! I’m wearing the Blonde Rose today and really like it. I do love a good oud – will have to give it a sniff!

Leave a Reply

Always, Cleia

Beauty, Lifestyle, and Subscription Boxes

The Beauty Deputy

Reviews on all things beauty related such as: makeup, skin care, fragrances, and much more!

sarah loves makeup

ramblings from a girl who's been obsessed with makeup since, well, forever

The Project Pan Gal

This blog is about my love for makeup and my attempts on using my products up.

After the 9 to 5

Lifestyle - beauty, music, art, books - blog for balancing after the 9 to 5

Life Before Noon

I am learning what the world is like when you wake up before sunrise.

Canadian Beauty Blogger - Makeup Swatches Reviews Hair Nail Polish

Taking a look at all of the things I've been missing

Beauty & The Tomboy.

My Beauty Obsession Shared!

BlushingNoir

Just another WordPress.com site

The Subscriptionist

Subscription Boxes Revealed and Reviewed

Makeup and Beauty Blog | Makeup Reviews, Swatches and How-To Makeup

Taking a look at all of the things I've been missing

PrettyTrippy

a beauty & travel blog (well sort of...)

