A New Day

Taking a look at all of the things I've been missing

Use It: May 2017 Empties

on June 3, 2017

Hello again, everyone!

Can you believe it is almost summer? It has been cool and rainy for the last couple weeks – very deceiving!

While it was a longer month, I actually used up fewer items that April. Perhaps last month was also atypical product use?

Due to the lower number of products, we’ll keep this alphabetical. As always, sample reviews are posted to my Instagram (@lvp8779) as they are used.

Beautyblender PRO – I have to be honest… I don’t get it. I have tried this with 3-4 different foundations, concealer, baking, etc. This left my foundation feeling thinner and like it broke down during the day… which, let’s be honest is what will happen when you use a water-dampened sponge to apply your makeup. I never tried using with Fix+ or a setting spray because that is a damn waste of product. I will stick with brushes or even my fingers for foundation application. Available at Sephora for $20.

Bliss Body Butter in Vanilla + Bergamot – I don’t typically go for vanilla scents, but the crispness of the bergamot really won me over. Bliss consistently makes lovely body butters in a number of scents. While I love many of them, I will not likely repurchase this scent in particular. Available at bliss.com for $29 (6.7oz)

Bliss Body Wash in Vanilla + Bergamot – oh hey… look.. a set! I finished the body butter at the beginning of the month and this at the very end. The timing was just a bit off. Much like the body butter, the scent is not really for me. I like it, but I don’t love it. Available at bliss.com for $20 (16oz).

Kiehl’s Micro-Blur Skin Perfector – there was something odd about this. For the first couple months of using this, the product separated. I would squeeze the tube and just get oil. After that initial phase, it came out of the tube smooth and creamy. This helped to even out my skin tone and made my foundation just glide on. I can’t say that it actually minimized the appearance of pores or did any long-term refining. There are a lot of great primers out there so I probably would not repurchase this one again. Available at Kiehl’s for $35 (1oz).

Make Up For Ever Aqua Eyes Waterproof Pencil – M-10 Matte Black – this is just an okay black eyeliner.. Whenever I used this, I always felt that I needed to do finish work with a black liquid liner. This has a fairly opaque finish – I really prefer bold, deep pigmentation to stand out behind my glasses. I have a few other shades that perform much better. Available at Sephora for $21.

NYX Fresh Face Blotting Paper – this contains salicylic acid and is supposed to help with breakouts. I don’t have many breakouts, but I have been feeling super greasy. This does help, but I can’t say it is any more or less than any other blotting paper. I really like the NYX blotting papers, so will probably repurchase at some point. Available at Ulta for $5.99 for 100 sheets.

Ole Henriksen Pure Truth Youth Activating Oil – I really loved this. It is great for cooler weather, but once the humidity and heat start creeping up, this starts to make my skin a bit too greasy. This absorbs quickly and works very well with other hydrating products. Ole Henriksen has changed up all of their packaging over the last few months – you can still get this, but it looks a bit different. Full size available at Sephora for $45 (1oz), this was part of a 500 point set at 0.5 oz – still very generous!

Oribe Gold Lust Dry Shampoo – a lot of people really love this… I’m not sure why. This was mediocre at best. I didn’t feel that this absorbed much oil or extended time between washing. I also have a mini of the texturizing spray that I do like, but this was a disappointment. Purse size spray available at Birchbox.com for $22… get out of here.

Up and Up Nail Polish Remover – I’ve said many times that I don’t really see the point of spending a ton of money on polish remover. Obviously, I spent $1.04 on this one and it was perfectly fine. It removed polish and didn’t strip my nails… I’d buy it again!

Urban Decay Perversion Mascara – I think I have reviewed this before. I love this mascara. It is incredibly pigmented, layers easily and doesn’t clump or flake. The more I revisit this, the more I like it. If I ever got to a point in my life where I need to actually purchase mascara, this would be at the top of the list! Available at Ulta for $10 (mini).

Total products used 2017:

Skincare: 16

Body: 9

Hair: 12

Makeup/face: 7

other: 6

Nails: 6

Samples: 11

Sheet masks: 1

Month total: $186.53   (approximately)

Year total: $766.72

I made it all the way to the last day of the month without purchasing anything and then fell off the wagon… It was a rough month. I didn’t have coupons or gift cards.. I just needed a little retail therapy.

Kiehl’s:

Sun-Free Self-Tanning Formula – $22.50 for 5oz.

Super Fluid UV Defense Sunscreen SPF 50 – $38 for 1.7oz

Nordstrom:

Jo Malone Cologne in Nectarine and Honey Blossom – $65 for 1oz.

Samples on samples on samples… GWP

 

Hopefully I can get back on blogging track in June. I’ve had a lot of personal stuff going on the last couple months – blogging has definitely taken a back seat. Stay tuned…

Happy June!

Leave a Reply

Always, Cleia

Beauty, Lifestyle, and Subscription Boxes

The Beauty Deputy

Reviews on all things beauty related such as: makeup, skin care, fragrances, and much more!

sarah loves makeup

ramblings from a girl who's been obsessed with makeup since, well, forever

The Project Pan Gal

This blog is about my love for makeup and my attempts on using my products up.

After the 9 to 5

Lifestyle - beauty, music, art, books - blog for balancing after the 9 to 5

Life Before Noon

I am learning what the world is like when you wake up before sunrise.

Canadian Beauty Blogger - Makeup Swatches Reviews Hair Nail Polish

Taking a look at all of the things I've been missing

Beauty & The Tomboy.

My Beauty Obsession Shared!

BlushingNoir

Just another WordPress.com site

The Subscriptionist

Subscription Boxes Revealed and Reviewed

Makeup and Beauty Blog | Makeup Reviews, Swatches and How-To Makeup

Taking a look at all of the things I've been missing

PrettyTrippy

a beauty & travel blog (well sort of...)

