A New Day

Taking a look at all of the things I've been missing

Use It: February 2017 Empties

on March 5, 2017

Hello again, everyone!

I’ve been on a bit of a blog break – I’m in the final stages of planning a big event next weekend and we started a major bathroom renovation. I’ve just not had time to sit down and type anything.

As I was moving all of the stuff out of the bathroom,  I contemplated just tossing my empties box… and then I thought about waiting until March… and then I just tossed the box  into my guest room. Since there were so few items in this box, I figured I could sit down and type out a few notes.

As always, sample reviews are posted to my Instagram (@lvp8779) as they are used. I used up a handful of some deluxe samples. If I was able to get a good sense of the product, it is included in this post. I am going to keep a tally again this year and track the total amount of products used with a final total in December (or whenever I actually write the December empties post…)

As an added bonus, my low-buy purchases will be tacked on to the end of the post. Hopefully this will help keep me accountable for spending as little as possible this year.

Here we go:

Amika Perk Up Dry Shampoo – this is definitely one of my favorite high-end dry shampoos. It absorbs oil quickly and keeps working throughout the day. I love this! Available at Sephora or birchbox.com for $10 for 1oz.

Guerlain Orchidee Imperiale The Eye and Lip Cream – I wasn’t going to include this because it was a sample, but it lasted for a month and was so damn good. This smoothed out my under eye area and decreased the dark circles. If it wasn’t so crazy expensive, I would definitely purchase. Full size is available at Saks for $200 for 0.5oz (no joke).

Not Your Mother’s Clean Freak Refreshing Dry Shampoo – this can of dry shampoo is huge and seemed to last forever. I was really impressed – this worked better than most of the drugstore dry shampoos I have tried. I will definitely repurchase! Available at Ulta for $5.99 for 7oz.

Ole Henriksen Truth Crème Advanced Hydration – this was nothing spectacular. It absorbed quickly and wasn’t greasy. It would be a good summer moisturizer, but definitely not meant for colder weather. Since they recently, rebranded I think they renamed this as the Truth Advanced™ Moisturizing Crème. Full size available at Sephora for $48 for 1.7oz.

Spa Sister Detoxifying Bamboo Charcoal Konjac Sponge – I found this for a steal at T.J. Maxx! I really liked how well it cleaned and exfoliated my face, but the sponge size was too  big. After a while, I switched this to a body sponge and it worked so much better! I loved using this this my Julep body cleansing oil. I would definitely repurchase. Available at T.J. Maxx for $4.99.

Total products used 2017:

Skincare: 7

Body: 1

Hair: 4

Makeup/face: 0

other: 3

Nails: 0

Samples: 4

Sheet masks: 1

Month total: $45.98   (approximately)

Year total: $158.98

Things I purchased:

About 4 candles from Saint Augustine  and Suds. Sadly, my friend Denise had to close her storefront. However she is going to continue events, local events and her website is open 24/7 (www.saintaugustineandsuds.com). I am in love with the Tonka Whiskey Leather candles. I also managed to find another Campfire and Coffee Candle… so good.

Amount spent in February: about $50.

Have a wonderful March! I look forward to sharing final renovation photos with you soon!

Leave a Reply

The Beauty Deputy

Reviews on all things beauty related such as: makeup, skin care, fragrances, and much more!

sarah loves makeup

ramblings from a girl who's been obsessed with makeup since, well, forever

The Project Pan Gal

This blog is about my love for makeup and my attempts on using my products up.

After the 9 to 5

Lifestyle - beauty, music, art, books - blog for balancing after the 9 to 5

Life Before Noon

I am learning what the world is like when you wake up before sunrise.

Canadian Beauty Blogger - Makeup Swatches Reviews Hair Nail Polish

Taking a look at all of the things I've been missing

Beauty & The Tomboy.

My Beauty Obsession Shared!

BlushingNoir

Just another WordPress.com site

The Subscriptionist

Subscription Boxes Revealed and Reviewed

Makeup and Beauty Blog | Makeup Reviews, Swatches and How-To Makeup

Taking a look at all of the things I've been missing

PrettyTrippy

a beauty & travel blog (well sort of...)

All The Lovely Things In Life

A blog about beauty, crafting, and things that make me happy.

Beauty High

Beauty Tips, Product Reviews & Beauty Trends

