A New Day

Taking a look at all of the things I've been missing

Use It: January 2017 Empties

on February 12, 2017

Hello everyone!

Happy February to you all! I hope you are having a great start to the new year.

Since I only finished a handful of products this month, I’m not breaking things out by category. Hopefully February will yield a few more. As always, sample reviews are posted to my Instagram (@lvp8779) as they are used. I used up a handful of some deluxe samples. If I was able to get a good sense of the product, it is included in this post. I am going to keep a tally again this year and track the total amount of products used with a final total in December (or whenever I actually write the December empties post…)

As an added bonus, my low-buy purchases will be tacked on to the end of the post. Hopefully this will help keep me accountable for spending as little as possible this year.

Here we go:

Bath and Body Works PocketBac in Dancing Waters – my favorite BBW scent. It doesn’t over power – clean, crisp and meshes with my other scents. Available for $1.75 for 1oz.

Bee Kind Body Lotion – thin, non-hydrating, chamomile scented lotion. No. I think this came in a Birchbox forever ago.

dpHUE ACV –  this is an apple cider vinegar hair cleanser that really helped balance my scalp oil and remove any product build up. It is incredibly gentle and cleanses thoroughly without stripping any color. I don’t know if I would purchase the full size. I do have another mini and will determine after that. Full size available at Sephora for $35 for 8.5oz.

Garnier Micellar Cleansing Water – this little guy came over from a friend who visited the UK a while ago. This was of course released in the states several month later. As I’ve mentioned before I really only use this for eye makeup. This was great – very gentle and removed my stubborn mascara in a snap. Available in a 13.5oz size for $8.99.

GLAMGLOW Supermud Clearing Treatment – I love this so much. It’s great for a spot treatment or an overall mask when my skin gets crazy. It minimizes pores, decreases oil production and zaps blemishes in a snap. I need this back in my life asap. Full size available at Sephora for $69 for 1.7oz.

L’Oréal Root Cover Up in Red – this is the second(?) third(?) can that I have used. This stuff is great. This is great for the time in between visits with my stylist. A quick spray covers up grey and hides my scary roots. It blends in so well and disguises the mystery shades underneath. 🙂 Available at Ulta for $10.99 for 2oz.

Marcelle Gentle Eye Makeup Remover – this is another one of the dual-phase eye makeup removers. Unlike the Mary Kay or Lancôme version, this one doesn’t leave my face greasy. It does a decent job removing stubborn eye makeup, but it tends to leave makeup smears behind. I purchased a full size with a bunch of Birchbox points, but I wish I hadn’t. Full size available at Birchbox.com for $17 for 150ml.

Patchology FlashPatch Eye Gels – these are fantastic – individual slices that are cooling and coated in a depuffing serum. I think the price point is a bit high, but they work so well. These were received for testing purposes from The Pink Panel. I would consider purchasing. Available at Neiman Marcus for $50 for 30 pairs.

Skyn Iceland Glacial Face Wash – this was a really nice, cooling cleanser. It did sting a bit and had to be kept away from the eyes. I found it to be incredibly gentle and didn’t strip moisture from my skin. I don’t know if I would rush right out and repurchase… it was fine. Full size available at Ulta for $30 for 5oz.

Saint Augustine and Suds tin in Holiday Kitchen – I love these candles – they have about a 30 hour burn time. This scent was a bit sweet – kind of like maple syrup? I have another that I love burning right now. Candles available on saintaugustineandsuds.com for $12.

Total products used 2017:

Skincare: 5

Body: 1

Hair: 2

Makeup/face: 0

other: 2

Nails: 0

Samples: 3

Sheet masks:

Month total: $113 (approximately)

 

Things purchased:

LuckyScent samples – $4 each + shipping =$16.

4160 Tuesdays – Sample: The Dark Heart of Old Havana – Eau de Parfum

 – PARFUMS DE NICOLAI – Sample: Fig Tea – Eau de Toilette

 – Slumberhouse – Sample: Kiste – Parfum Extrait

May Coop Raw Sauce (Sephora) – $43 – $25 gift card = $18

Total – $34

There you go. What did you use up in January? And if you are doing a low-buy, what were your purchases?

Have a wonderful February!

Leave a Reply

Always, Cleia

Beauty, Lifestyle, and Subscription Boxes

The Beauty Deputy

Reviews on all things beauty related such as: makeup, skin care, fragrances, and much more!

sarah loves makeup

ramblings from a girl who's been obsessed with makeup since, well, forever

The Project Pan Gal

This blog is about my love for makeup and my attempts on using my products up.

After the 9 to 5

Lifestyle - beauty, music, art, books - blog for balancing after the 9 to 5

Life Before Noon

I am learning what the world is like when you wake up before sunrise.

Canadian Beauty Blogger - Makeup Swatches Reviews Hair Nail Polish

Taking a look at all of the things I've been missing

Beauty & The Tomboy.

My Beauty Obsession Shared!

BlushingNoir

Just another WordPress.com site

The Subscriptionist

Subscription Boxes Revealed and Reviewed

Makeup and Beauty Blog | Makeup Reviews, Swatches and How-To Makeup

Taking a look at all of the things I've been missing

PrettyTrippy

a beauty & travel blog (well sort of...)

