A New Day

Taking a look at all of the things I've been missing

Use It: December 2016 Empties

on January 3, 2017

Happy 2017!

I hope everyone had a wonderful and safe New Year celebration. We went to dinner with some friends and then then I came home to sit on my couch with the dog. My husband and I were asleep by 12:30. We know how to have a good time. The older I get, the less interested I am in being out on NYE.

I am in the middle of drafting some year in review posts, but wanted to take a break to write about and recycle these empties. Plus, I am really curious about my final tally. I am going to do my absolute best to stick with a low-buy this year. I have no shortage of full-size and sample products to use… some with backups. My husband and I are committing to a budget and working hard to hold each other to it. I know I have said it before, but now I really need to stick to it. I have SO MUCH stuff…

As usual, everything is broken down by type: skin care, makeup, body, hair and lifestyle/other. Sample reviews are posted to my Instagram (@lvp8779) as they are used. I used up a handful of small samples as well as some deluxe samples. If I was able to get a good sense of the product, it is included in this post.

SKIN CARE

Clinique Clarifying Lotion #2 – If you read my blog regularly, you know that this has been a staple in my daily routine. After nearly 15 years, I am removing this from my skin care routine. I used to love how clean this left my face feeling after removing my makeup, however lately I feel that it leaves my skin tight and dry. Using micellar water after washing my face, followed by a non-alcohol based toner has given me the same clean feeling without the dryness. I’m sorry, Clarifying Lotion, but I have to let you go! Available at all Clinique counters for $24 for 13.5oz.

First Aid Beauty Face Cleanser – I started this a while back while I was treating my perioral dermatitis and sort of abandoned it after my treatment was over. I hate finding half-used products so was determined to finish this up. This cleanser is very gentle on skin, while removing all traces of makeup. A small amount easily does the trick, so this mini lasted quite a while. I have more of these tucked away! Available at Sephora for $5.50 for 1oz.

Ole Henriksen Pure Truth Melting Cleanser – this citrusy, gel-like cleanser makes a great first step cleanser. A small amount lifted makeup and primer after a long day. This was very hydrating and helped protect my face when doing a second cleansing step. I did not use this on or around my eyes, so cannot speak to how it removed eye makeup. I would definitely consider purchasing again. Full-size available at Sephora for $34 for 4oz.

Pond’s Original Fresh Wet Cleansing Towelettes – these were very nice – removed eye makeup with ease as well as deep lipstick and lip stains. I don’t feel like they can be used on their own though – they seem to leave a bit of a soapy film even though the directions say no washing needed. I would definitely repurchase. Available at Target for $9.99 for 75 wipes.

Skyn Iceland – Icelandic Relief Eye Pen – this was a very nice eye cream. Cooling, soothing and hydrating. I noticed minimal change in my undereye creasing and it did nothing for my dark circles. Given how self-conscious I am of the dark circles, this was not the product for me. Available at Ulta for $20 for 0.14oz.

MAKEUP

Benefit Gimme Brow Shade 3 – I feel like this is a bit thinner, yet more pigmented than the previous iteration. I really like the shade variations – light was too light and dark was too dark… this is juuuuust right. This was a mini version from the launch and it has lasted for months. I think I purchased a full size (see hoarding notes above…) and am definitely looking forward to using. Available at all Benefit counters for $12 for 0.03oz or $24 for 0.1oz.

Tarte Lights, Camera, Lashes Mascara – this mascara gets a ton of hype and I have no clue why. This was clumpy and kind of tough to use. I had to regularly spend a minute separating my lashes after using. It was also almost impossible to remove. I have 30 sample mascaras, I won’t be purchasing. Available at Ulta for $21 for 0.24oz.

BODY

Olay Quench Body Lotion – this is my go-to lotion for every season. While I change up other shower products and lotions seasonally, this is an absolute staple. I have tried a couple of the Quench varieties and I love them all. This is hydrating enough for the cold months, but non-greasy and absorbs quickly to get through the warm months. I buy this in bulk! Available on Amazon for $11.95 for 20.2oz.

HAIR

Alterna Caviar Replenishing Moisture Milk Leave-In Conditioning Spray – such a long name for leave-in conditioner. Like I said before, I don’t notice a lot of difference with this stuff… either it detangles or it doesn’t. This did. I wouldn’t spend this kind of money to repurchase though. Full-size available at Ulta for $30 for 5.1oz.

Redken Color Extend Sun Mousse SPF 25 – this was a gift from the nice folks at L’Oréal Product Evaluation a while back. I really tried to make this work – while it gave my waves a nice finish, it also left a weird residue on my hair. It did not like second or third day hair.. I tried to find this online, but it looks like it is only available in the UK now. Hmm..

LIFESTYLE/OTHER

Saint Augustine and Suds candles in Apple Pumpkin Rum and Campfire and Coffee – these are both fantastic – they smelled amazing and lasted forever. My favorite of the two was Campfire and Coffee, a nice balance of wood and hot steaming coffee. I received the Apple Pumpkin Rum at the Lady Saints event and I purchased the candle for $12. I believe Denise has made more and they are available in-store. You can contact her via the website – saintaugustineandsuds.com

So here is the moment I was waiting for…

Total products used 2016:

Skincare: 23

Body: 22

Hair: 17

Makeup/face: 30

other: 8

Nails: 16

Samples: 50

Sheet masks: 11

Month total: $96.45 (approximately)

Total products used in 2016: 177!

Year total: $1,570.80!!

While I used up a ton of stuff, I still have a long way to go. I’m hoping to come up with a couple challenges to keep myself motivated as well as try to resist opening new things before I use something up.

How do you stay motivated to use things up and/or stick to a low/no-buy? What are some of the challenges you are attempting in 2017? Comment below!

2 responses to “Use It: December 2016 Empties

  1. Victoria says:

    I was surprised by how much I like the Benefit brow stuff. I do think it’s an improvement of the original formula. You’ve also reminded me of how much I love Olay Quench lotion…I’m too easily distracted.

    I love that you added up your total. You are braver than I am! I don’t even want to know how much I’ve spent in 2016. *lalalala*

Leave a Reply

Always, Cleia

Beauty, Lifestyle, and Subscription Boxes

The Beauty Deputy

Reviews on all things beauty related such as: makeup, skin care, fragrances, and much more!

sarah loves makeup

ramblings from a girl who's been obsessed with makeup since, well, forever

The Project Pan Gal

This blog is about my love for makeup and my attempts on using my products up.

After the 9 to 5

Lifestyle - beauty, music, art, books - blog for balancing after the 9 to 5

Life Before Noon

I am learning what the world is like when you wake up before sunrise.

Canadian Beauty Blogger - Makeup Swatches Reviews Hair Nail Polish

Taking a look at all of the things I've been missing

Beauty & The Tomboy.

My Beauty Obsession Shared!

BlushingNoir

Just another WordPress.com site

The Subscriptionist

Subscription Boxes Revealed and Reviewed

Makeup and Beauty Blog | Makeup Reviews, Swatches and How-To Makeup

Taking a look at all of the things I've been missing

PrettyTrippy

a beauty & travel blog (well sort of...)

