A New Day

Taking a look at all of the things I've been missing

Use It: November 2016 Empties

on December 6, 2016

Hello everyone!

I was starting to think that November was a low-use month and then all of a sudden I seemed to finish up a bunch of things all at once. Or I wasn’t actually paying attention and they have been running low for a while… which is probably the more likely scenario.

I haven’t needed to do this for a while, but since there were so many products I broke everything out by type: skin care, makeup, body, hair and lifestyle/other. Sample reviews are posted to my Instagram (@lvp8779) as they are used. This was a very low sample month, I think there were only a couple towards the beginning.

Anywho – here we go:

SKIN CARE

GLAMGLOW YouthCleanse – this is a gritty, mud to foam cleanser. It is a deluxe sample and lasted about a month, so I was able to formulate a strong opinion on this. I like the mud to foam idea but it is a bit deceiving… it’s not a lather, just a slight change in texture. I didn’t anticipate the exfoliant so after several uses, I had to swap it out because it was just a bit too harsh for every day and I could not use it to remove eye makeup. I used this as a second step of a double cleanse and I found that it left my skin feeling super clean. I would not purchase as I feel like there are better cleansers out there. Available at Sephora – full size is $39 for 5oz.

Kiehl’s Photo-Age Corrector Intensive Corrective Moisturizer – I really liked the idea of this – a moisturizer that could correct sun and element damage. This was an odd formula though… not overly moisturizing.. I ended up using this on my neck and chest. This was a gift from L’Oréal Product Evaluation and has been discontinued.

Kiehl’s Rosa Arctica Lightweight Cream – now this moisturizer was great. I used this at night – layered it on thick and massaged it in over a serum. This was really hydrating and made my skin feel fantastic. I would definitely purchase. This was also a gift from L’Oréal Product Evaluation. Available on the Kiehl’s website or Nordstrom for $60 for 1.7oz.

Thistle Farms Lip Smoothie – this is a really great, all natural lip balm. Thistle Farms is based in Nashville and their mission alone is to buy their products: “Thistle Farms is a sanctuary for healing for women survivors of abuse, addiction, trafficking and prostitution. We are a community of survivors, advocates, employees, interns, volunteers, and friends from all across the world. We are young and old, women and men. We want to change a culture that still allows human beings to be bought and sold. We believe that in the end, love is the strongest force for change in the world.” These women make and sell all of the products. I will buy any and all of their products again and again. Available at thistlefarms.org for $4.95

MAKEUP

Beautyblender Blotterazzi – I was so excited when I received this in my Sephora PLAY! box. After one use, I was confused and annoyed. I tried this a few more times, but every time I used it, it seemed to just smear my makeup around and not actually absorb anything. I know I’m not alone in this experience. Purchase? No chance. Available at Sephora for $20 for 2.

e.l.f. Shine Eraser – last one… I finally ran out of my stash! Bummer.

LORAC Cococin Cream Foundation in CR1 – a foundation made from… coconuts? This was a very creamy, medium coverage foundation. I found the best application for this foundation was not brushes, but fingers. Warming a bit on the hands helped this move easily on my skin – it blended so well and could be sheered out or built up for more coverage. CR1 was a really good match for my fair skin – not too pink, not too yellow. I believe this has pretty much been discontinued except for Amazon now – $32 for 0.28oz.

BODY

Bath and Body Works Body Cream in Peach and Honey Almond – I bought everything I could find in this scent.. this is such a warm, happy scent that lasts all day. Like other Bath and Body Works body creams, this is super hydrating and non-greasy. I would purchase this again in a heartbeat if it was released again. Limited edition – $12.50 for 8oz.

Satin Care Shave Gel – this was part of a winter set last year – I never buy shave gel except for in a pinch. I’m much more a shave cream, as gel has been known to give me razor burn if  use too little . This worked fairly well, but I had to use a ton to ward off razor burn. I would not repurchase. Amazon sells for $7.99 for 2.5oz.

Udderly Smooth Hand Cream – this was weird… it was really watery and not very moisturizing. If I was a cow, I would be pissed that someone used this on my udders.This came in a subscription box – definitely would not buy. Available on Amazon for $5 for 4oz.

HAIR

Kerastase Cristaliste Shampoo for Long Hair – I’ve used a number of Kerastase products over the years and there are some really amazing things and some that are just… okay. I found this to be a perfectly fine shampoo, but not one that justifies the crazy price tag. I have a few more of these tucked away – they might get used… or I might give them away. We’ll see… Amazon lists this for $18.99 for the 8.5oz.

Suave Refresh and Revive Dry Shampoo – I received this for testing purposes from Influenster. I really liked this at first, but after a while the fake mango scent really started to get to me. It would cling to me all day and not mix well with any of my perfume and eventually started to make me nauseous. The formula was perfectly fine – it was a good all-day dry shampoo that would extend my time between washing 2-3 days. Available at Target for $2.49 for 4.3oz.

LIFESTYLE/OTHER

Ulta Strengthening Nail Polish Remover – I don’t see the point in spending a ton on nail polish remover… the Ulta brand works great – removes every trace of polish and doesn’t sting or burn. I’ll repurchase again and again. Available at Ulta for $2.99 for 6oz.

Total products used 2016 year to date:

Skincare: 18

Body: 21

Hair: 15

Makeup/face: 28

other: 6

Nails: 16

Samples: 41

Sheet masks: 10

Month total: $144.27 (approximately)

Year total: $1,474.35

There you have it – another month of empties. Hopefully December brings another large bunch of things that I can review and declutter. I am currently trying to finish a bunch of half-used products and some deluxe samples that are taking up a ton of storage space. Stay tuned to see how that works out! 🙂

Have a wonderful December!

 

Leave a Reply

The Beauty Deputy

Reviews on all things beauty related such as: makeup, skin care, fragrances, and much more!

sarah loves makeup

ramblings from a girl who's been obsessed with makeup since, well, forever

The Project Pan Gal

This blog is about my love for makeup and my attempts on using my products up.

After the 9 to 5

Lifestyle - beauty, music, art, books - blog for balancing after the 9 to 5

Life Before Noon

I am learning what the world is like when you wake up before sunrise.

Canadian Beauty Blogger - Makeup Swatches Reviews Hair Nail Polish

Taking a look at all of the things I've been missing

Beauty & The Tomboy.

My Beauty Obsession Shared!

BlushingNoir

Just another WordPress.com site

The Subscriptionist

Subscription Boxes Revealed and Reviewed

Makeup and Beauty Blog | Makeup Reviews, Swatches and How-To Makeup

Taking a look at all of the things I've been missing

PrettyTrippy

a beauty & travel blog (well sort of...)

All The Lovely Things In Life

A blog about beauty, crafting, and things that make me happy.

Beauty High

Beauty Tips, Product Reviews & Beauty Trends

