A New Day

Taking a look at all of the things I've been missing

This Week’s Lips #9

on November 20, 2016

Hello everyone!

Greetings from the cold and snowy Midwest. I repeat, SNOWY. It was 70 on Friday and snowing on Saturday. We now have 3-4 inches on our deck. BRRR!

This past week I revisited some past favorites as well as something new to me:

 

Tuesday – NARS Lip Gloss in Orgasm – I was really working the opposites of the color wheel this day. While wearing a very royal blue top, I went all out with the orange. This has made other appearances on the weekly review. Tuesday was my Monday so using something a little sparkly and fun made my day.

 

Wednesday – Burberry Lip Mist in No. 206 Blueberry – I usually layer this with MAC Eugenie, a deep cranberry shade. However, Blueberry on its own is a sheer, but buildable shade that truly resembles the shade of crushed blueberries. It is incredibly hydrating and lasts about 4 hours.

Thursday – Too Faced Melted Metal in Peony – Too Faced calls this a Dusty Rose, but I feel like this is a sheer blue-toned pink with a hint of gold. This is very long lasting and as it wears down, leaves a nice stain. I think this is a true all-day/10 hour color. I do reapply but more to just make sure that there aren’t any patches that wear unevenly. My only complaint is the applicator – I despise the way it feels on my lips.

Friday (day) – Smashbox Always On Liquid Lipstick in Driver’s Seat – I received this in my Sephora Play! subscription box in October and was procrastinating testing it out. After reading several reviews, I decided I needed to try this. This is a really great liquid lipstick! While a lot of liquid lipsticks tend to dry out my lips, this never fully dried down. It stayed a bit pliable and I was able to easily correct when I went a little overboard. Since I was still testing this out, I did use with a little bit of clear gloss. Smashbox describes this color as a warm pink – this pulled very brown and even a bit terracotta on me. The arm swatch looks a bit different than it did on my lips.

Friday (night) – Tom Ford Ultra Shine Lip Gloss in Lost Cherry – after wearing a heavy liquid lipstick all day, I really wanted to lighten it up for an event that night. I was headed to a work event where I would be eating and drinking, so I wanted to wear something that was light and fun but easy to reapply. I realized I hadn’t worn Lost Cherry in quite a while so grabbed this and ran out the door. This is very pigmented, yet goes on somewhat sheer. This is a true red with a hint of shimmer. It wore incredibly well throughout the evening with only needing a slight reapplication after eating. I think this will be my go-to holiday shade this year!

So there you have it. Another week in the books. Did you revisit any favorites this past week?

Leave a Reply

Always, Cleia

Beauty, Lifestyle, and Subscription Boxes

The Beauty Deputy

Reviews on all things beauty related such as: makeup, skin care, fragrances, and much more!

sarah loves makeup

ramblings from a girl who's been obsessed with makeup since, well, forever

The Project Pan Gal

This blog is about my love for makeup and my attempts on using my products up.

After the 9 to 5

Lifestyle - beauty, music, art, books - blog for balancing after the 9 to 5

Life Before Noon

I am learning what the world is like when you wake up before sunrise.

Canadian Beauty Blogger - Makeup Swatches Reviews Hair Nail Polish

Taking a look at all of the things I've been missing

Beauty & The Tomboy.

My Beauty Obsession Shared!

BlushingNoir

Just another WordPress.com site

The Subscriptionist

Subscription Boxes Revealed and Reviewed

Makeup and Beauty Blog | Makeup Reviews, Swatches and How-To Makeup

Taking a look at all of the things I've been missing

PrettyTrippy

a beauty & travel blog (well sort of...)

