A New Day

Taking a look at all of the things I've been missing

October 2016 Favorites

on November 13, 2016

Happy November!

October finally cooled down and I was able to break out some fall sweaters and more importantly, fall colors and scents! While I love crisp, clean and bright scents, I also love dark, rich and almost masculine scents.

The first scent I broke out as it cooled down was my Diptyque L’Ombre dans l’Eau perfume oil. This is a beautiful mix of black currant and Bulgarian rose without an alcohol base. The rose is definitely the more subtle scent, as the currant notes take the lead. A little goes a really long way and lasts several hours. I use a couple drops on pulse points and frequently catch myself smelling it throughout the day. I just love this unique, complicated scent.

As the temperature dropped a bit more, I broke out the Tom Ford Noir Pour Femme. I bought this months ago, but it just didn’t feel like the right season to wear it. It finally felt like October was finally the right time. This is a complex blend, but I feel that the amber and sandalwood notes are what stand out the most. TF calls this is a floral-oriental, but I have to disagree as it wears more of a masculine oriental scent on me. I get zero floral. This scent lasts all day and into the evening. If it wasn’t so damned expensive I would use it in my hair too.

On a completely different note, I’m really overdue to get my hair dyed. There is a clear division of color about an inch and a half from my scalp. It is no secret that my hair is not red, however thanks to my long-time colorist I am a redhead by choice. Since I haven’t had time to get my hair color refreshed, I have been using the L’Oréal Root Cover Up Temporary Gray Concealer Spray in Red. It magically covers my roots (that are only partially gray..btw) and blends in to the rest of my colored hair. It lasts until washed out so there is no fear of having the color fall out on clothing, smear on to pillows or anything like that. It holds up incredibly well after applying dry shampoo also.

The final favorite was featured in another weekly lipstick post. The Tom Ford and Boys in Guillermo is a beautiful, creamy plum-brown. In addition to being maybe the most perfect fall shade ever, it lasts for hours without needing reapplication. I have been wearing this pretty frequently as well as it’s less expensive (and a touch more brown) dupe, MAC Verve. The plum in Guillermo really makes this shade unique – it brightens my overall look and goes so well with pinks, browns and more neutral shades. I will be wearing this a ton in the upcoming months!

So there you have it. What were some of your October favorites?

Leave a Reply

Always, Cleia

Beauty, Lifestyle, and Subscription Boxes

The Beauty Deputy

Reviews on all things beauty related such as: makeup, skin care, fragrances, and much more!

sarah loves makeup

ramblings from a girl who's been obsessed with makeup since, well, forever

The Project Pan Gal

This blog is about my love for makeup and my attempts on using my products up.

After the 9 to 5

Lifestyle - beauty, music, art, books - blog for balancing after the 9 to 5

Life Before Noon

I am learning what the world is like when you wake up before sunrise.

Canadian Beauty Blogger - Makeup Swatches Reviews Hair Nail Polish

Taking a look at all of the things I've been missing

Beauty & The Tomboy.

My Beauty Obsession Shared!

BlushingNoir

Just another WordPress.com site

The Subscriptionist

Subscription Boxes Revealed and Reviewed

Makeup and Beauty Blog | Makeup Reviews, Swatches and How-To Makeup

Taking a look at all of the things I've been missing

PrettyTrippy

a beauty & travel blog (well sort of...)

