A New Day

Taking a look at all of the things I've been missing

Use It: October 2016 Empties

on November 6, 2016

Hi there, hey there.

It’s been a few weeks… things have been really crazy on the home front, hence the blog silence. No worries though, everyone is doing well and we’re all getting back into a regular routine.

This was a very low-use product month. After plowing through a bunch of full size as well as sample sizes for Sample September, I think I really just focused on using the things that I love and getting back to a regular routine. With that being said, I still managed to use a few things and wanted to give you some reviews:

Bobbi Brown Ultra Fine Eyeliner Brush – I’ve had this brush for years and sadly it is time to say goodbye. It sort of frayed and no matter what I do I cannot reshape this. I actually trimmed some of the crazy hairs in hope of making it work but it still applies my liner erratically. This was a great brush – I could really pack a gel/cream eyeliner into both sides and get an even application well into the lash line. While I’m terrified of tightlining, this did make it easier to accomplish. I would consider repurchasing down the road. Available at Nordstrom for $28.

Ciaté Nail Polish in Members Only – I never loved this polish, but I also got it for free… maybe I don’t really have that much to complain about then? This is the only Ciate polish I have ever tried, but I’m not inclined to rush out and buy any. It was a very gel-like formula that only liked to be worn with one layer. I felt like this never really dried despite trying several top coats. This I can no longer use this because the brush doesn’t reach any further. Will not purchase. Full size available at Nordstrom for $14-$15.

Color Club Nail Lacquer in Status Update – this was a Birchbox find a while back. I really like their colors and formulas. This one could be worn with one coat, but I always prefer two just to make sure there are no opaque spots. Status Update is a deep, dark blueish grey that borderlines black and would easily wear 4-5 days without chipping or fading. As you can tell it isn’t empty, but the applicator broke. It is really difficult (and messy!) to try and use the inner applicator. I would repurchase this brand and shade. Available at Birchbox.com for $8-$9 for 0.25oz.

Julep Crème-to-Powder Eyeshadow Stick in Plum Shimmer – I opened this the other day and the crayon went flying out… guys, I still can’t find it. In the stick, this was a beautiful multihued purple. When applied, it lost its luster and was a flat plum shade. No shimmer like in the stick or dimension, just flat. I usually blended with a lighter, more shimmery shade to create a more ombre look. Long story short, I would not repurchase this shade. I would be willing to try a different shade however. Available on Julep.com for $18 for 0.04oz.

MAC Eyeshadow in Naked Lunch – this has been my go-to eye shadow single for years. I have gone through so many of these and have a few backups. This is the perfect neutral eye shade – it blends well with other shades, but I love to wear it just on its own. Naked Lunch is a buildable, multidimensional peachy-pink shade that looks flattering on so many skin tones. Repurchase? Always and forever. Available online and at all MAC counters for $16 for 0.04oz.

Maybelline Volum’ Express Colossal Mascara in Classic Black – this curled, separated, thickened and never clumped. It also would not come off. This clung to my lashes regardless of how much micellar water or eye makeup remover I used. It would not come off! I always felt like I had a crunchy layer of primer on. Again, this applied and looked fantastic… but I will never buy this again. Available at Ulta for $6.99.

Philosophy Purity Made Simple Facial Cleansing Gel and Eye Makeup Remover – for such a long title, you would expect magic but this also would not remove the Colossal Mascara! This was a very nice, simple cleanser. It would work into a slight foam and removed all of my makeup and left my skin soft and not stripped of moisture. This tube lasted forever – I’m actually happy to see it go so I can use up a bunch of other things that are piling up. I may repurchase some day. Available at Sephora for $23 for 7.5oz.

Tony Moly Changing Magic Foot Peeling Shoes – I heard that this was great dupe for the popular (and creepy) Baby Foot. The difference? About $20. I figured since I love Tony Moly masks, why not give this a chance. This is crazy. I wore these booties for an hour and a few days later, my feet started peeling like crazy. I won’t get all gross, but within a few days, even my most stubborn callouses were gone. This is a fascinating product. I already bought another. Available at Ulta for $6.

So there you have it!

Total products used 2016 year to date:

Skincare: 14

Body: 18

Hair: 13

Makeup/face: 25

other: 6

Nails: 15

Samples: 39

Sheet masks: 10

Month total: $112.99

Year total: $1,330.08 

 

What did you use up this month? Anything you’ve been trying to check off of your list?

Leave a Reply

The Beauty Deputy

Reviews on all things beauty related such as: makeup, skin care, fragrances, and much more!

sarah loves makeup

ramblings from a girl who's been obsessed with makeup since, well, forever

The Project Pan Gal

This blog is about my love for makeup and my attempts on using my products up.

After the 9 to 5

Lifestyle - beauty, music, art, books - blog for balancing after the 9 to 5

Life Before Noon

I am learning what the world is like when you wake up before sunrise.

Canadian Beauty Blogger - Makeup Swatches Reviews Hair Nail Polish

Taking a look at all of the things I've been missing

Beauty & The Tomboy.

My Beauty Obsession Shared!

BlushingNoir

Just another WordPress.com site

The Subscriptionist

Subscription Boxes Revealed and Reviewed

Makeup and Beauty Blog | Makeup Reviews, Swatches and How-To Makeup

Taking a look at all of the things I've been missing

PrettyTrippy

a beauty & travel blog (well sort of...)

All The Lovely Things In Life

A blog about beauty, crafting, and things that make me happy.

Beauty High

Beauty Tips, Product Reviews & Beauty Trends

