A New Day

Taking a look at all of the things I've been missing

I Made My Own Products!

on October 19, 2016

Hello everyone!

I wanted to share a really fun experience with all of you – I recently had the opportunity to make my own products! This is probably one of the most interesting things I’ve ever done. I learned a ton and was able to practice restraint (!) in creating some fabulous items.

A couple months ago, one of my favorite online shops was transitioned into a beautiful storefront. My friend Denise who owns St. Augustine and Suds was able to make her dream happen and open a long-awaited place to see, touch and smell all of her amazing products! In addition, she hosted her first in-store event which allowed about 20 people to come in and make their own products.

 

 

 

The first product we were guided through was creating a bentonite clay mask. Used alone, bentonite clay is great for problem skin as well as normal and sensitive skin types. Denise made several suggestions to the group which quickly got overwhelming… so I decided to keep it simple. In addition to the clay base, I added powdered red clay which is meant to detox and firm, but is very gentle on sensitive skin. Then I added a scoop of rose hips, which are chock full of vitamin A and promote skin cell turnover. The final ingredient was a few drops of Denise’s custom face oil – I have no idea what was in it but thought it would be a great addition!

 

 

The second product was actually a choice between a scrub and a soak – we had the option of sugar, salt and coffee. I decided to make a soak because I had purchased one of her scrubs the week prior. I narrowed it down to the Himalayan pink sea salt – one because it was really pretty and two it is a wonderful way to detox.

 

 Salt might seem like it would be really drying, however in this use, it actually helps the body absorb and lock in minerals. We were encouraged to try nourishing oils in our scrubs or soaks and were given the option of apricot seed, olive, grapeseed and avocado oil. I opted for grapeseed, which is really lightweight and I know my skin absorbs really quickly and doesn’t leave me feeling greasy. The final element was eucalyptus oil. I love the smell of eucalyptus and use it for everything from destressing to helping with a cold. Again, practicing restraint, I limited this to 3 ingredients and sealed up my bag.

Results:

There will be a bit of trial and error with the powder mask – finding the right water to clay ratio will take some work. I used a few drops of warm water to make a consistency that I felt I could spread evenly. As I was working through it, I did need to add a few more drops of water to thin it back out. After about 10 minutes, it was completely dry and I removed with a warm, damp cloth. After letting my face dry, I couldn’t stop touching it. My skin felt amazing – super clean, but not tight or dry. I went through the rest of my evening routine and woke up feeling great. The next day effect was very similar to that of the GlamGlow Supermud only without the tight feeling.

The soak was delightful… I used it in a hot bath while I read a book. My skin felt soft and hydrated afterwards… there isn’t much else to say!

I already have my ticket for the October event – I think we are making 3 products this time. I can’t wait to share my next round of handmade products and test them out.

Have you ever made your own products? If so, what did you make and what were the resulys?

Leave a Reply

Always, Cleia

Beauty, Lifestyle, and Subscription Boxes

The Beauty Deputy

Reviews on all things beauty related such as: makeup, skin care, fragrances, and much more!

sarah loves makeup

ramblings from a girl who's been obsessed with makeup since, well, forever

The Project Pan Gal

This blog is about my love for makeup and my attempts on using my products up.

After the 9 to 5

Lifestyle - beauty, music, art, books - blog for balancing after the 9 to 5

Life Before Noon

I am learning what the world is like when you wake up before sunrise.

Canadian Beauty Blogger - Makeup Swatches Reviews Hair Nail Polish

Taking a look at all of the things I've been missing

Beauty & The Tomboy.

My Beauty Obsession Shared!

BlushingNoir

Just another WordPress.com site

The Subscriptionist

Subscription Boxes Revealed and Reviewed

Makeup and Beauty Blog | Makeup Reviews, Swatches and How-To Makeup

Taking a look at all of the things I've been missing

PrettyTrippy

a beauty & travel blog (well sort of...)

