A New Day

Taking a look at all of the things I've been missing

This Week’s Lips #7

on October 16, 2016

Happy Sunday!

I took a hiatus last week due to some personal stuff. I usually write down the first few days on Wednesday and finish the post Saturday or Sunday. By Wednesday, I was already swamped and completely overwhelmed so the post never even was drafted. This past week was a bit better so I’m going to try and stay on top of it going forward.

Monday – MAC Lipglass in Seducing Sound – this was released a couple summers ago as part of the Alluring Aquatic collection, which was maybe one of my favorites from the last decade. This is a beautiful, shimmery brown/copper/plum sheer nude shade. That sounds loaded, I know but it is the best way to describe it. This doesn’t have enough shimmer for it to be considered to be a Dazzleglass, but more than a typical Cremesheen. I always snag a spare at a CCO if I find it!

Tuesday – Lancôme Le Rouge Absolu in Crème de Marron – I’m really surprised to see that this is the first time this has been mentioned in this series. This is yet another brown-nude shade in my collection. Are you noticing a trend? I love the formula of the Le Rouge Absolu – very hydrating and lasts for several hours. I want more of these in my life!

Wednesday – Tarte Lippie Lingerie in Revealed and L’Oréal Colour Riche Lipstick in Eva’s Nude – ok I have to start this by saying that Lippie Lingerie is a really terrible name.. however, this color is phenomenal. It’s a beautiful red-hued brown shade that has applies like a dream and stays put for hours. I chickened out a bit as I walked out the door for work and applied a layer of Eva’s Nude over it to mute the shade a bit. The combination of the two worked very well together, the combined shades made it look quite similar to Tuesday’s Lancôme shade.

 

 

ThursdayLe Métier de Beauté Hydra Crème Lipstick in MoroccoI was really dragging by Thursday and decided to punch it up a bit with a great daytime red. This leans a bit pink/blue, but it is very subtle. This is quite different from the Guerlain Rouge G in Gina, which leans more orange. What I love about this shade is that while it is sheer, it can be built up to a full-coverage, bold shade.

Friday – NYX Chunky Dunk in Hibiscus Tea Punch – ok if Lippie Lingerie was terrible, Chunky Dunk is just the worst. Seriously, NYX? WTF. I think they changed the name after the release of this because it was so awful. Names aside, this is a fantastic product. This is a sheer pink-beige shade with decent pigmentation. This is not as long lasting as some of the other NYX formulas, but this feels more like a balm and is easy to reapply. I love how hydrating this is and I should be wearing this much more often!!

 

Saturday – MAC Matte Lip Color in Eugenie and Burberry Lip Mist in No. 206 Blueberry Eugenie on its own is tough… It’s a beautiful shade but really difficult to wear as a matte – it clumps, pulls and settles in every small line. It feels really dry and no amount of exfoliation makes it feel comfortable. When it is layered with Blueberry, it becomes a beautiful, deep cranberry shade that wears perfectly. Blueberry alone is a sheer, hydrating lip color that lasts for hours. The color in the tube is quite deceiving – it truly looks like the shade of smashed blueberries on your lips.

As I was writing this post, I realized that I am becoming less and less loyal to any specific brand. While my color preferences deviate very little, my expectation for performance is still high. I don’t particularly care if a product is $5 or $45, as long as it is a quality product, I’m content.

How have your preferences changed over the years? Do you find yourself becoming more open to different brands or are you becoming more loyal to just a couple of companies?

Leave a Reply

Always, Cleia

Beauty, Lifestyle, and Subscription Boxes

The Beauty Deputy

Reviews on all things beauty related such as: makeup, skin care, fragrances, and much more!

sarah loves makeup

ramblings from a girl who's been obsessed with makeup since, well, forever

The Project Pan Gal

This blog is about my love for makeup and my attempts on using my products up.

After the 9 to 5

Lifestyle - beauty, music, art, books - blog for balancing after the 9 to 5

Life Before Noon

I am learning what the world is like when you wake up before sunrise.

Canadian Beauty Blogger - Makeup Swatches Reviews Hair Nail Polish

Taking a look at all of the things I've been missing

Beauty & The Tomboy.

My Beauty Obsession Shared!

BlushingNoir

Just another WordPress.com site

The Subscriptionist

Subscription Boxes Revealed and Reviewed

Makeup and Beauty Blog | Makeup Reviews, Swatches and How-To Makeup

Taking a look at all of the things I've been missing

PrettyTrippy

a beauty & travel blog (well sort of...)

