A New Day

Taking a look at all of the things I've been missing

Use It: September 2016 Empties

on October 6, 2016

Hello and happy October!

Farewell summer – I won’t miss you!

As usual, everything is broken down into one of the following categories: skincare, makeup, body, hair and lifestyle. Sample reviews are posted frequently to my Instagram (@lvp8779) as they are used. This month included a higher number of samples than usual as I was participating in Sample September. It was really nice to be able to clear out a few more things out of my sample stash!

Here we go!

SKINCARE

 

 

Julep Charcoal Konjac Sponge – I really liked the shape and feel of this sponge. This was great out of the gate, unfortunately between uses it would dry out too much and start to condense. After a couple weeks it became increasingly difficult to rehydrate and use comfortably. It kept shrinking and absorbing less and less water every day. I think I really only got one good week of use out of this and completely gave up after 2-3 weeks. This was only with using a gentle cleanser first thing in the morning – no cleansing oils or use with makeup. Would not repurchase. Available at Julep.com for $12.

Lancôme Genifique Yeux/Youth Activating Eye Cream – this was from L’Oréal Product Evaluation and probably one of the best gifts they’ve ever given! This was great for day and night – incredibly hydrating and soothing. This has reflective agents and minimizes the appearance of dark circles. It did not, however, tighten or firm the fine lines. I liked this, but did not love it for that very reason. Would not purchase. Available at Nordstrom for $67 for 0.5oz.

Yes to Cucumbers Soothing Facial Towelettes – this confirmed my dislike of cucumber scented things. Additionally, they did not remove my makeup very well… it was fine for foundation and some eyeshadows, but they didn’t touch mascara or eyeliner. Would definitely not repurchase. Available at Target for $2.99 (10 sheets).

MAKEUP

Benefit They’re Real Beyond Blue Mascara – this was so perfect for summer! I originally discussed this here. As typical for They’re Real, it lasted about 3 months on the dot before it started to dry out. I was hoping to get a few more uses out of it, but managed to get yet another round of pink eye.. ugh! Out it goes! I love this formula, but I probably would not purchase this color in this line again. It’s fun, but I know I can find a colored mascara for much cheaper. Available at Ulta for $24.

 

 

Vella Flower Flower B.B Whitening Moisturizing Color Control Base – this was a really great BB cream. I used this quite a bit when I was battling perioral dermatitis – it cancelled out all of the redness and was hydrating enough to minimize some of the flaky skin. This made my skin overall look super porcelain and flawless. It did get shiny throughout the day, but it wasn’t anything that a little powder couldn’t get rid of! If I could find this, I would definitely repurchase. It was a Memebox find from when the majority of the products were coming straight from Korea. I will probably never find this again.

BODY

Nivea Sun-Kissed Radiance Fair to Medium Skin – I despise most tanning lotions simply because of the scent. This one smells so nice! It is also a really subtle color enhancer that doesn’t make my incredibly pale skin look orange or too dark. This never streaks or leaves uneven patches. I already have a backup! Available at Ulta for about $10 for 13.5oz.

LIFESTYLE/OTHER

Bath and Body Works Soothing Pillow Mist in Eucalyptus Spearmint – I love, love, love this and have been using it for years. When I have the Sunday blues and can’t fall asleep, I just spray on my pillow and I’m out within 5 minutes. I don’t know what kind of magic this stuff is, but fortunately I have backups! The down side is that this wasn’t completely empty, but the sprayer thing broke. Bummer. I will purchase more during one of the BBW semi-annual sales where it’s 50%. Available in-store and on the website for $12.50 for 5.3oz.

Butter London Nail in The Sweet Spot – this lovely, creamy pink was part of last year’s collaboration with Allure – I think they had 4-5 limited edition shades. I received this last year through the Allure Beauty Box (which I discontinued a few months ago) and originally featured in my 2015 Favorites – with good reason. The formula was long lasting and well pigmented – I have some other shades from this brand that I look forward to testing out! Regular shades available at Ulta for $15 for 0.4oz.

Formula X Delete All – I bought this in hopes of finding something that would take off glitter polish better than my regular $1.99 remover. This is one of those contraptions that has 5 slots for each finger… you contort your hands so it coats your nail and removes the polish. This worked incredibly well on removing all traces of gritty glitter! I’m not sure why I was on the kick, but I have certainly moved past it. It works well on all formulas, pigmentations, etc. It has really dried out so it’s time to say goodbye. I would definitely repurchase! Available at Sephora for $15 for 5oz.

 

 

Julep Nail Color in Rayma – so this was a September favorite and an empty 😦 I absolutely love this color. It reminds me of wine, which is probably why I like it so much! This started to get really thick, so I added a similar shade to kind of thin it out. I was able to get a few more uses, but sadly it is no more. I would consider repurchasing if I didn’t have so much nail polish… the Julep subscription was great, but just soooo many products. I will not need to buy polish for the next 5 years. Available on Julep.com for $14

Julep Ta Da! Quick Dry Drops – this worked really well and lasted forever! This oily formula dried polish in a snap. I do have a back up of this and will use it, but I don’t anticipate repurchasing. The product below will explain why… Available on Julep.com for $18.

Seche Vite Dry Fast Top Coat – ah, my beloved Seche Vite. Toxic as hell, but I can’t resist it. I can use this on any polish and it will be dry in 2 minutes. I never get a smudge, bubble or crinkle when I use this. As you can probably tell, this is not empty, but it got really thick and hard to use. Don’t worry, I already have a backup! Available at Ulta for $7.99.

Whew! There you go. Again, it never seems like a lot until I start typing… then it seems like it takes forever to wrap it up!

Total products used 2016 year to date:

Skincare: 13

Body: 17

Hair: 13

Makeup/face: 22

other: 5

Nails: 13

Samples: 39

Sheet masks: 10

Month total: $190.98

Year total: $1,217.09 

What did you finish up this month? Any favorites? Non-favorites?

Have a great October!

Leave a Reply

Always, Cleia

Beauty, Lifestyle, and Subscription Boxes

The Beauty Deputy

Reviews on all things beauty related such as: makeup, skin care, fragrances, and much more!

sarah loves makeup

ramblings from a girl who's been obsessed with makeup since, well, forever

The Project Pan Gal

This blog is about my love for makeup and my attempts on using my products up.

After the 9 to 5

Lifestyle - beauty, music, art, books - blog for balancing after the 9 to 5

Life Before Noon

I am learning what the world is like when you wake up before sunrise.

Canadian Beauty Blogger - Makeup Swatches Reviews Hair Nail Polish

Taking a look at all of the things I've been missing

Beauty & The Tomboy.

My Beauty Obsession Shared!

BlushingNoir

Just another WordPress.com site

The Subscriptionist

Subscription Boxes Revealed and Reviewed

Makeup and Beauty Blog | Makeup Reviews, Swatches and How-To Makeup

Taking a look at all of the things I've been missing

PrettyTrippy

a beauty & travel blog (well sort of...)

