A New Day

Taking a look at all of the things I've been missing

This Week’s Lips #4

on September 18, 2016

Hello again!

Here we are in week 4 – and I’m still writing about my week in lipstick. This should not really surprise anyone who knows me. I just had a conversation in one of my friend group chats about my love for lipstick. It is possible that is just as deep as I get or I’m just really passionate about it. Then again, you are still here… reading my blog post about lipstick. So I think we understand each other. 🙂

I decided to try and get some use out of a couple minis and samples to hopefully do some de-stashing in the next couple months.

Monday – Urban Decay Revolution Lipstick in Naked – for some reason I have never really worn this… and I’ve definitely been missing out. This is the old formula – I would be interested to compare with the new Vice formula to see if they wear similarly. The pigmentation is great – it doesn’t apply patchy or sheer out. This wears comfortably for 3-4 hours before it starts to settle in lip creases and needs reapplied.

Tuesday – Marc Jacobs Beauty Enamored Hi-Shine Gloss Lip Lacquer Lipgloss – I believe this is the shade Allow Me or Love Drunk – can’t tell because the sticker fell off. This is a sheer, mauvy-pink with a lot of shimmer. If you look at it in the tube, it looks like there are huge chunks of glitter which I assure you do not appear when applied. This sheer gloss provides a nice wash of color with a lot of shine and the minty scent provides a nice pick me up in the afternoon.

Wednesday – Bite Beauty Amuse Bouche in Thistle – can’t stop, won’t stop.

Thursday – Bite Beauty Amuse Bouche in Nori – clearly, I love Bite products. Nori is a very pigmented brown based red. If last week’s brown-red (MAC Enchanter) was for those afraid of reds, I would advise those folks to steer clear! I find these formulas to be hydrating and long-lasting. After a second coffee and lunch, I only needed a light touch up to make the color last the remainder of the work day. Even then, my lips still had a color stain when I went to remove my makeup at 10 pm.

Friday – MAC Matte Lipstick in Strip Me Down – this is the lone shade from the collaboration with Taraji P. Henson – this is described as a “deeptone beige,” but I feel it has much more depth than that. I feel like it sits on the line of coral/rust-toned on me. This definitely changed up a week of pink. I realize this is a matte formula, but I found it to be very drying. It wore several hours, but somewhat uncomfortably… A light layer of clear gloss really helped.

 

Saturday – Tarteist Lip Paint in Rave – I took this out for a daytime spin this time. We decided to get out of the house on a rainy Saturday and go antiquing. So Rave seemed totally appropriate! If you follow me on Instagram (@lvp8779) you saw it in this photo with an amazing vintage Dior hat. You also might have witnessed some really odd vintage furs with faces. 🙂

What did you wear this week? Are you getting excited about the release of holiday collections and limited edition shades?

Leave a Reply

The Beauty Deputy

Reviews on all things beauty related such as: makeup, skin care, fragrances, and much more!

sarah loves makeup

ramblings from a girl who's been obsessed with makeup since, well, forever

The Project Pan Gal

This blog is about my love for makeup and my attempts on using my products up.

After the 9 to 5

Lifestyle - beauty, music, art, books - blog for balancing after the 9 to 5

Life Before Noon

I am learning what the world is like when you wake up before sunrise.

Canadian Beauty Blogger - Makeup Swatches Reviews Hair Nail Polish

Taking a look at all of the things I've been missing

Beauty & The Tomboy.

My Beauty Obsession Shared!

BlushingNoir

Just another WordPress.com site

The Subscriptionist

Subscription Boxes Revealed and Reviewed

Makeup and Beauty Blog | Makeup Reviews, Swatches and How-To Makeup

Taking a look at all of the things I've been missing

PrettyTrippy

a beauty & travel blog (well sort of...)

All The Lovely Things In Life

A blog about beauty, crafting, and things that make me happy.

Beauty High

Beauty Tips, Product Reviews & Beauty Trends

