A New Day

Taking a look at all of the things I've been missing

This Week’s Lips #2

on September 3, 2016

Hello again!

I feel like I’ve been a blogging machine lately! I went from 2-3 posts a month to 3 posts in a week. Not sure what happened, but apparently I have a bit more to say these days!

So here is the second installment of my weekly review of the shades I wore over the last several days. The last post featured Monday-Friday – I really only used a lip balm over the weekend. I was home sick Monday and didn’t leave my couch much less put on lipstick… which is why we start with:

Tuesday – Perricone MD No Lipgloss Lipgloss – it says it is not a lipgloss, yet it is. So sneaky. It actually is a lightweight, hydrating, neutral pink gloss. The color does not fade or feather and it keeps my lips feeling great for hours.

Wednesday – NARS Lip Gloss in Orgasm – I just revisited this for the first time in months. The formula is a bit heavy, but it stays on for hours. It is a peachy, orangy pink with a lot of shimmer – it seems like a lot of shine at first but wears beautifully throughout the day.

Thursday – NARS Satin Lip Pencil in Rikugien and Manna Kadar Liplocked Priming Gloss Stain – these NARS pencils last forever… I have barely made a dent in this one and just sharpened it for the first time in the year that I’ve had it.. This is (yet another) light pink color – very much a my lips but better shade. This might be one of my favorite formulas out there – really smooth and stays on for 4-5 hours. I wanted to test out this Manna Kadar gloss sample so added a light coat on top. The colors match perfectly, but I wasn’t a huge fan of the formula – it is a bit dry. I will try it again as a base.

Friday Day – Tom Ford Lip Color in Nude Vanille – Tom Ford nailed nude lipstick shades. This is a very pigmented peachy-nude. A couple swipes provides full-coverage for 4-5 hours. This does tend to settle in lip lines, so it helps to freshen it up with a clear gloss or balm after morning coffee. 🙂

Friday Night – Tarteist Lip Paint in Rave – this is hands down the boldest color I’ve ever worn! I wanted to give this a true test and wear out for some drinks with friends. I applied one coat, cleaned up the edges and then filled in a couple more spots. After two glasses of wine and lots of talking, Rave hardly faded and had zero feathering. There was one light spot from using a straw, but it overall didn’t budge in 4 hours – it was actually really hard to remove! The swatch is a bit deceiving – it looked very charcoal grey on my lips. But I have to say that I LOVE this color and formula.

 

Saturday – Bite Beauty Amuse Bouche in Thistle – Bite lists this as a “mauve infused taupe” but this leans a bit more taupe-grey on me. Much like the Tarte Rave, this is another shade that I wouldn’t typically wear but really, really like! In typical Amuse Bouche fashion, this is super hydrating and lasts for hours. The pigmentation is excellent and a little goes a long way!

 

What did you wear this week?

Leave a Reply

The Beauty Deputy

Reviews on all things beauty related such as: makeup, skin care, fragrances, and much more!

sarah loves makeup

ramblings from a girl who's been obsessed with makeup since, well, forever

The Project Pan Gal

This blog is about my love for makeup and my attempts on using my products up.

After the 9 to 5

Lifestyle - beauty, music, art, books - blog for balancing after the 9 to 5

Life Before Noon

I am learning what the world is like when you wake up before sunrise.

Canadian Beauty Blogger - Makeup Swatches Reviews Hair Nail Polish

Taking a look at all of the things I've been missing

Beauty & The Tomboy.

My Beauty Obsession Shared!

BlushingNoir

Just another WordPress.com site

The Subscriptionist

Subscription Boxes Revealed and Reviewed

Makeup and Beauty Blog | Makeup Reviews, Swatches and How-To Makeup

Taking a look at all of the things I've been missing

PrettyTrippy

a beauty & travel blog (well sort of...)

All The Lovely Things In Life

A blog about beauty, crafting, and things that make me happy.

Beauty High

Beauty Tips, Product Reviews & Beauty Trends

