A New Day

Taking a look at all of the things I've been missing

Current Quick Summer Makeup

on August 8, 2016

Hello everyone!

I hope summer is being kind to you and you are staying cool! It’s been not only hot, but incredibly humid the last few weeks. I’ve basically abandoned my normal makeup routine to adapt to the weather – if you are looking for a nice, matte finish, forget it. It is just not going to happen. I’ve been using primarily cream blush and shadows and have abandoned my makeup brushes… setting powder? Why bother? If you read my recent favorites, you may have noticed there were a handful of stick and cream shadows that are in constant rotation – that has not changed… there is no point of using a powder shadow that will crease the second I step outside.

I thought this post would be perfect timing as I recently had to recreate my regular routine. As I landed in DC for a work trip, I realized in horror that I didn’t remember packing my makeup back – everything was still in my bathroom back home. Shit.

I documented a quick visit to the Charlotte Tilbury counter to find some foundation and concealer.. I  picked up the Light Wonder Youth-Boosting Perfect Skin Foundation in Fair, Mini Miracle Eye Wand and the Beach Stick in Las Salinas – all things that I could apply without brushes and provide coverage without being heavy. For the rest, I went over to CVS and picked up 2 shades of the Rimmel ScandalEyes Eye Shadow Sticks and the Maybelline Colossal mascara.

No kidding, this is a 5 minute face.

The foundation needs a quick shake and using my hands, I can easily apply the foundation all over – using a touch more on some red spots. It builds easily and still remains sheer. The second step was using the Illuminator under the eyes in a triangular shape to draw the eye down and away from the under eye area. This also helps to reflect the light up. For more on the how-to, check out my old post about the MAC Prep+Prime color correct line.

Step 3 was applying a sheer wash of the Beach Stick on the apples of my cheeks and blending out. This gave a sheer, sun kissed look without looking like a heavy blush. My go-to is the Becca Beach Tint Shimmer Soufflé in Watermelon/Moonstone and this provided a similar light color wash.

For the eyes, I used the eyeshadow stick in Black Betrayal (a shimmery brown/black) to line the top and bottom lid. I smudged out the top lid a bit to soften the line and blend it up the lid. Then I applied the second color in Bulletproof Beige on top and continued to blend it up towards the brow and also applied to the inner corner of the lower lid to soften the darker shade. You can also use this as a cheek, brow bone and cupid’s bow highlighter. These pencils are incredibly smooth. The final step was a few coats of the Colossal mascara.

If you have a few more seconds, you can add a quick swipe of something like Benefit’s Gimme Brow to give a more polished brow look.

Without a setting spray or powder, there is a bit of fading and shine after a few hours. But let’s be real..  in high heat and humidity, neither of these things will really make a significant difference. I carry blotting sheets with me all of the time in hopes of eliminating some shine throughout the day.

But there you go. Quick summer makeup that you can do in 5 minutes or less. What are some of your quick summer makeup staples right now?

Leave a Reply

Always, Cleia

Beauty, Lifestyle, and Subscription Boxes

The Beauty Deputy

Reviews on all things beauty related such as: makeup, skin care, fragrances, and much more!

sarah loves makeup

ramblings from a girl who's been obsessed with makeup since, well, forever

The Project Pan Gal

This blog is about my love for makeup and my attempts on using my products up.

After the 9 to 5

Lifestyle - beauty, music, art, books - blog for balancing after the 9 to 5

Life Before Noon

I am learning what the world is like when you wake up before sunrise.

Canadian Beauty Blogger - Makeup Swatches Reviews Hair Nail Polish

Taking a look at all of the things I've been missing

Beauty & The Tomboy.

My Beauty Obsession Shared!

BlushingNoir

Just another WordPress.com site

The Subscriptionist

Subscription Boxes Revealed and Reviewed

Makeup and Beauty Blog | Makeup Reviews, Swatches and How-To Makeup

Taking a look at all of the things I've been missing

PrettyTrippy

a beauty & travel blog (well sort of...)

