A New Day

Taking a look at all of the things I've been missing

An Afternoon with Charlotte Tilbury

on August 8, 2016

Sometimes I intentionally seek out brands, other times I stumble upon them purely by my own foolishness. This occasion is definitely the latter. As I packed up the last few items for a recent trip, I somehow forgot all of my makeup and brushes. I would have let it slide if it wasn’t for the fact I was traveling for work and honestly wouldn’t have felt comfortable going to a meeting with a bare face.

So I decided I would pick up at least a foundation, if not concealer at Nordstrom. Listen – before you roll your eyes and say “just go to CVS,” you clearly do not know what it is like trying to color match a shade light enough for my NW10-15 skin. I’m also not willing to screw around buying and returning 10 foundations that will probably not work. I wanted to find a reasonably priced product, in the correct shade, that I will continue to use.

A quick lap of the store landed me in the hands of a very nice gal named Page at Charlotte Tilbury… yes – a counter exists! I know the Brits know fair skin so I sat down and let Page go to work. She started by removing my existing makeup (minus my eyes) with the Multi-Miracle Glow Cleanser, Mask and Balm. She used water and cotton to remove – it came off so easily and left my skin soft and smooth. I loved the way my skin felt! After waiting a couple minutes, she prepped my skin with the famous CT Magic Cream. I see why this is a favorite – it smelled amazing and left feeling really hydrated without being greasy.

The next step was a layer of the Wonderglow Instant Soft-Focus Beauty Flash – a seemingly shimmery/pearlescent cream. It did leave my skin looking pretty radiant. My pores seemed less noticeable – like someone used a nice filter on it. We then tested out the fairest of the fair shades in the Light Wonder Youth-Boosting Perfect Skin Foundation coincidentally called Fair… perfect color match. It is a buildable, yet light-coverage foundation that lasted 8-10 hours in high humidity. It was easy to apply with fingers (and just as well WITH my brushes at home).

The next step was to disguise the dark circles.  I tried The Retroucher Conceal and Treat Stick (lightest shade) first and followed by the Mini Miracle Eye Wand. One side is an eye cream/primer and the other is a beautiful, pearl-pink highlighter. It actually reminds me quite a bit of my beloved MAC Highlighter in Radiant Rose with a bit more shimmer. Using the same under eye triangle technique, the light easily reflected up and minimized my stubborn dark circles. This combination lasted about 12 hours with very minimal creasing.

The next step was adding in a bit of color – Page broke out the much talked about Filmstar Bronze and Glow in Light to Medium and did some subtle contouring and highlight. Does this live up to the hype? Absolutely! This added some beautiful color to my skin and a little bit really carved out my cheekbones. I did not purchase this, but I probably will. It’s amazing.

We then added in a bit of color with the Beach Stick in Las Salinas – a really subtle coral that warmed up my skin. It is buildable and can be used on the cheeks, lips and eyes. We added in a pop of Las Salinas to my existing eye makeup and it just added a simple, but dramatic pop of color.

This is where I should have put a photo of the final look. I somehow forgot to do this… so here are a few swatches instead:

The goal was to find products that I could apply without brushes and provide coverage without being heavy. So I went with the most versatile products – the Light Wonder ($45 for 1.4oz), Mini-Miracle Eye Wand ($45 for 0.10oz) and Beach Stick ($45 for 0.23oz). And to be honest, I grabbed some lesser priced eye products at CVS – they were perfectly fine and will be featured in another blog post soon. 🙂

 

Other things I wanted to try but resisted temptation… eyes, lips, look in a box.. All so dangerous!

Overall, I was fairly impressed with all of the products that we used. I’m definitely excited to try some of the other makeup and skincare products. However, I can’t say that anything I purchased stands out any more than products from say Laura Mercier or Bobbi Brown – they offer great, classic beauty products that perform consistently well. In the instance of me leaving my makeup behind, I found everything that I needed and it did exactly what I needed it to do… in that case, that’s a brand I will go back to.

Special thanks to Page and Nordstrom at Pentagon City for putting up with all of my questions and panic about leaving my products at home.. and to my friend Billie who left covered in 20 different Jo Malone scents – she was getting creative while I was testing out makeup.

Have you tried anything from the brand? What are your thoughts?

 

Leave a Reply

Always, Cleia

Beauty, Lifestyle, and Subscription Boxes

The Beauty Deputy

Reviews on all things beauty related such as: makeup, skin care, fragrances, and much more!

sarah loves makeup

ramblings from a girl who's been obsessed with makeup since, well, forever

The Project Pan Gal

This blog is about my love for makeup and my attempts on using my products up.

After the 9 to 5

Lifestyle - beauty, music, art, books - blog for balancing after the 9 to 5

Life Before Noon

I am learning what the world is like when you wake up before sunrise.

Canadian Beauty Blogger - Makeup Swatches Reviews Hair Nail Polish

Taking a look at all of the things I've been missing

Beauty & The Tomboy.

My Beauty Obsession Shared!

BlushingNoir

Just another WordPress.com site

The Subscriptionist

Subscription Boxes Revealed and Reviewed

Makeup and Beauty Blog | Makeup Reviews, Swatches and How-To Makeup

Taking a look at all of the things I've been missing

PrettyTrippy

a beauty & travel blog (well sort of...)

