A New Day

Taking a look at all of the things I've been missing

April, May and June 2016 Favorites

on July 10, 2016

Hello everyone!

I’m not sure how this happened, but I haven’t written a favorites post since March! As I mentioned in my recent empties post, the end of May and beginning of June were a bit of a wash due to my husband’s surgery… but I have no idea how I missed April. Oops.

I can say without a doubt my April and May favorite was the KOI Vitality Turmeric Supernatual Beauty Bar. During the peak of the dermatitis treatment, my friend Heather reached out and asked if I wanted to try some of her soaps. I was still looking for any and all relief and she gave me 3 bars to try out – Purple Corn, Turmeric and Wheat Grass. The Turmeric was immediately added to my morning routine and helped reduce the lessening inflammation. I still use this every single morning and love how it makes my skin feel and it looks balanced, clean and bright. These bars are a very generous size and will last forever – I actually cut my bar down and use it in smaller chunks and store in an airtight container. This limits exposure from light and the air since the product is all natural. From the website:

KOI Beauty Bars are hand crafted in small batches using only natural and organic ingredients. For us – less is everything. We’ve believe that if we stick with only vital ingredients, there is no need to put a bunch of “stuff” into our products. Using fewer ingredients means more potent skincare, and also the likelihood KOI Beauty Bars are safe even for the most sensitive skin.”

I love the messaging behind KOI’s products and the quality of the bars. Available for $20 each on the website: http://www.koivitality.com

On the complete opposite end of natural skincare is the return of Bath and Body Works throwback favorites and my beloved Freesia. You. Guys. I am so incredibly happy about this. It smells exactly the same as I remember! I stockpiled it years ago when I found out it was being discontinued, found some more on eBay and then nursed along the last bottle for probably close to two years. I have no idea when I actually ran out, but am not ashamed to admit that there might have been tears. Within minutes of getting this home, I cleared out a spot in the shower for immediate use! Before the sale ended, I may have even gone back for more. If I ever run out, I will be devastated all over again.

A few months back, I bought a tube of Benefit They’re Real in Blue. I’m not sure why, but I was so drawn to the vibrant cobalt shade and just had to have it. Well… then it sat unopened until mid-June. I wear a lot of navy and neutrals in summer and decided it was time to break this out and fit it into my summer look. It is the They’re Real formula that I love with a twist. The blue isn’t really noticeable unless you are really up close and personal, so I guess this is the one way I can still be a bit edgy and have fun during the workday. This comes in brown also, but my Ulta still has green and purple in stock!

With the arrival of May and subsequently an official summer, the Midwestern humidity is out of control. Using powder makeup is a challenge as it just melts away the second I step outside. I’ve definitely given up on powder shadows and have been using mostly cream shadows and pigmented shadow sticks. Some of my favorites (which include a couple repeats) include the Guerlain Terracotta Summer Collection Summer Shadow in White Sand from 2015 (originally discussed here), MAC Pro Longwear Waterproof Colour Stick in Tea Leaves and Lilacked, Laura Mercier Caviar Stick in Sugar Frost and the Boots No 7 Stay Perfect Shade and Define in Gunmetal Grey (pictured in order left to right).

Contrary to many reviews, I find the MAC Colour Sticks to have the longest wear – the color fades a bit throughout the day, but after 12 hours there is zero creasing. The Boots and Laura Mercier sticks have the most depth and versatility. They all just so easy to wear and hold up well with the humidity and last all day without moving all over my eyelid and never end up somewhere they shouldn’t!

So there you have it… playing a whole lot of catch up! Whew!

What are some of your favorites from the last few weeks/months?

Leave a Reply

The Beauty Deputy

Reviews on all things beauty related such as: makeup, skin care, fragrances, and much more!

sarah loves makeup

ramblings from a girl who's been obsessed with makeup since, well, forever

The Project Pan Gal

This blog is about my love for makeup and my attempts on using my products up.

After the 9 to 5

Lifestyle - beauty, music, art, books - blog for balancing after the 9 to 5

Life Before Noon

I am learning what the world is like when you wake up before sunrise.

Canadian Beauty Blogger - Makeup Swatches Reviews Hair Nail Polish

Taking a look at all of the things I've been missing

Beauty & The Tomboy.

My Beauty Obsession Shared!

BlushingNoir

Just another WordPress.com site

The Subscriptionist

Subscription Boxes Revealed and Reviewed

Makeup and Beauty Blog | Makeup Reviews, Swatches and How-To Makeup

Taking a look at all of the things I've been missing

PrettyTrippy

a beauty & travel blog (well sort of...)

All The Lovely Things In Life

A blog about beauty, crafting, and things that make me happy.

Beauty High

Beauty Tips, Product Reviews & Beauty Trends

