A New Day

Taking a look at all of the things I've been missing

Use It: May and June 2016 Empties

on July 3, 2016

Happy Summer, everyone!

Sorry to be a bit MIA for a bit… My husband got very sick and ended up having emergency surgery the end of May/beginning of June, so life got a little crazy. He is finally on the mend, but still has quite a bit of recovery to get back to normal. Obviously blogging took a backseat for a few weeks.

So in an effort to play catch up both my empties and favorites posts will cover both May and June. With a long weekend I’m also able to get caught up on a backlog of reading and writing – so bear with me!

As always, everything is broken down into one of the following categories: skincare, makeup, body, hair and lifestyle. Sample reviews are posted frequently to my Instagram (@lvp8779) as they are used.

SKINCARE

Guerlain Orchidee Imperiale Cleansing Foam – what a fantastic face wash – I used this primarily at night after an oil-based cleanser. It would remove any traces of eye makeup and leave my skin feeling soft, hydrated and refreshed. I would definitely purchase this – I love everything in this skincare line! Even though this is a 1oz tube, it was a GWP from Saks. The full-size is 4.2oz and runs about $105 (YIKES!).

Pixi Glow Tonic – I don’t get the hype. There. I said it. I am probably one of the few people who feel this way and I’m okay with that. I really disliked the scent and it didn’t do anything noticeable for my skin. Would not purchase. Available at Target for $15 for 3.4oz.

Shiseido Ultimune Eye Power Infusing Eye Concentrate – I can’t say much about this. While this little tube lasted for about 2 months, I can’t say that I noticed a difference. It was a very nice, lightweight serum but that’s about it. Thanks to Allure for sending this for testing! Available at Macy’s for $65 for 0.5oz.

Simple Micellar Make-Up Remover Wipes – very rarely am I impressed by makeup wipes. They all seem to serve the same purpose, right? This is the first time that I used a wipe that can remove all traces of a dark lipstick or a lip stain. I would definitely repurchase these! I think these were part of an Allure box a while back, but can be purchased for $5-$6 on Amazon.

MAKEUP

Benefit Roller Lash – this is not the first time I’ve used this… I do find that I like it more every time I try it. There is a bit of a trick to getting the lashes to hook just right into the wand. I would probably not purchase, but only because I like They’re Real and Bad Gal more. 🙂 Available at all Benefit counters for $24.

e.l.f Shine Eraser – I mentioned these in a previous post – I stockpiled them on clearance at Target for $0.85. Not bad for 50 sheets! Unfortunately I have not been able to find them again, so my guess is that they have officially been discontinued. Bummer.

Le Métier de Beauté Precision Liquid Liner in Noir – a heavily pigmented liquid black liner with a felt tip. I’ve been using this way longer than one should use a liquid product.. oops. I loved this so much. It was perfect for tightlining and deepening darker pencil shades. I would purchase this again in a heartbeat if it wasn’t $42.

NYX Green Tea Blotting Paper – oh hey.. more blotting paper! I think I have tried every version of the NYX blotting papers, and these might possibly be my favorite. They are very absorbent and the larger sheet covers more areas of my face. I would definitely repurchase. Available at Ulta for $5.99 for 100 sheets.

Stila HUGE Extreme Lash Mascara – I don’t know what it is about this, but I really dislike this formula. After a couple swipes, it feels like you have one giant, clumpy eyelash. I had to find a second wand to declump it after use. I love big lashes, but this didn’t get anywhere near a good result for me. I did like that it was a very deep black pigmented mascara, but it also felt like it never dried down. Definitely would not purchase. Available at Ulta and Sephora for $23.

BODY

Bath and Body Works Peach and Honey Almond Body Scrub – I love, love, love this scent and am so bummed that this was a one-time seasonal scent. Fortunately I still have a body wash and lotion that I have been using sparingly! I also really appreciate that this scrub was made from walnut shells and not micro-beads. If this ever comes back, I am going to stockpile! Similar scrubs available at Bath and Body Works for $12-$13 for 6oz.

LUSH Charity Pot – I love the messaging behind the annual release of the LUSH Charity Pot. I selected the pot that featured the Women’s Empowerment International Foundation. The scent is not my favorite – heavy ylang-ylang and gardenia are really opposite of my preferred scent range… but that isn’t why I bought it. I will probably pick up another on my next trip to LUSH. Available every year for a limited run (and supports a variety of charities) for $6.95 for 1.7oz.

LIFESTYLE

Bath and Body Works Candle in Fresh Sparkling Snow – this was such a happy scent! It was clean and fresh and wasn’t too overwhelming for warmer months. The one complaint I have again and again with their candles is that there is always a ton of wax left in the bottom. It is so frustrating. I would purchase again this winter! The 3-wick candles are $22.50 but don’t ever pay the full price… they are always on sale!

 

Total products used 2016 year to date:

Skincare: 8

Body: 11

Hair: 5

Makeup/face: 16

other: 4

Nails: 4

Samples: 20

Sheet masks: 7

May/June total: $122.29

Year total: $715.87

All samples and sheet masks have mini reviews on Instagram!

There you have it! Another round of empties! What did you use up recently and love/hate?

Leave a Reply

Always, Cleia

Beauty, Lifestyle, and Subscription Boxes

The Beauty Deputy

Reviews on all things beauty related such as: makeup, skin care, fragrances, and much more!

sarah loves makeup

ramblings from a girl who's been obsessed with makeup since, well, forever

The Project Pan Gal

This blog is about my love for makeup and my attempts on using my products up.

After the 9 to 5

Lifestyle - beauty, music, art, books - blog for balancing after the 9 to 5

Life Before Noon

I am learning what the world is like when you wake up before sunrise.

Canadian Beauty Blogger - Makeup Swatches Reviews Hair Nail Polish

Taking a look at all of the things I've been missing

Beauty & The Tomboy.

My Beauty Obsession Shared!

BlushingNoir

Just another WordPress.com site

The Subscriptionist

Subscription Boxes Revealed and Reviewed

Makeup and Beauty Blog | Makeup Reviews, Swatches and How-To Makeup

Taking a look at all of the things I've been missing

PrettyTrippy

a beauty & travel blog (well sort of...)

