A New Day

Taking a look at all of the things I've been missing

Rant and Rave – Kat von D

on May 23, 2016

Hello everyone!

I wrote this draft a few months ago and honestly kind of forgot about it. In addition, I have a bunch of handwritten notes and a backlog of photos with the intention of being converted somehow to content, but it just never happened. I have really wanted to get back to some individual product reviews and share swatches but have gotten a bit lazy… I want to be able to share some positive and negative feedback outside of a little blurb on Instagram.

One topic I wanted to discuss was some Kat Von D. I love Kat – I enjoyed her show, follow her on social media, bought her books and have visited her tattoo shop. It would only make sense that I would love her makeup also, right? I’ve read so many great reviews on the foundation, lip colors, eye pallets, etc. so purchased some of the lip products a while ago and realized I’ve never really discussed the brand on the blog.

I was so excited to receive a small version of the Lolita matte liquid lipstick in a Sephora Give Me Lip set a few months ago. The shade was everything I hoped it would be – a whole lot of brown with a touch of pink. It takes me back to the 90’s and it makes me so happy. The texture however, is a bit too drying. I get that it is a matte, but it really dries out my lips regardless of how much I exfoliate and prep. My trick to wearing this is to apply a light balm, then 2 coats of the color and top it off with a little bit of clear gloss. This keeps my lips from feeling really uncomfortable.

While I think the dryness factor is just my preference, I can’t say enough about the lasting power of this formula. This lasted easily 4-5 hours and throughout dinner and drinks. I was about to reapply after dinner and realized I still had quite a bit of color. It also wore evenly and didn’t come off in patches or flake.

The second product is the Studded Kiss Lipstick in shade Gothica, an interesting red/brown color with a copper glittery finish. This shade had some mixed reviews, but a decent rating overall and the swatches online were really beautiful.

When I finally received this I was seriously shocked by the amount of glitter.  After applying it, I was really disappointed in the overall look and feel. The color did. not go on evenly and ended up very patchy and my lips were covered in glitter. Listen, I love glitter but this was a bit ridiculous. I wore this out to get some drinks (THE TRUE TEST FOR ANY COLOR) and checked it throughout the night. In a span of a couple hours, it went from patchy to nonexistent except for… you guessed it… the glitter. It was all over my face.

  

I have tried to wear Gothica a couple more times and the glitter has been a bit more manageable, but only because of some gloss holding it in place. This was a major disappointment because this shade is gorgeous.

Overall, both the liquid lipstick and the Studded Kiss are a fail. I have figured out how to make them work for me, but that isn’t how it should be! I like products that are easy to use, enhance a feature or are fun and neither of these products fit that description. Its highly unlikely that I will repurchase any of the lip products. I did purchase the Shade and Light eye quad in plum that is (so far) very nice.

So tell me, am I the only one who feels this way? Has anyone else been really disappointed with the lip products? Share below!

Leave a Reply

The Beauty Deputy

Reviews on all things beauty related such as: makeup, skin care, fragrances, and much more!

sarah loves makeup

ramblings from a girl who's been obsessed with makeup since, well, forever

The Project Pan Gal

This blog is about my love for makeup and my attempts on using my products up.

After the 9 to 5

Lifestyle - beauty, music, art, books - blog for balancing after the 9 to 5

Life Before Noon

I am learning what the world is like when you wake up before sunrise.

Canadian Beauty Blogger - Makeup Swatches Reviews Hair Nail Polish

Taking a look at all of the things I've been missing

Beauty & The Tomboy.

My Beauty Obsession Shared!

BlushingNoir

Just another WordPress.com site

The Subscriptionist

Subscription Boxes Revealed and Reviewed

Makeup and Beauty Blog | Makeup Reviews, Swatches and How-To Makeup

Taking a look at all of the things I've been missing

PrettyTrippy

a beauty & travel blog (well sort of...)

All The Lovely Things In Life

A blog about beauty, crafting, and things that make me happy.

Beauty High

Beauty Tips, Product Reviews & Beauty Trends

