A New Day

Taking a look at all of the things I've been missing

Update: Progress with Perioral Dermatitis

on April 11, 2016

Hello everyone!

My photos and links on my Instagram (@lvp8779) sparked some great conversation about dealing with and treatment of perioral dermatitis. It is reassuring to find others who have dealt with this, as well as be able to offer my own experience and treatment recommendations.

In my last post, I shared the backstory to discovering the problem and my over the counter attempts to treat it. There were a couple First Aid Beauty products that really helped reduce inflammation and reduce the pain.

When I last posted, I was  day 7 of doxycycline, week 3 of the FAB products, and using the Sensodyne toothpaste. The photo below is day 14 of antibiotics week 4 of the FAB products:

This is bare skin, just serum and moisturizer. A few days prior, I added in the First Aid Beauty Ultra Repair Hydrating Serum which, like all of their products, contains colloidal oatmeal. This is a gentle anti-inflammatory that eliminated the residual dry skin.

I have been careful not to use any harsh peeling treatments, scrubs or masks the last several weeks. One of the best changes has been that I no longer need 3 concealers to cover up the redness. As you can see, the inflammation is minimal – hallelujah!

So here is a photo from a few days ago:

 

 

This was day 21 of doxy and week 5 of the FAB products. My skin is no longer inflamed and painful… it is always a bit red, so this is nothing unusual. I am only using the Maybelline Master Conceal as needed and have put the Laura Mercier Secret Concealer and the green MUFE primer back on the shelf.

So I’m finally starting to feel normal again. Thank goodness. I even left the house without concealer or foundation the other day. I just wore the IT Cosmetics CC+ Airbrush Perfecting Powder SPF 50+ in Fair and felt really comfortable and not a bit self-conscious for the first time in months.

I’m so glad to be able to see this improvement and hope it has been helpful to any of you with PD. Please feel free to share any of your own experience or tips for dealing with PD. Stay tuned for more updates!

Leave a Reply

Always, Cleia

Beauty, Lifestyle, and Subscription Boxes

The Beauty Deputy

Reviews on all things beauty related such as: makeup, skin care, fragrances, and much more!

sarah loves makeup

ramblings from a girl who's been obsessed with makeup since, well, forever

The Project Pan Gal

This blog is about my love for makeup and my attempts on using my products up.

After the 9 to 5

Lifestyle - beauty, music, art, books - blog for balancing after the 9 to 5

Life Before Noon

I am learning what the world is like when you wake up before sunrise.

Canadian Beauty Blogger - Makeup Swatches Reviews Hair Nail Polish

Taking a look at all of the things I've been missing

Beauty & The Tomboy.

My Beauty Obsession Shared!

BlushingNoir

Just another WordPress.com site

The Subscriptionist

Subscription Boxes Revealed and Reviewed

Makeup and Beauty Blog | Makeup Reviews, Swatches and How-To Makeup

Taking a look at all of the things I've been missing

PrettyTrippy

a beauty & travel blog (well sort of...)

