A New Day

Taking a look at all of the things I've been missing

Use It – January 2016

on February 6, 2016

Hello again!

We made it through the first month of 2016 – and so quickly! I hope you had a wonderful January and are staying warm wherever you are!

This month was a bit light on product use, but managed to get through a few big things. Even my sample use was a bit light – if want mini reviews of my samples, check out my Instagram (@lvp8779).

So here we go:

Amore Pacific Time Response Skin Renewal Cream – this was a lovely night cream. This generous sample lasted for 2+ months and was crazy indulgent, hydrating and smelled amazing. Worth it? I don’t think so. I did not notice any major skincare benefits that other things in my current night time rotation doesn’t offer. It was a perfectly fine moisturizer. Full size available at Neiman Marcus for $450 for 1.7oz.

Aveeno Daily Moisturizing Lotion  – this came to me through the giant Allure box last year. I’m pretty loyal to the Olay Quench when it comes to drugstore lotions. But this was a really nice, hydrating lotion. It is unscented, which is nice to be able to pair any perfume without worrying about clashing scents. I liked it just fine and would have no reason not to repurchase. Available at Target or drugstore.com for $6-$7 for 8oz.

GLAMGLOW Flashmud (PR sample) – I received a 3-day sample pack from GlamGlow and was so excited to try this out. The instructions state to use this 3 days in a row to increase skin brightness. Wellll… I could only use this 1-2 times per week. It was way too harsh for my skin – it did sting a bit while I was wearing it and it left my skin overly sensitive for a couple days. I did not notice any brightening effects. I’m not sure I get this one so will stick with my other GlamGlow favorites. Full size available at Sephora for $69 for 1.7oz.

Kiehl’s Midnight Concentrate – I LOVE this. Originally shared here in it’s own dedicated post. This adds just a bit of much needed hydration and essential oils that help battle the daily elements. I’ve already repurchased! Available at any Kiehl’s counter or website for $46 for 1oz. *eligible to be part of the Kielh’s recycling program*

Peter Thomas Roth Kojnac Sponge – this little guy came with the PTR cleansing balm. I decided not to use it with the balm, as it would get pretty gross in a short amount of time and used it with my morning cleanser instead. This was really nice and gentle and worked well with a mild cleanser. Most of my EcoTools kojnac sponges last around 2 months, but this one only lasted about 3-4 weeks. It randomly got really hard and resisting water. So strange. I don’t think these are available for purchase, so I bought the Boscia kojnac sponge to take its place.

Urban Decay Perversion Mascara – I featured this in one of my favorites posts a while back. Where have I been?? This is great – thickens and thoroughly coats lashes with just one pass. I’d had this for a while – it came in my UD On the Run palette but I never used it. If it hadn’t hit the 3 month mark, I would have continued to use it. I’m pretty diligent about switching out my mascara as suggested. Would definitely repurchase. This is a mini version – full size is $22 for 0.4oz.

Too Faced Better Than Sex Mascara – nice, but overhyped and I hate the name. I picked this up on a trip to take the place of my mascara that I forgot at home. Oops. It was great at first – separated, but thickened lashes. I found the formula to be very wet and take forever to dry and then it tended to clump while it was drying. I did use this off and on for a couple months but had to say good bye due to an eye infection. Repurchase? Nope. Mini version available for $12.

Make Up For Ever Smoky Extravagant Mascara – this wand is GIANT. And it scared me a bit. Honestly, there was nothing exceptional about this mascara. The formula didn’t blow me away – it could be easily duped out by a much more reasonably priced product. I pretty much just used this on my lower lashes. Full size is $24 for 0.23oz.

TOSS

Victoria’s Secret Hydrating Body Lotion in Amber Romance – I sort of forgot about this… and now it separated and changed color. It was a gift from my sister-in-law a couple Christmases ago – she has great taste! I ran out of the body wash quite a while ago and meant to use up the lotion. It’s a warm vanilla scent that is incredibly long lasting. I’m not sure if VS makes this scent anymore.

Total value used: $287!

There you have it – another month in the books. What did you use up this month?

Leave a Reply

The Beauty Deputy

Reviews on all things beauty related such as: makeup, skin care, fragrances, and much more!

sarah loves makeup

ramblings from a girl who's been obsessed with makeup since, well, forever

The Project Pan Gal

This blog is about my love for makeup and my attempts on using my products up.

After the 9 to 5

Lifestyle - beauty, music, art, books - blog for balancing after the 9 to 5

Life Before Noon

I am learning what the world is like when you wake up before sunrise.

Canadian Beauty Blogger - Makeup Swatches Reviews Hair Nail Polish

Taking a look at all of the things I've been missing

Beauty & The Tomboy.

My Beauty Obsession Shared!

BlushingNoir

Just another WordPress.com site

The Subscriptionist

Subscription Boxes Revealed and Reviewed

Makeup and Beauty Blog | Makeup Reviews, Swatches and How-To Makeup

Taking a look at all of the things I've been missing

PrettyTrippy

a beauty & travel blog (well sort of...)

All The Lovely Things In Life

A blog about beauty, crafting, and things that make me happy.

Beauty High

Beauty Tips, Product Reviews & Beauty Trends

