A New Day

Taking a look at all of the things I've been missing

December 2015 Favorites

on January 3, 2016

Hello again!

As I was working on my favorites of 2015 post, I realized that I hadn’t rounded up my December favorites yet. Oops.

With the end of the year and holidays, it was tough at quick glance to really get a sense of the things I loved this month. There was everyday as well as special event/holiday makeup, gifts still in boxes and then the products in rotation that haven’t been used enough to determine whether they are favorites. I started to make a list and realized I had a few real standout things that were definitely worth mentioning.

Guerlain Abeille Royale Gold Eyetech Eye Sculpt Serum ($130/0.05oz)

There are directions to use this product in 3 ways – each sculpts and defines in a specific way. My preferred method is to lightly press the product on to the under eye area with the gold tip. It cools, depuffs and minimizes fine lines. I love that I can feel the cooling effects for up to a couple hours after application. This was a ridiculous self-indulgent Black Friday splurge, but I definitely don’t regret it!

MAC Sheertone Blush in Breath of Plum ($22/0.21oz)

This has been my go-to blush shade for probably 10 years. I’ve gone through countless containers over the years. It had been several months since my last compact was used up and I was getting the urge to use this again despite the other 20 blushes open in my stash. I did purchase a backup of this a while ago so broke open the new package. After a couple uses, I had to stop using it because the formula and shade were off and it wasn’t performing how I remembered. The great folks at my favorite MAC store swapped it out and I have been using almost daily for the last couple weeks.

Breath of Plum is a beautiful, sheer (yet buildable) blue-toned pink. It leans a bit cool, which should in theory, not look good on my NW10-15 skin. However it looks like a very natural flush.

NARS Lip Pencil ($26 each)

I have been using the Bite pencils for a while and love them so never felt the need to venture out. Sephora kindly rewarded their Beauty Insiders a NARS lip pencil 2-pack during the birthday month. I’ve had these for a few months, but didn’t take them out of the package. I finally tested them out and am kicking myself for not trying sooner! There is a Velvet Matte and a Satin pencil – both formulas are fantastic. Both are hydrating and long-lasting. I’ve been using both regularly all month.

There you have it – stay tuned to see if any of these make it into my year-end favorites!

What were some of your favorites this past month?

One response to “December 2015 Favorites

Leave a Reply

The Beauty Deputy

Reviews on all things beauty related such as: makeup, skin care, fragrances, and much more!

sarah loves makeup

ramblings from a girl who's been obsessed with makeup since, well, forever

The Project Pan Gal

This blog is about my love for makeup and my attempts on using my products up.

After the 9 to 5

Lifestyle - beauty, music, art, books - blog for balancing after the 9 to 5

Life Before Noon

I am learning what the world is like when you wake up before sunrise.

Canadian Beauty Blogger - Makeup Swatches Reviews Hair Nail Polish

Taking a look at all of the things I've been missing

Beauty & The Tomboy.

My Beauty Obsession Shared!

BlushingNoir

Just another WordPress.com site

The Subscriptionist

Subscription Boxes Revealed and Reviewed

Makeup and Beauty Blog | Makeup Reviews, Swatches and How-To Makeup

Taking a look at all of the things I've been missing

PrettyTrippy

a beauty & travel blog (well sort of...)

All The Lovely Things In Life

A blog about beauty, crafting, and things that make me happy.

Beauty High

Beauty Tips, Product Reviews & Beauty Trends

