A New Day

Taking a look at all of the things I've been missing

Use It – September 2015

on October 23, 2015

Hello again!

Long time, no blog. There has been so much going on between work and my personal life… the blog has been on the back burner. I drafted this over post 2 weeks ago and has sat in my draft neglected ever since. I was convinced I would get this up before the end of the month though.. so October 23rd… done!

If you follow me on Instagram (@lvp8779), you know that I’m participating in the #sampledout challenge. While there is no way I will be sample free by 2016, I hope to make a significant dent. After several months of posting the reviews of samples on here, that unless they are a deluxe sample, the review will exist on Instagram. So be sure to check it out!

In keeping with the last several months, everything is broken down into one of the following categories: skincare, makeup, body, hair and lifestyle.

SKINCARE

Chapstick Moisturizing – what can I say? It’s Chapstick. I used it first thing in the morning and before bed. It was perfectly fine. I will probably purchase this or another form of it soon.

Clinique Clarifying Lotion #2 – oh hey, look… another bottle of Clarifying Lotion. This is the only Clinique product I use and have used for well over a decade. Don’t rock the boat when you find something that works! Available at all Clinique counters for $23.50 for 13.5oz

Labello lip balm in Soft Rose – look familiar, Nivea fans? This is the German version of the Nivea Rose I guess. I kind of liked this at first, but ended up resenting having to use it. It seemed very waxy (probably high paraffin?) and not all that hydrating. The positive side was that it prevented lip color from settling in lines, but that shouldn’t be a positive. It also did provide a nice light pink tint and smelled lovely, but I would not repurchase. Available in several colors/flavors/scents through Smallflower.com for $5.50.

MAKEUP

Bobbi Brown Oil Free Tinted Moisturizer in Alabaster Tint – this was my holy grail foundation for a few years and then all of a sudden, we just fell out of love. I don’t know if my skin changed or something, but this went from perfect all-day coverage to leaving me feeling greasy by noon. I had to force myself to finish this tube, which is a shame because I really did love this for so long. Alabaster Tint is barely any color, however matched my skin tone perfectly. I will give this another shot someday. Available at all select Sephora and all Bobbi Brown counters for $44 for 1.7oz.

Julep Go BIG Mascara – this mascara was so incredibly frustrating. You would think something called Go BIG would have a big, easy to use wand, right? No, there is less than an inch of brush and it is TINY. I really tried to make this work on my upper lashes and it coated unevenly and then tended to flake throughout the day. This ended up being a perfectly respectable lower lash mascara. I definitely would not repurchase!

Lancôme Hypnose Star Mascara in Noir – this was a really pleasant surprise. The wand really scared me at first and I wasn’t sure how to really maximize the brush. After a while, I figured it out and really loved the brush and the formula – it coated the lashes very well and stayed put over 12 hours. This was a Christmas gift from L’Oreal Product Evaluation, so I didn’t actually purchase it… but I would! Available at Sephora and all Lancôme counters for about $28.

MAC lipstick in Viva Glam V – I recently discussed this in my recent Top 5 Lip Products post. It is one of the most perfect shades ever created – a wonderful brown-pink that can serve as a neutral or be punched up a bit with some liner and gloss. I’ve gone through several tubes of this over the years and have already started to make a dent in a new one. Available at all MAC counters and freestanding stores for $17 for 0.1oz.

NYX Blotting Papers – they’re baaaack! If you read my blog regularly, you know that I go through one of these packets probably every other month. They’re cheap and they work. I’m a fan.

LIFESTYLE

Illume candle in Tonka Noir – this was a great addition to one of my Birchboxes a while back. I’m pretty terrible at describing scent, so I will spare you a painful attempt. But it is wonderful – this little candle filled my house with an amazing scent. I can’t find this exact size, but a larger travel candle tin is $10 for a 20-hour burn time.

Sally Hansen Insta-Dri Top Coat – I go through a bottle of this top coat every few months. After applying a base coat, 2 coats of color, apply a thin coat and boom. Done. It sets in 1-2 minutes and doesn’t budge or chip. I usually buy this from Ulta when it is buy one, get one free or 50%. Regular price is $5.99.

TOSS

Bath and Body Works Shower Gel in Stress Relief – this is really old. It has changed consistency and has to go. I love this scent though and use the lotion all the time when I travel.

Mary Kay Shower Gel in Affection – this is a really interesting spicy scent. I still have the perfume solid, but the body wash is just too much scent. I’ve also had this for a really long time and it has also changed consistency. I love the scent, but this particular product also has to go.

There you have it, folks. Another month, another empties round up.

What did you finish up this month?

 

Leave a Reply

Always, Cleia

Beauty, Lifestyle, and Subscription Boxes

The Beauty Deputy

Reviews on all things beauty related such as: makeup, skin care, fragrances, and much more!

sarah loves makeup

ramblings from a girl who's been obsessed with makeup since, well, forever

The Project Pan Gal

This blog is about my love for makeup and my attempts on using my products up.

After the 9 to 5

Lifestyle - beauty, music, art, books - blog for balancing after the 9 to 5

Life Before Noon

I am learning what the world is like when you wake up before sunrise.

Canadian Beauty Blogger - Makeup Swatches Reviews Hair Nail Polish

Taking a look at all of the things I've been missing

Beauty & The Tomboy.

My Beauty Obsession Shared!

BlushingNoir

Just another WordPress.com site

The Subscriptionist

Subscription Boxes Revealed and Reviewed

Makeup and Beauty Blog | Makeup Reviews, Swatches and How-To Makeup

Taking a look at all of the things I've been missing

PrettyTrippy

a beauty & travel blog (well sort of...)

