A New Day

Taking a look at all of the things I've been missing

My Top 5 Lip Products

on September 14, 2015

I’ve had this post jumbled up in my head for a while and thought it was time to get it all out on the blog.

If you have been following along for a while or know me personally, you know that I love lipstick. Lipstick, lip gloss, primer, pencils… you name it, I love it. I can’t think of a time in the last 20 years when I haven’t had at least 2-3 lip products with me at all times. Well.. maybe at a festival or something.. but I digress.

I remember my grandmother having this cute plastic container that held about 25 (maybe more?) mini Avon lipsticks. It was a pink plastic bottom with a clear top that allowed you to safely store and showcase your sample lipsticks. I have done some extensive Google image searches to try and find what this looks like, but no luck. I loved nothing more than going and trying out every shade that was hot in the late 70’s and early 80’s. Whoever said that pink AND orange lipstick didn’t go together clearly just didn’t understand my creativity. However, my favorites back then are pretty much the same as my favorites today – pinky-browns, sheer pinks and in your face red.

I wanted to share with you some of my more modern all-time favorites, share some swatches and tell you why I love these particular products so very much. And since I can’t really pick a favorite, I’ll just go alphabetical… But if you read my blog regularly, you probably can tell where my bias lies! My apologies for the abundance of high-ticket products. I do try to do a nice mix of high-med-low, however luxe lip products are my biggest vice.

Top to bottom: Bobbi Brown Burnt Red, Fresh Sugar Rose Balm, Guerlain Rouge G in Gina, MAC Viva Glam V

Bobbi Brown Lip Color in Burnt Red – this was my first Bobbi Brown lip purchase – and for good reason. Bobbi is the original lipstick queen. She built her cosmetic empire starting with one lipstick. While I go back and forth on my loyalty to many of her other products, I am a sucker for her lip colors. I don’t want the balms or glosses… I want her heavily pigmented, long lasting lipstick. This is a brown-based red that has a hint of orange. I feel like this one is not for the faint of heart! Available at Nordstrom and Saks for $27 for .12oz.

Fresh Sugar Lip Balm in Rose – ok I will be honest, I’ve never actually purchased this. I’ve received so many freebies from Sephora over the years that I have them stowed away. This is a lightly tinted, rose scented, super hydrating lip balm. It is incredibly soft so needs to be applied gently, otherwise you end up with a very messy tube of lip balm. Rose is chock full of nourishing oils, vitamins and antioxidants – I always feel like this is such a “healthy” lip balm. This is available at Sephora (and limited other retailers) for $22.50 for 0.15oz.

Guerlain Rouge G de Guerlain in 20 Gina – sadly, I think this was a limited edition, so I might start to ration this. Gina is a gorgeous, slightly opaque red-orange shade. This is a warm tone which looks great on my fair skin. I jokingly refer to this as a “daytime red” – it is a buildable share, so I feel comfortable wearing this in and out of the office. Guerlain is terribly addictive, so I’m sure that I will be adding more of the Rouge G shades to my collection. Temptalia does an excellent review of this shade and provides dupes at all price points. Available at Saks for $51 for 0.12oz.

Swatches top to bottom (no filter) indoor HD lighting: Bobbi Brown Burnt Red, Fresh Sugar Rose Balm, Guerlain Rouge G in Gina

MAC Viva Glam V – and now for something different… This has been a staple in my collection for over 10 years. I have gone through so many tubes of this shade over the years – and yes, this is yet another brand new tube. This is probably the most perfect shade ever created. It is a sheer brown-pink that doesn’t shift too cool or too warm. I think it would look beautiful on any skin tone. I tried the lipglass at one point and I went immediately back to the old school lip stick. And I love the message behind the Viva Glam shades – since 1994, all proceeds have gone to help organizations which assist individuals with HIV/AIDS. That’s pretty admirable, MAC! Available at all MAC counters and freestanding stores for $17 for 0.1oz.

Top to bottom: Ultra Shine Lip Gloss in Lost Cherry, Lip Color in Nude Vanille, Lips and Boys Lip Color in Alejandro, Lips and Boys Lip Color in Blake, sample size True Coral

 Tom Ford… everything – ok so I am obsessed with TF lip colors. They are all so beautifully pigmented… I can’t pick just one thing from my collection and I love them all for different reasons. Is this cheating with a top 5? Instead of explaining, I’ll just show swatches… 🙂 Available at Saks and Neimans – Lips and Boys $35 for 0.07; lip color $53 for 0.1oz; Ultra Shine Lip Gloss $46 for 0.24oz.

Top to bottom (flipped from above photo) indoor HD light (no filter): True Coral, Blake, Alejandro, Nude Vanille, Lost Cherry.

Honorable mention:

LORAC Couture Shine Lip Gloss in Glam – I feel badly even bringing this up. LORAC stopped making the entire line of Couture Shine Gloss and I’m devastated. I try to stock up when they come up on Hautelook because they are amazing – high shine, long lasting. This is a somewhat glittery, medium pink gloss. You can wear alone or over another shade. WHY, LORAC???

So there you have it – my top 5 (+1). I am already starting to think about my next top 5 list. Maybe eye shadow? We’ll see! 🙂

What are your top 5 favorite lip products?

One response to “My Top 5 Lip Products

  1. […] lipstick in Viva Glam V – I recently discussed this in my recent Top 5 Lip Products post. It is one of the most perfect shades ever created – a wonderful brown-pink that can […]

Leave a Reply

Always, Cleia

Beauty, Lifestyle, and Subscription Boxes

The Beauty Deputy

Reviews on all things beauty related such as: makeup, skin care, fragrances, and much more!

sarah loves makeup

ramblings from a girl who's been obsessed with makeup since, well, forever

The Project Pan Gal

This blog is about my love for makeup and my attempts on using my products up.

After the 9 to 5

Lifestyle - beauty, music, art, books - blog for balancing after the 9 to 5

Life Before Noon

I am learning what the world is like when you wake up before sunrise.

Canadian Beauty Blogger - Makeup Swatches Reviews Hair Nail Polish

Taking a look at all of the things I've been missing

Beauty & The Tomboy.

My Beauty Obsession Shared!

BlushingNoir

Just another WordPress.com site

The Subscriptionist

Subscription Boxes Revealed and Reviewed

Makeup and Beauty Blog | Makeup Reviews, Swatches and How-To Makeup

Taking a look at all of the things I've been missing

PrettyTrippy

a beauty & travel blog (well sort of...)

