A New Day

Taking a look at all of the things I've been missing

Use It – July and August 2015

on September 1, 2015

Hello everyone!

Long time, no empties! At the end of July, my bin only had a couple products and I was in the middle of a crazy travel schedule and decided just to wait. August only yielded a few empties also, so it worked out well.

If you follow me on Instagram (@lvp8779), you know that I’m participating in the #sampledout challenge. While there is no way I will be sample free by 2016, I hope to make a significant dent. After several months of posting the reviews of samples on here, that unless they are a deluxe sample, the review will exist on Instagram. So be sure to check it out!

In keeping with the last several months, everything is broken down into one of the following categories: skincare, makeup, body, hair and lifestyle.

SKINCARE

EcoTools Pure Complexion Facial Sponge – another one bites the dust… and I don’t have any backups! I will repurchase when they go on sale at Ulta.

GlamGlow BrightMud  Eye Treatment – I love, love, love this. I’m a huge fan of the brand as a whole. I’ve discussed the BrightMud a number of times now, so I won’t be redundant. I already repurchased this. Available at Sephora and Neiman’s for $69 for 12 ChromeCells.

Pro You Lip & Eye Wrinkle Spot Cream – this was a gift from Memebox last fall. It lasted forever! I used this twice a day for several months on my upper lip and outer eyes where there is some definite signs of aging. There was a noticeable difference at first, but it seemed to sort of stall out after a few months. I probably would not repurchase. This used to be available through Memebox, but I can’t find it there… or anywhere else… soo..

MAKEUP

Benefit The Big Easy in 01-Fair – yes, the foundation from round one of my Project Pan. I don’t need to talk about this anymore.. I will probably not repurchase. Available at all Benefit counters for about $36 (1.18oz), and comes in 6 shades.

NYX Matte Blotting Papers – I have just plowed through these this summer… they are also a staple in my Use It reviews.

BODY

Crabtree and Evelyn Shower Gel and Hand and Body Lotion in  Rosewater – I devoted an entire post to this last spring and used it all through the summer. It was shelved in the fall, as I’m very particular about my seasonal scents. It made a reappearance this spring and I ended up finishing it towards the beginning of July. I was very sad to see this go – the gel was very cleansing and did not leave any sort of residue. The lotion was incredibly lightweight, but still very hydrating. This ended up being a perfect weight as we started moving into hotter and more humid weather. I’m very sad to see this go and would repurchase in the spring if I didn’t have a ton of products hoarded away. Available at all Crabtree and Evelyn shops $22-24 (for 8.5oz).

Gilchrist and Soames London Collection Body Lotion – I received a sample in a Birchbox forever ago. I loved this clean, fresh scent so much that I immediately went and bought the full size bottle. I’ve refilled the mini so many times and have finally run out. I will not repurchase this – the formula is not great. It’s rather thin and not all that hydrating. My skin does crave hydration later in the day. If it came in a different formula, I might consider. Available through Birchbox for $16 (8oz).

Kiehl’s Superbly Efficient Antiperspirant Deodorant Cream – I discussed this a while back in my weekly favorites. It’s an odd thing to post about, I guess… I have the worst time finding a deodorants/antiperspirant that actually works. After years of searching and trial and error, I discovered this one. It might actually be the holy grail of deodorant! I have already repurchased another tube. Available at all Kiehl’s stores and counters for $19.50 (2.5oz).

Kiehl’s Ultimate Strength Hand Salve – just the best hand cream ever. I go through a couple of tubes a year. This is a very thick, hydrating cream with a light eucalyptus scent. It doesn’t leave your hands greasy and is just as effective in summer as it is winter. I will definitely repurchase. Available at all Kiehl’s stores and counters for $15 (2.5oz).

LIFESTYLE

Julep Nail Color in Paulette – I loved this shade! Sigh. I’m sad to see it go! This was a beautiful lavender with a gold hue. I hope this comes back around. Julep polish is $14 ($11.20 for Mavens).

TOSS

Arbonne Eye Definer in Slate – this dried out! Boo – I really liked this color!

Buxom lip gloss in Chloe – I’ve had this wayyyy too long. It’s this crazy deep rust shade that I’ve had for years. I was going through my lip products the other day and realized it had separated and no longer smelled of mint. It is a very sticky, pigmented product. I actually prefer a heavy gloss, and while I would not buy this shade again, I would, however would buy another gloss.

There you have it, folks! Another month in the books. What did you use or toss?

Leave a Reply

The Beauty Deputy

Reviews on all things beauty related such as: makeup, skin care, fragrances, and much more!

sarah loves makeup

ramblings from a girl who's been obsessed with makeup since, well, forever

The Project Pan Gal

This blog is about my love for makeup and my attempts on using my products up.

After the 9 to 5

Lifestyle - beauty, music, art, books - blog for balancing after the 9 to 5

Life Before Noon

I am learning what the world is like when you wake up before sunrise.

Canadian Beauty Blogger - Makeup Swatches Reviews Hair Nail Polish

Taking a look at all of the things I've been missing

Beauty & The Tomboy.

My Beauty Obsession Shared!

BlushingNoir

Just another WordPress.com site

The Subscriptionist

Subscription Boxes Revealed and Reviewed

Makeup and Beauty Blog | Makeup Reviews, Swatches and How-To Makeup

Taking a look at all of the things I've been missing

PrettyTrippy

a beauty & travel blog (well sort of...)

All The Lovely Things In Life

A blog about beauty, crafting, and things that make me happy.

Beauty High

Beauty Tips, Product Reviews & Beauty Trends

