A New Day

Taking a look at all of the things I've been missing

Birthday Haulin’

on August 17, 2015

Hi there!

So I recently had a birthday and I’ve decided that this is the last year that I grow older. I will continue to celebrate my birthday (because I love cake and champagne), but I’m just going to remain in my “mid-30’s.” It seems reasonable right?

I don’t often discuss my shopping habits on here, however I’m sure that you get that I clearly have a makeup shopping/hoarding problem. One of my favorite things about my birthday is getting all of the birthday freebies! So thank you to the nice folks at Aveda, Sephora and Ulta which all dangled the carrot which enabled these purchases. I don’t typically buy this many things at once, but I try to take advantage of birthday discounts and double or triple points. It ultimately allows me to make some other purchases that I typically might not later in the year. I also use gift cards, Ebates* rewards and Shopkick** points as often as possible.

This year Sephora offered 2 different birthday gifts – the Nars lip duo and Peter Thomas Roth skincare set. When I went to place the order, there was not an option for the PTR set. Very sad. As if I needed more lip products, I went ahead and selected the Nars duo. In my morning skincare routine post a few weeks back I lamented the fact that I was using a day moisturizer that left me oily and did not provide SPF. I opted to test out the Algenist Ultra Lightweight UV Defense Fluid in SPF 50. Out of 179 reviews, it received 130, 5-star reviews. You just can’t get enough SPF! After receiving it though, I realized it is not a moisturizer, just a sunscreen. Back you go. And It’s that time of the year again… the Sephora Gimme Lip set is back! This is one of my favorite annual purchases and again, I really do NOT need another lipstick, but this is a must-have in my book. This year’s selection includes Make Up For Ever, Kat Von D (LOLITA), Marc Jacobs, Tarte, Sephora Collection and Fresh. The freebies included an 8-piece VIB sample set, Josie Maran Argan Daily Moisturizer in SPF 47 and Boscia Makeup-Breakup Cool Cleansing Oil. Oh, and did I mention it was triple points for VIB?

Last year, Ulta offered the worst gift ever – the ckOne mascara. It was probably one of the worst mascaras I have ever tried. I gave up after 2-3 uses and tossed it. This year however, we got a full-size Urban Decay Perversion. Hallelujah! Thanks to some gift cards and a $10 off Platinum Perk, I visited Meredith at the Benefit Brow Bar and then took advantage of the IT Cosmetics event and picked up the CC+ Airbrush Perfecting Powder and the new CC+ Radiance Ombre Blush in a plum shade (and a Bye Bye Undereye freebie).  My other purchase was the Murad Rapid Collagen Infusion for Lips, which I have been trying to get my hands on for a while. Ulta offers double points in your birthday month, but Platinum users currently get triple points.

Aveda offers a gift every year to their Pure Privilege members. Last year, I picked up the perfume in Chakra 6, which I use somewhat infrequently. I love the scent, but it is not for every day. This year, I picked up the massage oil in Chakra 6, this can be used as an all-over body oil and I will be using this so much this winter! I’ve been wanting to try the Hand Relief Night Renewal Serum, so after a quick hand massage with this and hand cream, I decided my parched hands needed this. Also, Aveda recently extended the Smooth Infusion line to include the Nourishing Styling Cream designed to reduce frizz when air drying or heat styling your hair. I have been really struggling to find something to minimize frizz when I let my hair air dry wavy. I have only used it once, but noticed an immediate difference. It is a lightweight product that really helped get my broken strands in line and left my hair soft and manageable. Pure Privilege rewards holders receive double points during the birthday month, so it is a great way to build towards great rewards! Aveda will be changing the point structure starting in September, so stay tuned.

So there you have it. How do you maximize your birthday freebies and points?

*Ebates: get cash back for shopping online! Click for referral code

**ShopKick: earn points for weakling into stores and being active on the app – convert to gift cards. Click for referral code.

One response to “Birthday Haulin’

  1. […] Hand Relief Night Renewal Serum – you might recognize this from my Birthday Haulin’ post last month. I’ve been using this pretty religiously and using it totally opposite of the […]

Leave a Reply

The Beauty Deputy

Reviews on all things beauty related such as: makeup, skin care, fragrances, and much more!

sarah loves makeup

ramblings from a girl who's been obsessed with makeup since, well, forever

The Project Pan Gal

This blog is about my love for makeup and my attempts on using my products up.

After the 9 to 5

Lifestyle - beauty, music, art, books - blog for balancing after the 9 to 5

Life Before Noon

I am learning what the world is like when you wake up before sunrise.

Canadian Beauty Blogger - Makeup Swatches Reviews Hair Nail Polish

Taking a look at all of the things I've been missing

Beauty & The Tomboy.

My Beauty Obsession Shared!

BlushingNoir

Just another WordPress.com site

The Subscriptionist

Subscription Boxes Revealed and Reviewed

Makeup and Beauty Blog | Makeup Reviews, Swatches and How-To Makeup

Taking a look at all of the things I've been missing

The Makeup Blogger

Taking a look at all of the things I've been missing

PrettyTrippy

a beauty & travel blog (well sort of...)

All The Lovely Things In Life

A blog about beauty, crafting, and things that make me happy.

Beauty High

Beauty Tips, Product Reviews & Beauty Trends

