A New Day

Taking a look at all of the things I've been missing

Weekly favorites – part 26

on July 13, 2015

It seems as though we are going on day 45 straight of rain. I’m contemplating building an ark. My dogs just give me sad eyes when I tell them it is time to go out… they’re so miserable and expect me to somehow stop the rain. Sorry guys…

My remedy for trying to battle the grey, dreary skies is color. Lots and lots of COLOR! I have been trying to incorporate something fun every day either on my eyes, lips or cheeks.

My absolute favorite discovery is the Becca Beach Tint Shimmer Souffle in Watermelon/Moonstone. I picked this up at Ulta as part of the summer color kit (or something like that). I tried this out a while back and was not impressed… it turns out the sample on display had dried out and did not apply evenly. The product in this jar, however, is so soft and creamy and goes on like a dream. The texture is so soft that I actually have to hold myself back from applying too much! This shade is a blend of coral red and pale gold – it is marbled in the pan, but blends very easy and does not streak. And it smells like.. papaya? Whatever it is, I want to eat it. This is not limited edition, however is really hard to find in stock. This is the smaller version, but the full size is available at Ulta or Sephora for $27 (0.20oz).

Top: indoors no flash; bottom: outdoor indirect sunlight

My next favorite pops of color have been peach and coral – who isn’t in love with these shades right now? I have been playing around with a couple cheek colors, including the Benefit Majorette cream blush ($28 for 0.24oz) and the MAC Extra Dimension Skinfinish in Fairly Precious, a limited edition shade from the Magnetic Nudes collection. I’ve talked about Majorette a couple of times before, so I will try not to repeat myself, but this is just a wonderfully subtle, peachy-coral shade. It is buildable so looks great on any skin tone, including my NW10 coloring. Since the MAC color is no longer available, I won’t go into too much detail… it is a beautiful, sheer peach that can be worn alone or as a highlighter. Visit Temptalia’s site for a few dupes!

In addition to the cheek shades, I’ve been enjoying a few gorgeous lip shades:

  • Benefit Ultra Plush Lip Gloss in Coralista  ($16 for 0.5oz) – it looks pretty vibrant in the tube but applies very sheer and gives a subtle coral tint
  • Stila Lip Glaze in Mango Berry ($22 for 0.08oz) – I love this color, but I despise this packaging. When I opened this, I was so excited… but then immediately realized why I haven’t purchased a Stila gloss in years. This twist up tube is ridiculous. Thank goodness for what is inside! This is a bit more pink than some of the other shades and it is a semi-sheer gloss. It has a very long wear time and is probably my favorite formula of the bunch!
  • Laura Mercier Lip Glace in Nectar ($25 for 0.15oz) is a more peachy shade with a very thick consistency. This is more of a liquid lipstick than a gloss. This is heavily pigmented gloss – while the other two could be worn over another shade, this can easily stand alone.
  • and when I’m feeling a bit bold, the Tom Ford Lip Color in True Coral (full size $50). This is definitely more of a pink-coral and what I really picture when someone mentions coral. Hmmm.. hence the name…

You might notice that most of these are the smaller versions. I’ve been hoarding these shades for a while because I wasn’t sure if they were colors I could really pull off. So I decided to pull them all out of the bottomless lipstick drawer and give them a chance. I’m so glad that I did. Most of my makeup is fairly neutral, with a bit of fun eye color. This was an easy way to give my usual look a bit of an on-trend change and shrug off the cloudy days.

Left: indoors no flash; right: outdoors indirect light. Top to bottom: Benefit Coralista, Stila Mango Berry, Laura Mercier Nectar, Tom Ford True Coral.

What has been brightening up your cloudy days? Share below!

 

One response to “Weekly favorites – part 26

  1. […] to the highlighter, I really loved the Beach Tint Shimmer Souffle and featured it in one of my weekly favorites. I did cave and pick up Champagne Pop, which is the only other full size highlighter in my […]

Leave a Reply

The Beauty Deputy

Reviews on all things beauty related such as: makeup, skin care, fragrances, and much more!

sarah loves makeup

ramblings from a girl who's been obsessed with makeup since, well, forever

The Project Pan Gal

This blog is about my love for makeup and my attempts on using my products up.

After the 9 to 5

Lifestyle - beauty, music, art, books - blog for balancing after the 9 to 5

Life Before Noon

I am learning what the world is like when you wake up before sunrise.

Canadian Beauty Blogger - Makeup Swatches Reviews Hair Nail Polish

Taking a look at all of the things I've been missing

Beauty & The Tomboy.

My Beauty Obsession Shared!

BlushingNoir

Just another WordPress.com site

The Subscriptionist

Subscription Boxes Revealed and Reviewed

Makeup and Beauty Blog | Makeup Reviews, Swatches and How-To Makeup

Taking a look at all of the things I've been missing

PrettyTrippy

a beauty & travel blog (well sort of...)

All The Lovely Things In Life

A blog about beauty, crafting, and things that make me happy.

Beauty High

Beauty Tips, Product Reviews & Beauty Trends

