A New Day

Taking a look at all of the things I've been missing

Use It – June 2015

on July 6, 2015

Happy July, everyone!

I hope you all had a wonderful holiday weekend! I celebrated our independence by eating for 3 days straight. It was amazing. I’m treating myself to an extra couple days off since I haven’t taken vacation time in 6 months. I think I’m overdue. You may notice an unusually high number of posts the next couple days as I spend a few hours catching up!

If you follow me on Instagram (@lvp8779), you know that I’m participating in the #sampledout challenge. While there is no way I will be sample free by 2016, I hope to make a significant dent. After several months of posting the reviews of samples on here, that unless they are a deluxe sample, the review will exist on Instagram. So be sure to check it out! Also you can see all of the photos of my wonderful dogs… you know you want to.

In keeping with the last several months, everything is broken down into one of the following categories: skincare, makeup, body, hair and lifestyle.

SKINCARE

Algenist Renewing Eye Balm – Algenist is an intriguing brand – one of the leading “biotech’ brands out there. Their products are derived from a specific type of algae and then something, something science… The company is very ethically responsible with regard to production and sustainability. I’ve only tried a couple Algenist products and would like to explore the brand a bit more. This was a nice eye cream – I used it primarily at night and woke looking refreshed and never puffy. This did not do anything specifically for my awful dark circles, so I probably would not purchase. However, I would definitely be open to trying another eye product from this brand. Available at Ulta for $65 (0.5oz).

Dr. Brandt Pores No More Pore Refiner – this was the sample that would never die. Just when I thought there just couldn’t be any left, there would be 2 more days… This is a mattifying primer that could be used under or over makeup. I tried it both ways and really only found this to be effective for about 3-4 hours. After that, I was very shiny and my pores were very visible. I would definitely not purchase. Available at Ulta and Sephora for $15 for travel size (0.5oz).

Omorovicza Thermal Cleansing Balm – this is so ridiculously good, but painfully expensive. I started using this a few months ago when it was freezing and a regular evening cleanser was stripping some of the moisture from my skin. A small amount lifted and removed makeup and dirt. I would follow with my regular cleanser and instead of feeling dry, my skin felt soft and incredibly clean. I will definitely repurchase in the fall/winter, as this is a bit much for the summer months. Available at Sephora and Neiman Marcus for $32 for 0.5oz or $110 for 1.7oz.

Peter Thomas Roth Rose Stem Cell Bio-Repair Cream – if you have read my blog for a while, you know I love the Rose Stem Cell Gel Mask. So when I spotted this at Sephora, I had to test it out. And friends, I was definitely not disappointed! This is incredibly moisturizing without being oily and has that amazing rose scent. Once I get through a few products in my stash, I will consider purchasing. Available at Sephora for $75 (1.7oz).

MAKEUP

MAC Dazzleglass in Moth to Flame – this particular tube was part of a holiday set a couple years back. I was so happy to discover that this was part of the permanent collection. This is a great neutral gloss with a hint of shimmer. Many of the Dazzleglass shades have an odd, chunky glitter formula that is a bit of a turn off, but this is the outlier. I often wear this with the Bite BB for Lips in Tawny, which gets lots of compliments. I have already repurchased this and it’s Back 2 MAC for this gal! Available at all MAC counters and stand alone stores for $20 (0.06oz).

BODY

Olay Quench Ultra Moisture Body Lotion – I have gone through so many of these. This is such a great lotion for any season and it is a staple in my routine. I will repurchase this as long as Olay makes it! Available at Target, drugstores, Amazon, etc. for $7-10 (11.8oz)

TOSS

Aloxxi Dry Shampoo with Color Protection – I tried and tried to use this. Ugh. The performance was consistent in that it would only ever work for a few hours before my hair would look greasier than before I used it. I could shake the can for 5 min and have it mix perfectly or not at all. I could spray on my hair and it could take one minute or 10 minutes to try. Sometimes it wouldn’t be visible and other times I couldn’t get it to blend in. There was no logic behind this and I give up.

Julep Nail Color in Mariska – this was fine when I opened it and then became oddly clumpy. I tossed it in a drawer last season and forgot about that little detail. I was less than pleased to realize I did that when I went to apply it the other day. I have never had a nail polish clump quite like this… weird.

Oscar Blandi Pronto Invisible – originally discussed here. I also give up on this.. it just doesn’t work for me. Unlike the Aloxxi, it consistently applies poorly and underperforms throughout the day.

 

That’s it, everyone! What did you use up or toss out this month? Any favorites? Share below!

One response to “Use It – June 2015

  1. […] I have tried is amazing and soooo dangerous for my wallet. I reviewed the Thermal Cleansing Balm here and while I love it, I did resist temptation to repurchase. In addition, I splurged on the […]

Leave a Reply

Always, Cleia

Beauty, Lifestyle, and Subscription Boxes

The Beauty Deputy

Reviews on all things beauty related such as: makeup, skin care, fragrances, and much more!

sarah loves makeup

ramblings from a girl who's been obsessed with makeup since, well, forever

The Project Pan Gal

This blog is about my love for makeup and my attempts on using my products up.

After the 9 to 5

Lifestyle - beauty, music, art, books - blog for balancing after the 9 to 5

Life Before Noon

I am learning what the world is like when you wake up before sunrise.

Canadian Beauty Blogger - Makeup Swatches Reviews Hair Nail Polish

Taking a look at all of the things I've been missing

Beauty & The Tomboy.

My Beauty Obsession Shared!

BlushingNoir

Just another WordPress.com site

The Subscriptionist

Subscription Boxes Revealed and Reviewed

Makeup and Beauty Blog | Makeup Reviews, Swatches and How-To Makeup

Taking a look at all of the things I've been missing

PrettyTrippy

a beauty & travel blog (well sort of...)

