A New Day

Taking a look at all of the things I've been missing

What’s in my travel bag?

on April 17, 2015

Hi there everyone!

I was thinking that it was time for another look at what is in my travel bag… Since travel is what I spend about 30% of my time doing, finding the right travel items are somewhat of a necessity. I tend to look for a lot of hydrating products to combat the dry, recycled air in planes and constantly changing environments of hotels.

In addition to the products, I’ve tried to narrow down my makeup items to a couple key pallets, including Urban Decay Naked on the Run ($54) and the Laura Mercier Flawless Face Book. I’m still learning how to best use the concealer/correctors in the Face Book (not to be confused with Facebook…), but I feel like I have Naked on the Run down pat. If you are a UD fan, you know all about this kit, but if not, it is a great neutral pallet with 5 eye neutral colors, bronzer, blush and highlighter built in. There are separate compartments for some lip and eye products, which I actually switch out. I’m currently using a different UD black liner and a Bobbi Brown mascara. I haven’t even opened the lip gloss yet – not sure how I have resisted that temptation…

If you read my blog regularly, you know that Kiehl’s makes me swoon. I think they make some of the best skincare products for sensitive skin – no heavy perfumes or dyes. When I find a mini in something I like, I snatch it up. It took me a while, but I was able to track down a mini Kiehl’s Midnight Recovery Concentrate (full size $46 for 1oz) and travel size Close Shavers Squadron (full size $14 for 5oz to $21.60 for 10oz). I prefer the sensitive skin version, but this is not too harsh.

Every season Sephora puts out some great sample sizes of some of their best selling products. A while back, I visited the Sephora inside of a JCPenney and discovered that they carry their own sets that vary from the stand alone stores… who knew? The fall/winter skincare set had some wonderful stuff in there, including the Murad Renewing Cleansing Cream (full size $36 for 6.75oz). I really like this because it is a really gentle, hydrating face wash, but strong enough to take off makeup, setting spray and city grime.

Since we are on the subject of brands I talk about constantly, how about one more? Yes, the Batiste Dry Shampoo (full size $8.99 for 5oz) strikes again. I haven’t used this in a while and managed to get ahold of a couple smaller cans recently – I think in some subscription boxes (?).  This particular version is the Blush and the scent is a bit strong, but is the same old Batiste formula that I know and love. I hate when my hair gets the slightest bit greasy and will use this after a flight or on day 2-3 of a trip, especially if I get a blowout before I leave.

Sunscreen is an absolute must. Ohio is not sunny, however most of the locations I travel to are. I always have some sun block tucked away somewhere. My travel size of the moment is the Supergoop SPF30 (full size $19 for 2.4oz) oil-free sunscreen. Anything less than SPF30 doesn’t do a thing for me – I call BS on all of the articles that say otherwise… I need a minimum of 30-50 to prevent a burn.

I know I mentioned this line recently in a Use It post, but I really like to have familiar scents with me when traveling. My go-to scent for helping me get to sleep home or away is the Bath and Body Works Eucalyptus and Spearmint Aromatherapy line. The lotion and linen spray are pretty much staples in my travel bag. The 1oz travel size is usually available for $3 each.

Let’s be honest, flying sucks. I’ve started pacing a sheet mask to use post-flight and I feel like it has really made a difference with feeling hydrated on day 2 of a trip. One of my current favorites is the Missha Pomegranate Sheet Mask – its super hydrating and full of antioxidants. I’ve also been experimenting a bit with facial mists for longer trips.. what I love about sheet masks is the convenience for the cost – for $1-$3, you can find a great mask.

So there you go. What are some of your travel must haves?

Leave a Reply

Always, Cleia

Beauty, Lifestyle, and Subscription Boxes

The Beauty Deputy

Reviews on all things beauty related such as: makeup, skin care, fragrances, and much more!

sarah loves makeup

ramblings from a girl who's been obsessed with makeup since, well, forever

The Project Pan Gal

This blog is about my love for makeup and my attempts on using my products up.

After the 9 to 5

Lifestyle - beauty, music, art, books - blog for balancing after the 9 to 5

Life Before Noon

I am learning what the world is like when you wake up before sunrise.

Canadian Beauty Blogger - Makeup Swatches Reviews Hair Nail Polish

Taking a look at all of the things I've been missing

Beauty & The Tomboy.

My Beauty Obsession Shared!

BlushingNoir

Just another WordPress.com site

The Subscriptionist

Subscription Boxes Revealed and Reviewed

Makeup and Beauty Blog | Makeup Reviews, Swatches and How-To Makeup

Taking a look at all of the things I've been missing

PrettyTrippy

a beauty & travel blog (well sort of...)

