A New Day

Taking a look at all of the things I've been missing

Use It – March 2015

on April 8, 2015

Hello everyone!

I hope you had a great start to your Spring and have started to defrost a bit! I spotted flowers in my yard the other day and nearly fell down my front steps rushing to take a photo. So yeah.. I’m happy to see Spring has sprung!

If you follow me on Instagram (@lvp8779), you know that I’m participating in the #sampledout challenge. While there is no way I will be sample free by 2016, I hope to make a significant dent. This is my declaration before you read through this post and ask “why so many samples?” I’m tracking on Instagram, but reviewing here. I feel like I can give a more thorough review and list the prices and where to find, should you care to track it down.

In keeping with the last several months, everything is broken down into one of the following categories: skincare, makeup, body, hair and lifestyle. So here we go:

SKINCARE

EcoTools Pure Complexion Facial Sponge – I go through so many of these.. The recommendation is to change every 3 months, but can only go 1-2 before being kind of gross (in my opinion). This can be found at Ulta for $5.99 – keep an eye out for the buy 1, get 50% off deals!

Murad Pore Reform Balancing Moisturizer – this has been my go-to moisturizer for years… YEARS, I tell you! Originally posted in My Favorite Things Part 2, this has been a life saver so many times. I have tried other products and just keep coming back to this time and time again. Would I repurchase? Of course. This comes in a 1.7oz tube and runs about $35 at Sephora and the Murad website.

Murad Acne Clearing Solution – I’ve already reviewed this like 5 times… I love this and have a ton of samples. If I ever run out, I would buy it! Available at Sephora and the Murad website for $39 for 1.7 oz.

StriVectin Intensive Illuminating Serum – this is a repeat from last month. Thank you, Allure for sending this out twice! I really liked this, but unsure if I would make the splurge. Available on the StriVectin website for $89.

Sheet MasksPureSmile Pearl and Vitamin, When Present Perfect – the When mask kind of burned (would not purchase), however the PureSmile were really nice (would purchase). The pearl was one of the best sheet masks I’ve ever used. All are available for $2-$4 each.

MAKEUP

Bobbi Brown Long Wear Cream Shadow in Beach Honey – so this is probably cheating, but this is included in my Project Pan. I DID finish it this month though! I would not repurchase – the color payoff was disappointing, which is why it sat in my drawer forever. The cream shadows are available in 18 shades and cost $26 at any Bobbi Brown counter or online.

BODY

Joie Folle de Joie Eau de Parfum – this was a sample from Birchbox – they love, love, love this perfume over there. I think this is the second time I have received this. It’s a floral-y citrus scent – I guess. I wouldn’t purchase, but it was a great travel scent. Available at Birchbox for $98 for 3.4oz.

LUSH Whoosh Shower Jelly – this has been happily residing in my travel bag for the last few months. I was incredibly sad to see this go! This Jell-O looking soap has a bright, clean citrus scent. It is kind of difficult to use, as you have to either use as a giant blob, or try to break off some small, slippery chunks. I tried both and it worked just fine… I ended up laughing frequently about my inability to hold onto it in the shower. This appeared in one of my Weekly Favorites, and I would venture to say this might become a future staple. It comes in 2 sizes – a travel(ish) 3.5 oz for $6.95 and 8.4 oz for $11.95. And don’t forget to save your pots – when you return 5 pots you get a free mask!

Philosophy Happy Birthday, Beautiful! – this was a birthday gift from Sephora a couple years back. I wasn’t a huge fan of the scent, so it sat in a drawer forever. I finally decided to use as a hand soap and that worked out much better. It lathered well and was very gentle, I’m just really picky about my vanilla scents. I wouldn’t purchase.

The Body Shop Bath & Shower Gel in Cranberry Joy – if you have been reading for a while, you know this is one of my favorite cold weather scents. I go through a couple products every year. And yes, it is old packaging. I hoard it when it goes on sale after the holidays! I will purchase again and again. This will be available again round mid-October and is like $10-$15 for 8.4oz… might be off on that price.. sorry.

Whish Shave Cream in Acai Grapefruit – I used the blueberry version before and found it to be clumpy and somewhat ineffective. This formula was much better – it went on smooth and left my skin soft. My feelings on this had changed until on the last use, I got really horrible razor burn. Not cool, Whish. That is strike 2 and I will never purchase. If you want to buy it, the full size is available exclusively on Birchbox for $20 for 150ml.

HAIR

Julep Dry Clean Invisible Dry Shampoo – this was one of the items in my September Maven box. My initial feedback was that it lasted about 8 hours and I would agree with that still. This is by far not my favorite dry shampoo and I definitely would not seek it out to purchase. This is available on the Julep website for $22 ($17.60 for Mavens).

Klorane Conditioning Cream – I think they could have just called this a conditioner. After cleansing, the instructions suggest to leave in for 5-10 minutes to hydrate and detangle hair. I have to say, I really have mixed feelings on Klorane products. The scent was really nice, but this isn’t a product I would purchase. One more for #sampledout

LIFESTYLE

Bath and Body Works Aromatherapy Pillow Mist in Eucalyptus Spearmint – I absolutely believe in the power of aromatherapy. This is guaranteed to put me to sleep anywhere and any time. The pillow mist and lotion are essentials in my travel bag! Available in full and travel sizes – 1oz is available for about $3.

Bath and Body Works Antibacterial Hand Gel in Ghoul Friend – I love a good play on words. I have a ton of these and stock up when they are $1.

There you have it. Another month in the books. I hope you have a  wonderful March!


One response to “Use It – March 2015

  1. […] Use It – March 2015 Apr […]

Leave a Reply

Always, Cleia

Beauty, Lifestyle, and Subscription Boxes

The Beauty Deputy

Reviews on all things beauty related such as: makeup, skin care, fragrances, and much more!

sarah loves makeup

ramblings from a girl who's been obsessed with makeup since, well, forever

The Project Pan Gal

This blog is about my love for makeup and my attempts on using my products up.

After the 9 to 5

Lifestyle - beauty, music, art, books - blog for balancing after the 9 to 5

Life Before Noon

I am learning what the world is like when you wake up before sunrise.

Canadian Beauty Blogger - Makeup Swatches Reviews Hair Nail Polish

Taking a look at all of the things I've been missing

Beauty & The Tomboy.

My Beauty Obsession Shared!

BlushingNoir

Just another WordPress.com site

The Subscriptionist

Subscription Boxes Revealed and Reviewed

Makeup and Beauty Blog | Makeup Reviews, Swatches and How-To Makeup

Taking a look at all of the things I've been missing

PrettyTrippy

a beauty & travel blog (well sort of...)

