A New Day

Taking a look at all of the things I've been missing

My Quick Makeup Recommendations

on March 31, 2015

There are so many titles I could give this post… 5 minute face, beauty hacks, etc. etc. etc. I had a friend ask if I could give my suggestions for doing a quick routine for the non-morning person. As a non-morning person myself, I thought this would be a fun challenge. I really enjoy the process of doing my makeup and matching colors and selecting specific shades to compliment my outfit, which by the way is typically navy or black. My options are pretty much endless and it definitely takes me more than 5 minutes…

I did some serious planning ahead for this challenge… I tried narrow it down to 5 products, but it just wasn’t going to happen. Instead, I tried to put together a few key things, like what could I recommend that is multi-purpose or appropriate for any season? Also, what might be a good suggestion for someone who wants to build up a small collection of staples?

So here we go:

 – Benefit Big Easy in 01 Fair – you may recognize this from my recent Project Pan posts. While I had some mixed feelings at first, it turns out this was a great foundation for the winter months. This foundation can easily be applied with your fingers. The Big Easy runs about $36 for 1.18oz, and comes in 6 shades.

 – MAC Prep + Prime Highlighter in Radiant Rose – originally featured in my MAC Prep + Prime CC review. This is perfect for the under eye area and any other area that needs brightening – cheeks, bridge of the nose or forehead. This is $26, and so worth it. I would buy this again and again!

 – MAC Prep + Prime Transparent Finishing Powder – even if your foundation/BB cream is a cream to powder formula, use a setting powder to finish the look and set your makeup. This particular powder runs about $26, but there are many other (and cheaper) options from L’Oreal, Maybelline, NYX, etc.

 – Sephora Professional Powder brush – get a decent brush. I really like the Sephora Pro and Real Techniques ($15 and under) brushes. You don’t need a $100 brush… but they are nice sometimes! This one was probably $20-$30.. can’t find it on the website.. You can have the most expensive products, but they won’t do a darn thing with crappy tools.

Le Métier de Beauté blush – there isn’t an actual shade listed since this was January’s featured product ($30) in the LMdB VIP program. But this is a great neutral – find a shade that that works well with your skin tone. You can get matched by a Sephora Pro, ask for help at your local drugstore or even Google “blush color for (blank) skin tone.” Also featured in the January shipment was a realllly nice kabuki brush ($85). Remember how I just said brushes don’t need to be expensive? Oops.. 😉

 – NARS St-Paul-de-Vence eye duo – this is a limited edition, spring release from NARS. Find a multidimensional neutral color that can be used on the entire lid, or a duo/quad that will give you some coverage and depth. This is a nectarine and brown duo that brightens my eyes and is really easy to apply and blend. This duo is $35 and it will last you FOREVER.

 – MAC 217 – this is the most versatile brush you will ever own. I can’t believe I only added this to my collection just recently… if the idea of using lots of brushes has you overwhelmed, then get one all-purpose brush that will help you achieve an easy and flawless look. Available at all MAC stores, counters and website for $24.

 – Stila Smudge Stick Waterproof Eyeliner in Oscar Fish – again, another easy to use neutral. Do you have to have a liner? No. But it will give you a more polished eye look and open up your eyes even on the worst Monday. I’m a big fan of the Urban Decay 24/7Velvet Glide-On Pencil and the Stila Smudge Stick. They are both easy to use, fix if smudged unintentionally or to intentionally smudge. To transition to a night look, thicken the line and define some of the lower lash line. Both are about $20 and come in a broad range of colors.

 – Benefit Roller Lash – I had to buy this to see if it lived up to the hype. Answer: sort of. But again, you don’t need a $24 mascara… I love, love, love the Maybelline Great Lash (big brush). While you don’t need an expensive mascara, you should use a mascara. If nothing else, for the same reasons as the liner – it brightens and opens your eyes. If you’re unsure how to use, go to a makeup counter and ask. There is nothing wrong with asking for a little help!

 – Tarte LipSurgence Lip Luster in Glitzy – Tarte makes beautiful, hydrating lip products. The LipSurgence is like a big pepperminty balm, crayon-like stick. This particular shade is a neutral with some shimmer and looks great on a range of skin tones, but there is an amazing range of tints and creams in this line. They are easy to use and are long lasting. Each stick is $24. My second recommendation would be the L’Oreal Colour Riche Extraordinaire in Nude Ballet ($8-10) featured here. There are lots of other options, but I don’t feel that they are not as hydrating or long lasting.

I promise this can all be accomplished in 5 minutes! I think I actually did it 4 and some change.

What are some of your go-to products for a quick look?

Leave a Reply

The Beauty Deputy

Reviews on all things beauty related such as: makeup, skin care, fragrances, and much more!

sarah loves makeup

ramblings from a girl who's been obsessed with makeup since, well, forever

The Project Pan Gal

This blog is about my love for makeup and my attempts on using my products up.

After the 9 to 5

Lifestyle - beauty, music, art, books - blog for balancing after the 9 to 5

Life Before Noon

I am learning what the world is like when you wake up before sunrise.

Canadian Beauty Blogger - Makeup Swatches Reviews Hair Nail Polish

Taking a look at all of the things I've been missing

Beauty & The Tomboy.

My Beauty Obsession Shared!

BlushingNoir

Just another WordPress.com site

The Subscriptionist

Subscription Boxes Revealed and Reviewed

Makeup and Beauty Blog | Makeup Reviews, Swatches and How-To Makeup

Taking a look at all of the things I've been missing

The Makeup Blogger

Taking a look at all of the things I've been missing

PrettyTrippy

a beauty & travel blog (well sort of...)

All The Lovely Things In Life

A blog about beauty, crafting, and things that make me happy.

Beauty High

Beauty Tips, Product Reviews & Beauty Trends

