A New Day

Taking a look at all of the things I've been missing

Project Pan Round 1 – February update

on February 4, 2015

Happy February everyone!

I just wanted to share a quick update on the progress of a couple items included in Project Pan. While I’m trying to focus on using these key items, it is soooo tempting to use a matte lipstick or black eye shadow. On the other hand, I have been using a couple things regularly, but because of the packaging, can’t tell how much progress has actually been made.

IMG_3156

The two that I have made the most progress with are the MAC Lipgelee in Moistly and MAC PowerPoint Eye Pencil in Stubborn Brown. I made marks on the tube at the start point in January and then again today – this feels like an accomplishment for a lip gloss. It has been in fairly heavy rotation the last few weeks and I feel like using this up is an attainable goal! The eyeliner budged a tiiiny little bit. This has been in moderate rotation and… well, you can see how far it has shrunk over the last month.

So what is all included in this Project Pan? Scroll down to read how this all got started and more about the products included in Round 1.

Have a great week!

 

 

Posted January 5, 2015:

Hello everyone!

I discovered a The Project Pan Gal  last week, a great blog devoted to de-stashing. Over the last several months, she has focused on a bunch of key projects she wanted to use up and get out of her makeup drawer. I feel like a do a decent job of tracking what I use through my monthly Use It posts, but want to be held a bit more accountable for some of the things that have been hanging on for too long and maybe need to be in a Use It post. My good friend Laura has a nice mix of makeup and body products in her Project Pan posts, so maybe that is how I will approach round 2.

So what is on deck for round 1?

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/15b/60270332/files/2015/01/img_3017.jpg

Benefit The Big Easy in 01-Fair – I really liked the concept of this foundation – an SPF35, liquid to powder, oil-free foundation. I’ve been keeping this in my travel makeup bag as an easy to use foundation while on the road.

Pros: easy to apply, blends well and was a great match for my skin tone

Cons: sheer coverage, does not hide redness, need to always have blotting papers on hand

Bobbi Brown Long Wear Cream Shadow in Beach Honey – this is a sheer, shimmery cream shadow that comes in a variety of versatile shades.

Pros: easy to use, small packaging, good eye shadow base

Cons: not buildable- gets clumpy, doesn’t work well with brushes so have to dig out with fingers, does not last all day as a stand alone shadow

MAC PowerPoint Eye Pencil in Stubborn Brown – a waterproof, long wearing eye pencil that is part of the permanent collection.

Pros: lives up to MAC’s declaration of long wearing, glides easily over the skin, rich pigmentation

Cons: difficult to smudge for a messy or smoky look

MAC Lipgelee in Moistly and Moon-something (name is long gone) – no description.. too old!

Pros: hydrating, sheer gloss, can be worn with a liner or lipstick for more pigmentation

Cons: kind of sticky, too sheer and I said they were old, right?

Overall goal – use these before purchasing anything new. I don’t NEED anything… there is so much stuff I need to use. I’m going to work hard to stick to the plan!

What are some of your goals to de-stash, low buy or no buy this year? Are you doing a project pan of your own?

One response to “Project Pan Round 1 – February update

  1. […] month, I shared some progress with 2/5 items, the eyeliner and the Moistly Lipgelee. Over the last 28 days, I feel like I have […]

Leave a Reply

The Beauty Deputy

Reviews on all things beauty related such as: makeup, skin care, fragrances, and much more!

sarah loves makeup

ramblings from a girl who's been obsessed with makeup since, well, forever

The Project Pan Gal

This blog is about my love for makeup and my attempts on using my products up.

After the 9 to 5

Lifestyle - beauty, music, art, books - blog for balancing after the 9 to 5

Life Before Noon

I am learning what the world is like when you wake up before sunrise.

Canadian Beauty Blogger - Makeup Swatches Reviews Hair Nail Polish

Taking a look at all of the things I've been missing

Beauty & The Tomboy.

My Beauty Obsession Shared!

BlushingNoir

Just another WordPress.com site

The Subscriptionist

Subscription Boxes Revealed and Reviewed

Makeup and Beauty Blog | Makeup Reviews, Swatches and How-To Makeup

Taking a look at all of the things I've been missing

PrettyTrippy

a beauty & travel blog (well sort of...)

All The Lovely Things In Life

A blog about beauty, crafting, and things that make me happy.

Beauty High

Beauty Tips, Product Reviews & Beauty Trends

