A New Day

Taking a look at all of the things I've been missing

Use It – November

on December 1, 2014

Can November already be gone? Wow. Fall in Ohio was nonexistent – we went from 70F to snow in a matter of a week and have maintained the chill. I wasn’t exactly ready for that!

So let’s just dive in, eh? Like last month, I’ll divide this up into skincare, makeup, body, hair and lifestyle.

IMG_2877.JPG

SKINCARE

Algenist Regenerative Anti-Aging Moisturizer SPF20 – I like the idea of Algenist – Biotechnology skincare. There is a lot of research that goes into creating an effective product. This moisturizer made my skin brighter and firmer, but really lacked hydration. I would be curious to try other products in this line. This might be a good moisturizer for someone with oily skin, but not for my combination skin. Ulta carries the full 2oz size for $90.

GLAMGLOW Brightmud Eye Treatment – what an interesting treatment… each packet is designed for 1 use- one pod per eye. However, there was so much in each pod that I was actually able to use the product in one pod for both eyes and offering 2 separate applications. There were a couple mornings where this came in very handy – it tackled dark circles and puffiness like a beast. This was amazing, however I don’t know if I would be willing to make the splurge of $69 for 12 packets (total 24 pods).

GLAMGLOW Thirstymud Hydrating Treatment – this was probably my least favorite of the samples. It is an oil-based mask. While it was hydrating, it just felt odd – hydrating but so heavy. This is available at Neiman Marcus for $69 (1.2 oz.)

Le Métier de Beauté Peau Vierge Revitalizing Anti-Aging Day Crème – one of the products in this month’s LMdB VIP shipment. While this came out of the packet as a heavy, thick cream, it felt very light on the skin. This left my skin feeling soft and incredibly hydrated. Its just the $285 price tag… Yikes. Available at Neiman Marcus.

Le Métier de Beauté Peau Vierge Revitalizing Anti-Aging Night Crème – I have similar a feeling about the night cream. Super hydrating. Just sooo pricy. This one is $350. Ouch.

Missha Pure Source Pomegranate Sheet Mask – when is a sheet mask not just a sheet mask? I think when you take a chance on Missha products. This was my first time testing out the much-revered Korean brand – I blindly ordered a handful of masks on the Memebox site. This smelled amazing and was so incredibly hydrating. Before I put this on, I had a couple ugly dry patches and they were GONE after using this for 15 min. Memebox has a variety of Missha sheet masks available for $2 each or value packs starting at $15. You can currently shop all products 20% off and the US shipments take at the most 2-3 days.

Murad Acne Clarifying Cleanser – I mentioned this (again) the other day as a weekly favorite. I don’t think there is much more I can say about this line or the brand at this point. With this particular cleanser, a little goes a long way. Also, since this is not an everyday face wash, I only buy this in the 2oz travel size and it lasts for months. You can find this at Ulta for about $10.

SLCosmetic Soo Effect Plus Essence Sheet Mask (provided by Memebox) – this was nice, but no where near as hydrating as the pomegranate mask above. I would maybe purchase. Available on the Memebox website for $2 each.

MAKEUP

Benefit They’re Real! Beyond Mascara – I know, I know… enough about They’re Real! I used up yet another sample. I’ve been using a couple other mascaras recently and I just keep comparing them to this. Will I buy again? You betcha. This can be found at Ulta, Sephora, etc. for $23.

Bite Lush Lip Wipes – this was part of the Bite holiday set from Sephora that I talked about in a past weekly favorites. After a long day with a lot of highly pigmented red lipstick, I used the Bite wipe to remove the remaining color. In just a couple swipes, all remnants of the color were removed. I probably wouldn’t splurge on these, but they work incredibly well. These are on the Sephora website in packs of 10 ($12) or 30 ($22).

BODY

Arbonne SeaSource Detox Spa Detoxifying Rescue Wash – this was highlighted in my Summer Favorites earlier this year. This is such a great cleanser – it is gentle, yet tough on sweat and dirt. I will definitely repurchase this again. Available through independent sellers for $44 (16oz).

Bath and Body Works Freesia Body Lotion – this is so old.. oh gosh.. I’ve had this in my stash forever because I hoarded it at one of their sales. I love this scent and I wish they would bring it back. 😦

Happy Fam Deo Fresh Grapefruit (provided by Memebox) – I’ve talked about this here and here. These were really nice – smelled good, cleansing, etc. Would maybe repurchase. Available on the Memebox website for $2 (20 sheets).

HAIR

Fekkai Color Care Shampoo – I received this in my April Birchbox – I decided to clean out my stash a bit and use this up. I love all of the Fekkai products – this one in particular is so gentle on color treated hair. It is an intense cleanser that manages not to strip out color. I would definitely purchase the full size. Available on the Fekkai website, select Targets and high-end salons ranging $5-$20.

No. 4 Prep and Protect – If you are a Birchboxer, you are definitely familiar with this brand. This was a very nice spray leave-in conditioner, but I really disliked the scent. For that reason alone, I would not purchase. Birchbox carries the complete line of No.4 products – the full-size Prep and Protect runs $32 and currently has free shipping.

– Psssst! Instant Dry Shampoo – I talked about this one ages ago in my dry shampoo post. It is okay, nothing spectacular. I’d heard so much about this brand and since it was on sale, I went for it. I would not repurchase. Available at Ulta for $5.99 for 5.3 oz.

LIFESTYLE

I killed off a couple candles. Due to their poor performance, they do not get a shout out. Uneven burning, wasted wax, messy messy.

 

Have a wonderful December everyone!! What are you looking forward to the most this month?

 

2 responses to “Use It – November

  1. […] GLAMGLOW Brightmud Eye Treatment – I originally discussed this here. I stumbled on this at TJMaxx for $30 the other day – SOLD. Last week, I woke up with the […]

  2. […] Bite Lush Lip Wipes – reviewed previously here. They do a great job removing heavily pigmented shades, but I could accomplish the same thing with […]

Leave a Reply

Always, Cleia

Beauty, Lifestyle, and Subscription Boxes

The Beauty Deputy

Reviews on all things beauty related such as: makeup, skin care, fragrances, and much more!

sarah loves makeup

ramblings from a girl who's been obsessed with makeup since, well, forever

The Project Pan Gal

This blog is about my love for makeup and my attempts on using my products up.

After the 9 to 5

Lifestyle - beauty, music, art, books - blog for balancing after the 9 to 5

Life Before Noon

I am learning what the world is like when you wake up before sunrise.

Canadian Beauty Blogger - Makeup Swatches Reviews Hair Nail Polish

Taking a look at all of the things I've been missing

Beauty & The Tomboy.

My Beauty Obsession Shared!

BlushingNoir

Just another WordPress.com site

The Subscriptionist

Subscription Boxes Revealed and Reviewed

Makeup and Beauty Blog | Makeup Reviews, Swatches and How-To Makeup

Taking a look at all of the things I've been missing

PrettyTrippy

a beauty & travel blog (well sort of...)

