A New Day

Taking a look at all of the things I've been missing

Weekly Favorites – part 6

on October 12, 2014

Happy Sunday everyone!
I’m writing this in a somewhat zombie-like state after a very long overnight flight home from San Francisco. Both my flights out and back had a brief layover, giving me a chance to stretch and grab something to drink. Unfortunately my stop on the way back was around 5:30 am… not pleasant.

Outside of work meetings and events, I caught up with one of my friends who moved to the Bay area in the spring. I also met up randomly with my friend Yvette who happened to be in town overlapping my trip by a day. It helped to see a couple familiar faces being so far away from home!

All of my favorites from this week were really just my travel comforts:

IMG_2663.JPG

Left to right: Big Little Lies by Liane Moriarty, Bath and Body Works Eucalyptus Spearmint lotion and linen spray (top), A;T FOX Gyoolpy Tea Fresh Water (bottom), SLCosmetic Sheet Mask, Happy Fam Deo Fresh

 – Big Little Lies by Liane Moriarty – this was a gift from my friends at Birchbox as part of the September Birchbox Book Club through a contest on Twitter. I started it in September, but didn’t have the time to finish until my long flight. This made the time pass very quickly. I wrote a brief review on Goodreads,but will share with you that it was well written, mysterious, dark, tragic and all round fun. Four stars. This is available on Amazon for $16 (hardback).

–  Bath and Body Works Eucalyptus Spearmint body lotion and linen spray – I don’t know about you, but I have a really difficult time falling asleep in strange places. Three different hotels in four nights makes it really hard to assure that I’m well rested. The eucalyptus spearmint line is the one thing that I know will help me relax and get a sort of restful nights sleep. I’m usually out within 10 minutes after using this. $10-$13 full size; $5 for 2 oz. Travel sizes are currently 3 for $12 online and in-store!

–  A;T FOX Gyoolpy Tea Fresh Water – this is a really wonderful, fine mineral water facial mist. I’ve never used a facial spray before and am definitely converted. This was a great mid-flight pick me up. This can be found on the Memebox website for $10. Current affiliate discount: $5 off on any order and use the code A36P

SLCosmetic Sheet Mask – this was another first – I’ve used lots of masks, but never a sheet mask. I also really liked using these masks the evening after my flight and again the next day. You can read more in my previous Memebox Mask Box post.

Happy Fam Deo Fresh Grapefruit – this was a product from my first Memebox – Scentbox #3. There isn’t much to say.. seriously. Cooling wipes. They’re nice and refreshing!

I didn’t realize how heavy this was on the Memebox… sorry about that. I’ve acquired so many amazing products recently that I can’t help but rave about them!

Below are some of my favorite moments from my trip:

IMG_2670.JPG

 An afternoon tour of the capital building in Sacramento.

IMG_2698.JPG

The lovely Painted Ladies – just a few blocks from my friend Jenna’s house!

IMG_2680.JPG

And I just happened to be in town during Fleet Week! Caught the Blue Angels practice session between meetings.

I hope you had a wonderful week!

2 responses to “Weekly Favorites – part 6

  1. […] Mask (2) – originally featured here and then again in my travel heavy weekly favorites post here. This was my first foray into sheet masks and I was really pleased with how moisturizing they were […]

  2. […] Happy Fam Deo Fresh Grapefruit (provided by Memebox) – I’ve talked about this here and here. These were really nice – smelled good, cleansing, etc. Would maybe repurchase. Available on […]

Leave a Reply

Always, Cleia

Beauty, Lifestyle, and Subscription Boxes

The Beauty Deputy

Reviews on all things beauty related such as: makeup, skin care, fragrances, and much more!

sarah loves makeup

ramblings from a girl who's been obsessed with makeup since, well, forever

The Project Pan Gal

This blog is about my love for makeup and my attempts on using my products up.

After the 9 to 5

Lifestyle - beauty, music, art, books - blog for balancing after the 9 to 5

Life Before Noon

I am learning what the world is like when you wake up before sunrise.

Canadian Beauty Blogger - Makeup Swatches Reviews Hair Nail Polish

Taking a look at all of the things I've been missing

Beauty & The Tomboy.

My Beauty Obsession Shared!

BlushingNoir

Just another WordPress.com site

The Subscriptionist

Subscription Boxes Revealed and Reviewed

Makeup and Beauty Blog | Makeup Reviews, Swatches and How-To Makeup

Taking a look at all of the things I've been missing

PrettyTrippy

a beauty & travel blog (well sort of...)

