A New Day

Taking a look at all of the things I've been missing

Use It – September

on October 2, 2014

Another month, another pile of empties. Where did September go? I swear it was just Labor Day!

IMG_2617.JPG

Here we go:

Aveeno Positively Nourishing Pomegranate and Rice Smoothing Body Wash – you might remember this from one of my very first posts about some of my favorite things. This wash is so gentle but still really tough on dry skin. I would definitely repurchase this! I used to be able to get this at Ulta (and collect points, of course), but they stopped carrying it… you can now find this at Target, Amazon or drugstore.com for about $5.99 for 16 oz.

Bobbi Brown Creamy Concealer in Porcelain – and another one bites the dust… I’ve purchased and repurchased this concealer many times over the last decade. However, when I ran into Sephora to grab one in a pinch, and they were out. I guarantee no one else uses this light of a shade in the summer… how are you out? So I broke my pattern and picked up the NARS stick concealer. Sorry, Bobbi, we’re taking a break. This can be found at Sephora and Nordstrom for $25.

CARGO TexasLash Mascara in Black – I had really high hopes for this mascara and it totally let me down. The formula is really dry and doesn’t coat the lashes, doesn’t thicken, etc. The brush is big and full and should ideally separate and dispense a lot of product. This is the one mascara I purchased this year… back to my stash of free mascaras… Ulta was unloading all of their CARGO products at 50% off and Sephora doesn’t carry it anymore either, so I can’t even tell you where to find the brand or what to expect to pay.

 dr. brandt® microdermabrasion – this was briefly reviewed in my April Ipsy post. Its just way too harsh for my skin. I used it all, but maybe every other week? There is no way I could use this as recommended. The full size (2 oz) can be found at Sephora for a whopping $78.

Henri Bendel Fig Scented Candle – Oh my favorite candle… so sad! These candles have an oil-based scent and a 60-hour burn time. This one didn’t burn as evenly, but still smells amazing… You can find these at Henri Bendel or on Amazon for $45-49.95, however they are often on sale. I’ve never paid full price!

Julep Satin Finish Nail Color in Mae – there is something incredibly exciting about finishing off a vial of nail polish. It seems like such an accomplishment! This color was originally discussed in my January Julep Maven post. It is a lilac/grey color that I actually passed off as a neutral this Summer. After trying many of the Julep formulas, I have to say that the Satin Finish is probably my favorite. It dries fairly matte, but a good topcoat will brighten it up and help it stay put for about 5 days – the longest wearing and most durable of any of the polishes I’ve tried. This is available on the Julep website for $14 ($11.20 for Mavens). If you are interested in joining the Julep monthly subscription program, click here for my referral link.

La Fresh Vitamin E Makeup Remover Wipe – oh hey, look what I found at Marriott now! They were a perk for staying at the Holiday Inn Express, but it looks like the big M jumped on the bandwagon. These are my favorite face wipes ever. If I didn’t have 3 packages of face wipes already, I would splurge on these. Rumor has it that they are on Hautelook this weekend!

Lush Stimulating Ginger and Fennel Sugar Scrub – I featured this in my Summer Favorites post a while back and yeah, I killed one off. But no worries, there’s more – I had 2 tucked away in my bathroom. They are a regular product (not seasonal) and available online or in the Lush store for $6.25.

NYX Matte Blotting Paper – I recently started using blotting papers again – probably the first time in more than 10 years.. what I like about these in particular is that there is no powder or residue, just an oil absorbing sheet. I already started another pack and might go get some more since all of the NYX products are 40% off at Ulta right now… a pack of 50 sheets is currently $2.39.

 – Purederm Vitamin C Facial Pads these cute little orange slices appeared in the box o’masks from Memebox. I read a while back that Vitamin C is supposed to help shrink the appearance of pores. I don’t know if it really did that, however these sheets did soften and freshen my skin. I would probably not repurchase this. I believe you can still find this on the Memebox website – $12 for 24 sheets. Save $5 on any purchase with the code: BMI0ML during the month of October.

 – Sun Smile Hydro Gel Choosy Fruit – this appeared in my first Memebox that was chock full of grapefruit goodness. This is an interesting product and I don’t think it plumped my lips.. it definitely hydrated though. It was a very odd sensation and I probably wouldn’t purchase. Available on the Memebox website for $2 each (1 per packet).

Time to recycle! Thanks for reading yet another post about my trash. I hope you enjoyed it and are looking forward to next month!

One response to “Use It – September

  1. […] NYX Matte Blotting Paper – I talked about these back in my September Use It post. I stocked up a while ago when NYX products were 40% off and would buy again and again. These are […]

Leave a Reply

The Beauty Deputy

Reviews on all things beauty related such as: makeup, skin care, fragrances, and much more!

sarah loves makeup

ramblings from a girl who's been obsessed with makeup since, well, forever

The Project Pan Gal

This blog is about my love for makeup and my attempts on using my products up.

After the 9 to 5

Lifestyle - beauty, music, art, books - blog for balancing after the 9 to 5

Life Before Noon

I am learning what the world is like when you wake up before sunrise.

Canadian Beauty Blogger - Makeup Swatches Reviews Hair Nail Polish

Taking a look at all of the things I've been missing

Beauty & The Tomboy.

My Beauty Obsession Shared!

BlushingNoir

Just another WordPress.com site

The Subscriptionist

Subscription Boxes Revealed and Reviewed

Makeup and Beauty Blog | Makeup Reviews, Swatches and How-To Makeup

Taking a look at all of the things I've been missing

PrettyTrippy

a beauty & travel blog (well sort of...)

All The Lovely Things In Life

A blog about beauty, crafting, and things that make me happy.

Beauty High

Beauty Tips, Product Reviews & Beauty Trends

