A New Day

Taking a look at all of the things I've been missing

The Sample Killah Finale!

on July 31, 2014

HERE IT IS! The final installment of Sample Killah 2014. This project took some serious commitment. Aside from using up the daily samples, it also kept me on task with blogging this month… no “I’ll put it off until tomorrow” approach.

If you have been following along for the last month, you have likely been enjoying my insanity. If not, here are the posts from week #1, week #2 and week #3 for your reading enjoyment and to bring you up to speed.

In the last week, I killed off 20 samples. This brings my total to 53, which means I HIT MY GOAL!! I also want to mention that I used all of the products in their original intended purpose. No conditioner in place of shave cream or moisturizer as lotion… played it straight, folks. And let me tell you – I’m exhausted.

So here it goes:

20140731-205633-75393472.jpg

AHAVA Extreme Day Cream – much like last week’s experience with the AHAVA moisturizer.
Beauty Protector – Protect and Shampoo – YUCK. This never truly got my hair clean. Maybe I just have a bad attitude about sulfate free shampoos (I do.) or maybe it just isn’t for me.

Beauty Protector – Protect and Condition – double yuck. Left my hair limp with flyaway.

bliss triple oxygen instant energizing eye gel – WTF??? The skin under my eyes started flaking and peeling within the first 15 min. I had awful flashbacks to my Caudalie experience and threw it in the box. No way.

Briogeo Don’t Despair, Repair! – I’ve been using this forever… at least it feels like it. Its a decent hair mask, but not my first choice.

Camille Beckman Midnight Monarch Body Butter – why has this been sitting on my desk for weeks?? See my previous review here.

La Fresh Vitamin E Makeup Remover Wipe – I adore La Fresh wipes. This did an amazing job taking off some crazy eye makeup. I might have to go for it the next time they are on Hautelook.

L’Oreal Professional Mythic Oil – I had some really high hopes for this. It left me with a lot of flyaways. The scent and texture were really nice though!

(MALIN + GOETZ) bergamot body wash – this really nice. I felt really clean and loved the scent. I don’t think I liked it enough to purchase though.

Marula Oil – I forgot I even had this and it was buried in a cabinet. Oops. I will definitely be using this when winter rolls back around.

OC8 Professional Mattifying Gel (2) – this has been in my makeup stash for probably close to a year. I have more primer than I know what to do with! But I’m sorry I waited so long to use this, it worked really well! I would consider purchasing once I scale down the amount of primer I still have.

Ojon Rare Blend Oil – I got this months ago as a 100 point perk and have been trying to find the small size ever since. I might have to just bite the bullet and go for the larger size – hello Ulta 20% off! The rare blend oil is probably the best hair oil I’ve tried yet.

Ouidad Climate Control Heat and Humidity Gel – this is another product that I’ve been using forever.. a little bit really goes a long way. I would definitely consider purchasing.

Peter Thomas Roth Rose Stem Cell Bio-Repair Gel Mask – a very generous sample from Sephora that provided 4 uses. Loved it. Bought it!

Redken Outshine Anti-Frizz Polishing Milk – of all of the polishing milks I’ve tried recently, this is probably my favorite. It doesn’t weigh my hair down and really cuts down the frizz.

Strivectin-AR Advanced Retinol Eye Treatment – this was a very generous sample… I think I’ve been using it since March? It was great, but I’m ready to go back to my regular eye products.

Urban Decay Naked Skin Beauty Balm – does this odd peppermint scent bother anyone else? The coverage is very sheer and easy to layer under a light-medium coverage foundation. The drawback is that if you over work it, the formula starts to pill.

Yes to Grapefruit CC Cream in light – this did a really nice job of evening out my skin tone and eliminated some of my everyday splotchyness. I would consider purchasing this.

Yu-Be Moisturizing Skin Cream – I don’t get it.. everyone raves about this. It was okay.

 

After all of that, we have the honorable mentions (or close but no cigar) category. These 12 products will get used up in the next few days and will be included in the August Use It post.

20140731-205637-75397687.jpg

I’m glad this is a one-time project. But I’m also glad I participated and pushed myself to try to many things, and most importantly get all of this stuff out of my drawers! I discovered some really great (and some really horrible) products and found some things I would like to add to my permanent collection, or at least to my wish list (ahem, La Prairie!).

Thanks to Kalyn for motivating us and providing the weekly updates. Congrats to everyone who participated and met their goals!

Thanks for following along!

2 responses to “The Sample Killah Finale!

  1. […] and I rushed out to Sephora for a sample. I mentioned the sample very, very briefly in my Sample Killah Finale post – it was in my Sephora shopping bag before I even ran out of the multi-use […]

Leave a Reply

The Beauty Deputy

Reviews on all things beauty related such as: makeup, skin care, fragrances, and much more!

sarah loves makeup

ramblings from a girl who's been obsessed with makeup since, well, forever

The Project Pan Gal

This blog is about my love for makeup and my attempts on using my products up.

After the 9 to 5

Lifestyle - beauty, music, art, books - blog for balancing after the 9 to 5

Life Before Noon

I am learning what the world is like when you wake up before sunrise.

Canadian Beauty Blogger - Makeup Swatches Reviews Hair Nail Polish

Taking a look at all of the things I've been missing

Beauty & The Tomboy.

My Beauty Obsession Shared!

BlushingNoir

Just another WordPress.com site

The Subscriptionist

Subscription Boxes Revealed and Reviewed

Makeup and Beauty Blog | Makeup Reviews, Swatches and How-To Makeup

Taking a look at all of the things I've been missing

PrettyTrippy

a beauty & travel blog (well sort of...)

All The Lovely Things In Life

A blog about beauty, crafting, and things that make me happy.

Beauty High

Beauty Tips, Product Reviews & Beauty Trends

