A New Day

Taking a look at all of the things I've been missing

July Julep Maven Box

on July 30, 2014

Remember how I said I was getting rid of Julep? Well I’m still working on it… trying to maximize the most points in the most efficient way possible. I’ve been ordering off and on for the last few months, but haven’t been posting anything about it. I think I just got really bored with the subscription and frustrated with the options. I did officially kick Ipsy to the curb – and so glad I did. July looked awful.

The July Julep theme was so beachy (Poolside, technically…) and fun that I just couldn’t pass it up. Who doesn’t love the beach? The bright colors and super tempting, giant bottle of lotion… yes, please! I went for Classic with a Twist (I’m so predictable) with a couple add ons.

20140730-210042-75642161.jpg

The star of the box was the Julep Bare Body Milk. The packaging lured me in, but the scent won me over. Julep credits the blend of olive oil, citrus peel oils, milk thistle extract with a hint of the Beach Tonic fragrance that makes it so intoxicating. This might be the perfect summer scent! The lotion itself is lightweight and non-greasy.

Kelsey – a powder peach crème
This was a really nice neutral. Not sure if it’s right for my skin color though.

20140730-210043-75643948.jpg 20140730-210045-75645479.jpg

Left: indoor; right: indoor with flash
Vicki – a vibrant pink flamingo crème
I was really nervous at first because it is SO bright, but I received so many compliments on this shade! Too bad it chipped so easily – max wear time was 2-3 days.

20140730-210112-75672789.jpg 20140730-210115-75675358.jpg

Left: indoor; right: outdoor, direct sun

Alexandra (add-on) – blonde crème

Blonde? Sometimes it looks green, or khaki or kind of yellow, but I don’t get blonde. The formula was long-lasting and held up for 3+ days.

20140730-210117-75677005.jpg

Above: outdoor, overcast and horrible paint job
Farrah (add-on) – lilac silk
Haven’t tried this yet, however have had really good luck with the satin finish colors – they seem to last about 5 days.
There were a couple other add-ons but they are gifts for some of my August birthday friends. And since some of them read this little blog, I will not ruin any surprises. Hint: they are sparkly!

This month’s breakdown: each polish is $14 ($11.20 for Mavens) and the Bare Body Milk is listed at $24 ($19.20 for Mavens). The Classic with a Twist box was $27.78 ($19.99 plus the additional $14.97 for three add ons, then used a bunch of Maven points for a discount) for products totaling $94.

If you are interested in subscribing to Julep,  please feel free to use my referral code and don’t forget the FREE BOX code to get your first subscription box free.

 

Fun fact from the Julep website:

“What makes Julep Nail Color so great?

Julep Nail Color is “4-free” and does not contain formaldehyde, formaldehyde resin, toluene, or DBP. Our professional chip-resistant formulation is fast drying and highly pigmented. Julep nail color is a fun way to make the season’s latest shades accessible to everyone. And because we’ve tested our trend-setting toxin-free colors and products in over 100,000 manicures and pedicures in our parlors, we have a good idea of what works and what our clients love.”

3 responses to “July Julep Maven Box

Leave a Reply

The Beauty Deputy

Reviews on all things beauty related such as: makeup, skin care, fragrances, and much more!

sarah loves makeup

ramblings from a girl who's been obsessed with makeup since, well, forever

The Project Pan Gal

This blog is about my love for makeup and my attempts on using my products up.

After the 9 to 5

Lifestyle - beauty, music, art, books - blog for balancing after the 9 to 5

Life Before Noon

I am learning what the world is like when you wake up before sunrise.

Canadian Beauty Blogger - Makeup Swatches Reviews Hair Nail Polish

Taking a look at all of the things I've been missing

Beauty & The Tomboy.

My Beauty Obsession Shared!

BlushingNoir

Just another WordPress.com site

The Subscriptionist

Subscription Boxes Revealed and Reviewed

Makeup and Beauty Blog | Makeup Reviews, Swatches and How-To Makeup

Taking a look at all of the things I've been missing

PrettyTrippy

a beauty & travel blog (well sort of...)

All The Lovely Things In Life

A blog about beauty, crafting, and things that make me happy.

Beauty High

Beauty Tips, Product Reviews & Beauty Trends

