A New Day

Taking a look at all of the things I've been missing

Sample Killah – Week 2

on July 17, 2014

Welcome to week 2 of Sample Killah!

If you have been joining in for the comedy of chaos that involves me decluttering my house and using tons of little products that have been tucked away for months, then I want to thank you. Bless you for sticking around. If you are just joining me on this adventure, click here for last week’s post. If you have no idea what I’m even rambling about, click here to read the background and rules on Kalyn Lord’s blog.

This is exhausting. I’ve never put so much thought into what I use on a daily basis and then have it change multiple times a day/week. I think part of the challenge for me is that the majority of things in my sample stash are for face and hair. It’s amazing that my face hasn’t completely freaked out – I never abuse it like this! I actually dreamed about products last night…

Kalyn posted some progress reports and I have to say that I don’t know how everyone is going through so much stuff. This is crazy!

20140717-185955-68395290.jpg

So here we go – week 2:

Arbonne Makeup Primer – this worked very well. This was a light, non-greasy formula that stood up all day. I’ve had this sample forever and kind of sad that I waited to use it.

Benefit Hello Flawless Oxygen Wow Foundation in Ivory – I kind of hate this.. and I love most things Benefit. I have used this before and liked it, so I’m not sure what changed. It say oil-free but I have to disagree. This was a 5-day sample and I disliked how it felt every day of it.

BENTA BERRY G-1 Exfoliating Facial Cleanser – I tested this out when it came in a Birchbox forever ago. I quickly realized why it got tossed in the drawer – very unmemorable (is that a word?). I ended up using it as a foot scrub.

Elizabeth Mott Smooth Shadow Pencil in Pearl – this is one that I’ve been using for a while, but have actively tried to finish the last few days. I really liked the color and the formula. This worked so well on my waterline!

Jonathan Hydrating Shampoo – yuck. This was a huge sample that could have been used 3 times. The texture and smell was such a turn off that I couldn’t use it even a second time and dumped it.

kate spade twirl – this was a lovely summery scent that paired well with the Whish body wash. Sadly it didn’t have good wearing power and was gone after a couple hours.

la prairie Cellular Swiss Ice Crystal Cream – I take back everything I have ever said about not being able to judge a product well enough from a foil packet. I was rationing this because I’m so in love with it… of course I am, it retails for $300 a jar. So my birthday is coming up – if you feel compelled to get this for me, I would not stop you.

Make Up For Ever HD Primer – this made the Oxygen Wow tolerable. I really did like this primer and there was enough for multiple uses. I have another one that will be used up by next week.

Ole Henriksen Sheer Transformation Oil-Free Perfecting Cream – this had a nice scent and feel. There really wasn’t enough time to see any real results.

Retrospect Protein Surge Gel Cleanser (2) – what is a cleanser that doesn’t actually clean? This isn’t riddle, it’s a real question. I really disliked that I suffered through 2 multi-use packets. It didn’t remove makeup or oil.

Whish Blueberry Shave Cream – I’ve been using this for a long time – it’s been hanging out in my travel bag and I just wanted to be done with it. It is clumpy and not moisturizing. I don’t really like berry scented things, so that didn’t win me over either.

Whish Exfoliating Body Wash – since I had such distaste for the other Whish product, I shoved this in the back of my sample drawer. Well hello, Sample Killah, time to suck it up and use it. This had a really nice bright scent and was a great every day exfoliator. While I probably wouldn’t purchase the full size, I did enjoy the mini.

This is a total of 13 this week, bringing the total to 22. The overall goal for the month is 50, so that puts me almost at halfway. There are a number of larger sized samples that are “in-progress” and will be used up probably early next week. I have another work trip next week and will pack a few more for use those 3 days.

Keep an eye out for updates on the blog and my Instagram (lvp8779) for what has been used up and the state of my sanity on the final two post days:

  • July 24th
  • July 31st

Have a great week!

 

2 responses to “Sample Killah – Week 2

  1. […] Elizabeth Mott Smooth Shadow Pencil in Penny – as much as I liked this pencil in Pearl, I disliked Penny. The color payoff wasn’t great and it took multiple passes to actually get […]

Leave a Reply

Always, Cleia

Beauty, Lifestyle, and Subscription Boxes

The Beauty Deputy

Reviews on all things beauty related such as: makeup, skin care, fragrances, and much more!

sarah loves makeup

ramblings from a girl who's been obsessed with makeup since, well, forever

The Project Pan Gal

This blog is about my love for makeup and my attempts on using my products up.

After the 9 to 5

Lifestyle - beauty, music, art, books - blog for balancing after the 9 to 5

Life Before Noon

I am learning what the world is like when you wake up before sunrise.

Canadian Beauty Blogger - Makeup Swatches Reviews Hair Nail Polish

Taking a look at all of the things I've been missing

Beauty & The Tomboy.

My Beauty Obsession Shared!

BlushingNoir

Just another WordPress.com site

The Subscriptionist

Subscription Boxes Revealed and Reviewed

Makeup and Beauty Blog | Makeup Reviews, Swatches and How-To Makeup

Taking a look at all of the things I've been missing

PrettyTrippy

a beauty & travel blog (well sort of...)

