A New Day

Taking a look at all of the things I've been missing

Sample Killing – week 1

on July 10, 2014

You may have read yesterday’s post where I vowed to kill off the tons of samples that I’ve been hoarding all over my house. While each participant can choose their own goal, I have assigned myself the goal of 50. Today is progress report day and I’m pleased to report that since July 2, I have officially killed off 9 samples.

20140710-205844-75524256.jpg

Here are the products and a quick review:

fresh Brown Sugar Body Cream – I don’t know what this lotion is supposed to be like, but as soon as I opened the packet, it went everywhere. It was thin and runny. Yuck. On the positive, it smelled nice. Not a good first impression though fresh!

Gilchrist and Soames London Collection Body Lotion – I previously reviewed it here. It ended up growing on me and I cashed in some Birchbox points to get the full size. I’m going to keep the container to portion out and keep as my go-to travel lotion.

it Cosmetics CC+ Color Correcting Full Coverage Cream – this sample was the Medium shade and way to dark. I lightened it with an lighter tinted moisturizer and wore it for a few days. This is niiiice. The coverage was exactly what I’ve been looking for and you have to love the 50+ SPF! This might be on my wish list!

Lancome LaBase Pro -supposedly an oil free primer. I call BS. This left me greasy and gross all day. This sample had 2 uses and I thought the first bad day was a fluke… then I used it again. Even worse.

Le Couvent des Minimes Gardner’s Hand Healer – eh… lotion.

Le Métier de Beauté Rejuvenating Anti-Aging Night Cream – this was a very generous sample from my adventures at Neiman’s last month. Something must have happened to this – it separated and smells FUNKY. Its a good thing I didn’t fall in love with this – it’s $350 a jar. Yikes!

–  Peter Thomas Roth Rose Stem Cell Bio-Repair Cleansing Gel – Sephora recently hooked me up with an 8-day sample- whoa! This was very nice during use, but left my skin really dry. I really hoped it would work out.

Sebastian Drench Moisturizing Shampoo – This smelled AMAZING. I really liked this shampoo but probably wouldn’t splurge for the full size.

Suki Exfollate Foaming Cleanser – it turned into a rock! I was going to use as a foot scrub and it became absolutely unusable. I tried flooding it with water and banging it on the tub and no go. Well that made this challenge a bit easier…

Ok – 9 down and 41 to go! 🙂

 

 

2 responses to “Sample Killing – week 1

  1. […] Sample Killing – week 1 Jul […]

Leave a Reply

Always, Cleia

Beauty, Lifestyle, and Subscription Boxes

The Beauty Deputy

Reviews on all things beauty related such as: makeup, skin care, fragrances, and much more!

sarah loves makeup

ramblings from a girl who's been obsessed with makeup since, well, forever

The Project Pan Gal

This blog is about my love for makeup and my attempts on using my products up.

After the 9 to 5

Lifestyle - beauty, music, art, books - blog for balancing after the 9 to 5

Life Before Noon

I am learning what the world is like when you wake up before sunrise.

Canadian Beauty Blogger - Makeup Swatches Reviews Hair Nail Polish

Taking a look at all of the things I've been missing

Beauty & The Tomboy.

My Beauty Obsession Shared!

BlushingNoir

Just another WordPress.com site

The Subscriptionist

Subscription Boxes Revealed and Reviewed

Makeup and Beauty Blog | Makeup Reviews, Swatches and How-To Makeup

Taking a look at all of the things I've been missing

PrettyTrippy

a beauty & travel blog (well sort of...)

