A New Day

Taking a look at all of the things I've been missing

Use it – June

on July 1, 2014

June is gone zzzzoooooooommmmmmm!! Wow!

Happy Summer everyone! I hope you all are having a lovely season so far! Around here, the heat and humidity has been a little overwhelming… oh and the storms…. those have been a bit intense also! Between work and some unintended adventures with physical therapy, I’ve been a little preoccupied as well as trapped indoors.

So let’s get to it, shall we?

20140629-120425-43465612.jpg20140630-222648-80808740.jpg

Beauty Protector – Protect and Detangle Leave-In Conditioner – this arrived in a Birchbox several months back. I started using this when I was trying to find a cure for my super static-y hair and ended up loving it and using it beyond winter. It not only helped with the static, but really helped fly-aways and breakage. This has a lovely scent and light finish. I would definitely consider purchasing this in the full-size version, but am in no rush, as I’m using another leave-in conditioner right now.

Cetaphil Daily Facial Cleanser – this was listed before as a favorite thing, however, I was recently reprimanded by an aesthetician because they felt that this is too harsh for my skin. While I feel a bit differently, I’m also open to change (sometimes). After a long chat with one of the nice folks at Sephora this weekend, I’m trying out something a bit more gentle for my sensitive skin… I’ll let you know how it goes. 🙂

Clinique Clarifying Lotion #2 many months ago, I talked about this in a My Favorite Things post. I’m still obviously using this regularly!

Crystal Rock – I know I don’t typically post stuff like this… it’s a bit more personal than I care to be… however, I just want to share that I really like using the deodorant rock in the summer. It eliminates the white mess from other deodorants on my seemingly never ending collection of sheath dresses for work and I like that this is a completely natural product – it seems like a good idea to take the natural route on body products from time to time. I have already repurchased this in the liquid version and I actually like that better – much less mess. A couple people have asked me about a more natural product and I always recommend this!

Davines Love Smoothing Conditioner and OI / All in One Milk (not pictured) – these were 2 of 3 Davines products in my Birchbox this month. Again, foil packets, but I got 4 uses out of each. It is strange though that the shampoo was in a much larger container… see my review here.

fresh SUGAR Rose Tinted Lip Treatment – I just love the smell and feel of these balms! The colors are very subtle and the hydration lasts for hours. This particular little one was a gift from Sephora and it turns out I have a whole bunch of them! While I would consider purchasing, I apparently have a stockpile. At this price point (about $20-23), it would be tough to hand over the credit card… I like having spares 🙂
MAC Lipglass in Nymphette – ok so this is 2nd of the 3 lip products I had hoped to finish in November. Clearly we are past that. This is a lovely light pink with a gold hue. This was a repurchase and while I like it, I’m not sure I will buy again. I don’t know though.. ask me again in a few months… Back 2 MAC it goes!

Makeup Forever – waterproof liner in navy – this started out great…a soft and smooth-gliding pencil that lasted all day. Unfortunately as it got closer to the end, it became very dry and hard to use. The last time I sharpened it, the little bit of color left actually separated from the actual pencil and fell onto the floor (insert sad face). I think there are a number of other liners out there that I would purchase before investing in this one again.

Ojon – damage reverse Restorative Hair Treatment + Restorative Hair Treatment Plus – ok, yes, this is a foil packet. BUT, I was able to get 4 uses out of this. I already posted some of my thoughts here in a Birchbox review and I still stand behind my initial thoughts… even though it smells like stale cigarettes. I would consider splurging for the full size.

Sally Hansen Hard as Nails Top Coat – I think this was included in the fall Allure box. How did I go through a bottle of polish so quickly? As you can tell, there is a tiny bit left in the bottom. It is just no longer spreadable – it comes out and globs on to the nail. Typically, it dries quickly and leaves my nails super shiny. I already repurchased while getting my brows done this weekend at Ulta!

tarte Brazilliance – this is a hydrating self tanner chock full of the tarte maracuja oil and was included in the Sephora Sun Safety Kit. I will say that it took a couple tries to figure out the knack to using this. I typically only use self tanner or the Nivea Sun-Kissed Radiant Skin Lotion on my legs since they do not get any color… my arms get freckles at least! The first time I used it, my legs ended up very splotchy and they remained so for a couple days. Oops. I did figure out that this needed to be used in sections and spread evenly. You definitely cannot be flakey or have gone a few days without shaving – it clings to everything. Most importantly, you have to rinse your hands OFTEN! This stuff will seriously stain! I probably would not purchase the full size – it’s pricey (like $40) and if I did, I would have to splurge for the mitt to keep from staining my hands… so no.

The Body Shop Body Scrub in Cranberry Joy – it has been waaayyyy too warm to really use this the last couple months, so I’ve been using it as a foot scrub. I reviewed the body butter a couple months ago here. I didn’t want to waste a perfectly good scrub and figured it would be a bit funky by the time the weather cooled off again. I think I actually have another tucked away in a drawer somewhere.. if not, I’ll repurchase later this year.

Whew! That was a lot of stuff! Have you tried any of these products? What were your thoughts?

 

5 responses to “Use it – June

  1. Sally Hansen Hard As Nails–yes. So good. I use just regular Cetaphil now–not the one for oily skin. I feel it works well for me–very gentle and non drying–it doesn’t foam (which is weird fom some) but it gets the job done with no residue (must rinse well). I used Philosophy Purity for awhile, but it became drying for me with regular use. I used Origins too, but really I don’t want to spend $20/month for something I am washing OFF my face. $11 for regular Cetaphil wash and I am good to go for at least six weeks.

    • Laura P says:

      I can’t tell you how long I had that bottle of Cetaphil – some months…? I’m currently using the philosophy purity and its very nice, but I don’t know if I love it. I’m taking a quick break to test out the Peter Thomas Roth Rose Stem Cell line, so I’ll have to get back to you on that one!

  2. […] dust… This is the second one I’ve gone through this year – featured previously here. I have a bunch of these mini tubes hanging around which is great because I just don’t think […]

  3. […] 6.76oz. tub! I go through a couple Cranberry Joy products every season (see here, here and here) and look forward to the product releases every holiday season. The most exciting change to the […]

  4. […] daily routine and I go through a bottle of Clarifying Lotion every 6-7 months. Previously mentioned here and here, this product helps my skin get the feeling of squeaky clean after a few layers of makeup. […]

Leave a Reply

Always, Cleia

Beauty, Lifestyle, and Subscription Boxes

The Beauty Deputy

Reviews on all things beauty related such as: makeup, skin care, fragrances, and much more!

sarah loves makeup

ramblings from a girl who's been obsessed with makeup since, well, forever

The Project Pan Gal

This blog is about my love for makeup and my attempts on using my products up.

After the 9 to 5

Lifestyle - beauty, music, art, books - blog for balancing after the 9 to 5

Life Before Noon

I am learning what the world is like when you wake up before sunrise.

Canadian Beauty Blogger - Makeup Swatches Reviews Hair Nail Polish

Taking a look at all of the things I've been missing

Beauty & The Tomboy.

My Beauty Obsession Shared!

BlushingNoir

Just another WordPress.com site

The Subscriptionist

Subscription Boxes Revealed and Reviewed

Makeup and Beauty Blog | Makeup Reviews, Swatches and How-To Makeup

Taking a look at all of the things I've been missing

PrettyTrippy

a beauty & travel blog (well sort of...)

