A New Day

Taking a look at all of the things I've been missing

Birchbox vs. Ipsy – May 2014

on May 29, 2014

Hey there everyone!

Long time, no write! It’s been incredibly hectic, forcing a little break from the blog. There’s so much to talk about though!

I will keep my thoughts on Birchbox and Ipsy short and sweet this month. Neither one was particularly amazing but both were chock full of products. I did try out a few things, but I really wasn’t compelled to try everything. I think part of it was in the interest of time, and partially interest.

This month, Birchbox teamed up with Kate Spade Saturday. I have long loved Kate’s tailored bags and shoes and the Saturday line feels a bit like an art school project. The fabric is no where near the same quality and I have yet to see a style of clothing or bag that I’m dying to own. With that being said, I’m just not all that impressed with this month’s featured partnership.

20140529-213335-77615764.jpg

This month’s box included:

  • Marcelle BB Cream Golden Glow
  • PIXI Beauty Shea Butter Lip Balm
  • Nexxus® Color Assure™ Pre-Wash Primer
  • Nexxus® Color Assure™ Vibrancy Retention Shampoo
  • Nexxus® Color Assure™ Vibrancy Retention Conditioner
  • Supergoop!® Everyday SPF 30 with Cellular Response Technology
  • SmartyPants All-in-One Adult Complete Gummy Vitamins + Fiber

20140529-213337-77617420.jpg 20140529-213349-77629739.jpg 20140529-213351-77631777.jpg

While I was able to swatch the lip product and BB cream, it was only to realize the colors were way off for me. The only product I truly tested was the Nexxus 3-Step Vibrancy system. It left my hair incredibly greasy and it was so unpleasant… This box was a big fail.

 

The May Ipsy Glam Bag was adorable! The theme was Fresh Picks and I swear the bag had this light herbal scent… oh Ipsy… so crazy!

20140529-213347-77627926.jpg

My Glam Bag came with 5 unique products:

  • Eva NYC Therapy Session Hair Mask
  • Hang Ten Classic Sport SPF50
  • Pacifica Mineral Eyeshadow Duo
  • Revlon ColorBurst™ Matte Balm in Elusive
  • derma e Microdermabrasion Scrub

20140529-213613-77773881.jpg 20140529-213615-77775720.jpg

Hey, Ipsy, enough microdermabrasion already. I’m good. So another hair mask, another microderm and more sunscreen (that I heard is the same company as Coola). OK it’s not amazing, but I think it is the winner this month. It might be time to adjust the preferences again…

What did you get in your subscription boxes this month?

About Birchbox:
“Birchbox is the leading discovery commerce platform. We are redefining the retail process by offering consumers a unique and personalized way to discover, learn about, and shop the best beauty, grooming, and lifestyle products on the market…
Each month, you’ll receive a selection of samples that we’ve tried (and retried) ourselves. We source our samples from both well-known brands and emerging gems. The women’s subscription includes everything from skincare to makeup, as well as fun non-beauty extras. The men’s subscription delivers top-tier grooming products in addition to lifestyle accessories ranging from hip socks to tech accessories.”
Birchbox is $10 per month. Referrals, purchases and reviews of products will give you points to use in the BB store – 10 points = $1
Click here to use my referral code to get your own subscription!

About Ipsy:

“Michelle Phan has inspired countless women around the world through her beauty video tutorials on YouTube. Every day, the question Michelle gets asked the most is: “What are the right products for me?” With infinite beauty product combinations in the marketplace, choosing the best items for your needs can be a challenge! That was why Michelle created ipsy. Michelle and her team of stylists have selected products they love, for you to try.
Each month, subscribers will receive a beautiful Glam Bag with deluxe samples and full-sized beauty products. Members can watch and play along with the stylists with the same products that they are using. All for only $10 a month.”
Want to sign up? Let me know!
Leave a Reply

Always, Cleia

Beauty, Lifestyle, and Subscription Boxes

The Beauty Deputy

Reviews on all things beauty related such as: makeup, skin care, fragrances, and much more!

sarah loves makeup

ramblings from a girl who's been obsessed with makeup since, well, forever

The Project Pan Gal

This blog is about my love for makeup and my attempts on using my products up.

After the 9 to 5

Lifestyle - beauty, music, art, books - blog for balancing after the 9 to 5

Life Before Noon

I am learning what the world is like when you wake up before sunrise.

Canadian Beauty Blogger - Makeup Swatches Reviews Hair Nail Polish

Taking a look at all of the things I've been missing

Beauty & The Tomboy.

My Beauty Obsession Shared!

BlushingNoir

Just another WordPress.com site

The Subscriptionist

Subscription Boxes Revealed and Reviewed

Makeup and Beauty Blog | Makeup Reviews, Swatches and How-To Makeup

Taking a look at all of the things I've been missing

PrettyTrippy

a beauty & travel blog (well sort of...)

