A New Day

Taking a look at all of the things I've been missing

April Birchbox Review

on April 29, 2014

Happy April everyone! April Showers bring…. great Birchboxes? Well, that’s not too far from the truth. This month was great again! This month’s theme, Rainy Days, was designed to keep us entertained, amused and stocked up on products.

Shall we begin?

20140429-201721.jpg

 – Color Club Gala’s Gems Collection in Heirloom Pearls – “These lacquer shades combine Gala’s beauty know-how with Color Club’s longwearing formulas. Gold Struck is an understated, soft gold that’s subtle enough for daytime wear. Breakfast At… is an emerald pearl that bears a striking resemblance to a certain iconic jewelry box. Aquamarine Azulino is a pearly sky blue with a hint of shimmer, and Heirloom Pearls, Gala’s admitted favorite of the whole collection, is an opulent off-white.”

Feedback: I typically love Color Club – every color I’ve tried is a great full-color vibrant polish. This one, however, fell a bit flat. I think because I’m so pale, this super pale opaque makes my skin look kind of dirty… It’s just the wrong color for me. (I’ve gone on a bit of a hiatus from posting nail photos for a bit in case you haven’t noticed. My cuticles are in terrible shape again and no one wants to see that…)

 – Cynthia Rowley Beauty Eyeliner in Silver – “These luxe, creamy liners deliver bold color that lasts and lasts. Vegan, cruelty-free, and paraben-free, these liners feature Cynthia Rowley’s signature gold foil design.

How to Use

Gently trace your lash line for a defined look. Smudge within 30 seconds for a smoky eye, and then let the formula set for all-day wear. Sharpen the pencil as needed for a finer point.”

Feedback: This is a nice, rich silver liner. I can’t say there is anything spectacular about this color, but it glides on nicely and has great staying power.

 – Fekkai Technician Color Care Shampoo – “Celebrity hair stylist Frédéric Fekkai drew upon years of expertise to develop his signature hair care line. Among the standouts: this color-protective shampoo, which adds a touch of style to our shower caddies. The professional-quality formula works into a rich lather that infuses color-treated locks with a protective complex that helps prevent fading. It’ll keep those highlights vibrant even if you stretch out the time between salon visits.

How it Works

Plant-based proteins keep color-treated looks looking true-to-hue, while moisture-restoring avocado oil hydrates dry, brittle strands. A potent blend of peach, apricot, and callendula flower extracts helps protect hair from discoloration and fading.”

Feedback: I love Fekkai products, but I don’t love the price. I’ve tried some of the color care line before and am just as impressed now as before. My hair was a bit grungy.. I’ve made it pretty clear I wash my hair every 3-4 days.. I washed and repeated and this worked like an amazing clarifying shampoo in addition to protecting the color. My hair felt super clean and soft.

theBalm® cosmetics How ‘Bout Them Apples?™ in Pie– “This creamy lip and cheek palette offers gorgeous, long-wearing color with a slightly wet feel that makes it oh-so-blendable. You might say that applying it is as easy as (apple) pie. Each palette has six colors: Cider, Cobbler, Pie, Crisp, Candy, and Caramel. Mix and match for the sweetest results. Use Caramel for contouring, and dab Cobbler on your lips for a fresh shade of red. Layer Candy and Crisp for the perfect pink peach color, or use Crisp solo all over cheeks. Wear Pie on the apples of your cheeks, and try Cider to mimic the effects of a day spent in the sun.

How to Use

For a true-to-life flush, dab onto cheeks and lips with fingertips. For a more precise line, apply to lips with a lip brush.”

Feedback: This is a really buildable, soft texture. Unfortunately the color is juuust a bit too bright for me to pull off as a blush. It will make a great lip color though!

20140429-201753.jpg

Lifestyle Extra:

 – KIND Healthy Grain Bars – it’s made from SUPERGRAINS. Whoa! This will be a great snack this week.

 

What did you get in your Birchbox this month??

About Birchbox:
“Birchbox is the leading discovery commerce platform. We are redefining the retail process by offering consumers a unique and personalized way to discover, learn about, and shop the best beauty, grooming, and lifestyle products on the market…
Each month, you’ll receive a selection of samples that we’ve tried (and retried) ourselves. We source our samples from both well-known brands and emerging gems. The women’s subscription includes everything from skincare to makeup, as well as fun non-beauty extras. The men’s subscription delivers top-tier grooming products in addition to lifestyle accessories ranging from hip socks to tech accessories.”
Birchbox is $10 per month. Referrals, purchases and reviews of products will give you points to use in the BB store – 10 points = $1
Click here to use my referral code to get your own subscription!
2 responses to “April Birchbox Review

  1. […] Fekkai Color Care Shampoo – I received this in my April Birchbox – I decided to clean out my stash a bit and use this up. I love all of the Fekkai products – […]

  2. […] because it wasn’t really a new product, but it was a 2014 rediscovery. This came in my April Birchbox and I fell back in love after not using for a few years. I recently purchased the full-size (8oz.) […]

Leave a Reply

The Beauty Deputy

Reviews on all things beauty related such as: makeup, skin care, fragrances, and much more!

sarah loves makeup

ramblings from a girl who's been obsessed with makeup since, well, forever

The Project Pan Gal

This blog is about my love for makeup and my attempts on using my products up.

After the 9 to 5

Lifestyle - beauty, music, art, books - blog for balancing after the 9 to 5

Life Before Noon

I am learning what the world is like when you wake up before sunrise.

Canadian Beauty Blogger - Makeup Swatches Reviews Hair Nail Polish

Taking a look at all of the things I've been missing

Beauty & The Tomboy.

My Beauty Obsession Shared!

BlushingNoir

Just another WordPress.com site

The Subscriptionist

Subscription Boxes Revealed and Reviewed

Makeup and Beauty Blog | Makeup Reviews, Swatches and How-To Makeup

Taking a look at all of the things I've been missing

PrettyTrippy

a beauty & travel blog (well sort of...)

All The Lovely Things In Life

A blog about beauty, crafting, and things that make me happy.

Beauty High

Beauty Tips, Product Reviews & Beauty Trends

