A New Day

Taking a look at all of the things I've been missing

Benefit Skin Care Line

on April 6, 2014

Hey Bene-Babes!

You know who you are… you love the fun designs and cheeky product names. When someone says Bad Gal, you don’t think Rihanna. And the concept of blush in a box makes complete sense. So I probably just described you and you have a whole stockpile of amazing products. Right?

Ever since our local Ulta opened a few years back, I have been a loyal Benefit junkie. I visit the Benefit Brow Bar (and will ONLY go to Meredith) every four weeks. This was my gateway to all things Benefit. Over the last few years, I have found several of my holy grail products. And as a regular, I feel like I always get a little bit of inside scoop on new products and get access to some great stuff.

When the skincare line came out many moons ago, I gave my samples a try and didn’t really think much about it. The products smelled amazing, but I didn’t really find them memorable. So now fast forward to a few weeks ago when I decided to dedicate 2 weeks each to the eye and face cream. My girl Stephanie give me some generous samples of the It’s Potent! Eye Cream and Total Moisture Facial Cream.

I blocked out some time in my regularly scheduled skincare ritual to commit to first, the eye cream.

Sephora says:

What it is:
A brightening eye cream to help fade dark circles.

s1318344-main-hero
What it is formulated to do:
Your eyes can’t keep a secret—they’re the first to show signs of age and stress. It’s Potent! Eye Cream fades dark circles and helps smooth the appearance of fine lines for brighter, younger-looking eyes. It contains a peptide complex known to help restore elasticity and firmness, along with a blend of hydrating botanical extracts and loquat extract, known to help protect the skin from free radical damage.

Well, I call bullshit. I applied it before bed and woke up to the scariest, darkest circles of my life. Maybe it was because I wasn’t feeling well? Over the next several days my dark circles continued to be a match for any concealer. It did a nice job firming up the ever-present crow’s feet, but the circles are a deal breaker. After my 2 week commitment, I happily went back to my philosophy Miracle Worker.

Up next, the Total Moisture Facial Cream.

Sephora says:

What it is:
A hydra-concentrated facial cream with tri-radiance complex.

s1318336-main-hero

What it does:
Formulated for normal to dry skin, this concentrated facial cream provides immediate and long-term hydration for an ultra-radiant complexion. It contains an exclusive “tri-radiance complex” to help develop the skin’s reserves of water and reinforce skin’s moisture barrier.

I just finished the 2-week run with this product and am very happy. I opted to use this as a day product only – nighttime is still a struggle since the weather is still up and down and I didn’t want to risk messing with my night routine and take a chance to end up too dry. This cream is fantastic – light, non-greasy and smells AMAZING. I don’t typically want a face product with a scent, but I can’t help but love it. This provided all day moisture and left my skin bright and fresh. The biggest drawback is that this moisturizer does not have SPF… so is this really a night cream then? I’m a bit confused. If I decide to make the jump and purchase the full size, I would probably use at night in the summer or during the day with a lightweight SPF cream.

Overall, this experience does make me think about skincare/makeup as a whole. Just because you do color well, does not mean that skill extends to skincare. So perhaps this was an interesting experiment for the line and it may not be in for the long haul.

What are your thoughts on the Benefit skin care line?

 

 

One response to “Benefit Skin Care Line

  1. […] Benefit Skin Care Line Apr […]

Leave a Reply

The Beauty Deputy

Reviews on all things beauty related such as: makeup, skin care, fragrances, and much more!

sarah loves makeup

ramblings from a girl who's been obsessed with makeup since, well, forever

The Project Pan Gal

This blog is about my love for makeup and my attempts on using my products up.

After the 9 to 5

Lifestyle - beauty, music, art, books - blog for balancing after the 9 to 5

Life Before Noon

I am learning what the world is like when you wake up before sunrise.

Canadian Beauty Blogger - Makeup Swatches Reviews Hair Nail Polish

Taking a look at all of the things I've been missing

Beauty & The Tomboy.

My Beauty Obsession Shared!

BlushingNoir

Just another WordPress.com site

The Subscriptionist

Subscription Boxes Revealed and Reviewed

Makeup and Beauty Blog | Makeup Reviews, Swatches and How-To Makeup

Taking a look at all of the things I've been missing

PrettyTrippy

a beauty & travel blog (well sort of...)

All The Lovely Things In Life

A blog about beauty, crafting, and things that make me happy.

Beauty High

Beauty Tips, Product Reviews & Beauty Trends

