A New Day

Taking a look at all of the things I've been missing

Use It – March

on April 5, 2014

Another month has ticked by…. it snowed, I started the new job with a moderate commute, read some books, it snowed some more and I used a bunch of stuff up.

20140405-200401.jpg

So here we go:

Burt’s Bees Rejuvenating Lip Balm with Acai Berry – I have purchased and repurchased this product. I used to buy the regular peppermint flavor but I never really liked the burning feeling and lingering waxy peppermint taste. The acai berry is much smoother and there is little to no flavor. I am out for now, but will be buying this again.

Julep Nail Color in Zora – this is a lovely pearl pink shade with a hint of shimmer. This is the second vial of polish I’ve used up in as many months… I don’t know if that means I’m using a ton of polish or there isn’t as much product as I thought.. either way, this was my go-to interview polish for the last few months. It is more than a basic neutral or basic pink – I has a great bit of character. I will probably not repurchase this only because I have amassed so many colors over the last several months.

Klorane Extra-gentle dry shampoo with oat milk – meh. You can read my previous review here.

MAC Lipgelee Clear Color Gloss – I think this has a name, but have no clue what it would be. Girl, this one is OLD. This was one of the three products I told myself I had to finish before I am allowed to buy any more lip products. (While I failed miserably at No Buy November, I think I have actually stuck to this one.) So this pretty gloss was a sheer red/pink with gold shimmer and went on very clear. Sadly, I never felt as though it deposited enough color. The Lipgelee is no longer on the MAC website… it probably hasn’t been in… well, years…. let’s leave it at that. This was probably the thickest, goopiest gloss I’ve ever used and I loved it. However, I am probably one of the very few who liked this consistency, which is likely why the Lipgelee craze didn’t take off. If it were available, I would totally buy this again.

Ojon Rub-Out Dry Cleanser – I can’t believe I actually finished this. I hated it. See my previous review here.

philosophy Peppermint Bark lip gloss – I tried and tried to use this. Described as “high-gloss, high-flavor mint chocolate candy lip shine.” I just couldn’t get past the flavor of this. The color was beautiful, but it was just so minty and sweet and did not pair well with any wine.

I feel like I made a definite dent – at least in the dry shampoo collection that is taking up my bathroom counter.

Books read in March:

The Reading Group by Elizabeth Noble (started in Feb)

I Feel Bad About My Neck: And Other Thoughts on Being a Woman by Nora Ephron (audio)

The Guy Not Taken: Stories by Jennifer Weiner (audio)

The Unlikely Disciple: A Sinner’s Semester at America’s Holiest University by Kevin Roose

The Butler: A Witness to History by Wil Haygood (audio)

The Fault In Our Stars by John Green (audio)

My new commute is about 40 min each way and when I’m not listening to NPR, I’m listening to a book. If you want to know my thoughts on any of these, feel free to visit my reviews on Goodreads.

 

 

Leave a Reply

The Beauty Deputy

Reviews on all things beauty related such as: makeup, skin care, fragrances, and much more!

sarah loves makeup

ramblings from a girl who's been obsessed with makeup since, well, forever

The Project Pan Gal

This blog is about my love for makeup and my attempts on using my products up.

After the 9 to 5

Lifestyle - beauty, music, art, books - blog for balancing after the 9 to 5

Life Before Noon

I am learning what the world is like when you wake up before sunrise.

Canadian Beauty Blogger - Makeup Swatches Reviews Hair Nail Polish

Taking a look at all of the things I've been missing

Beauty & The Tomboy.

My Beauty Obsession Shared!

BlushingNoir

Just another WordPress.com site

The Subscriptionist

Subscription Boxes Revealed and Reviewed

Makeup and Beauty Blog | Makeup Reviews, Swatches and How-To Makeup

Taking a look at all of the things I've been missing

The Makeup Blogger

Taking a look at all of the things I've been missing

PrettyTrippy

a beauty & travel blog (well sort of...)

All The Lovely Things In Life

A blog about beauty, crafting, and things that make me happy.

Beauty High

Beauty Tips, Product Reviews & Beauty Trends

