A New Day

Taking a look at all of the things I've been missing

March Ipsy Review

on March 23, 2014

Hello March and ipsy’s Destination Beauty… ooh! What a great escape during this boring late winter/early spring! (and for the record it is STILL SNOWING in Ohio….)

First up is this super cute bag (with no strange odor) designed by Klari Rees, inspired by her surroundings of lovely San Francisco. I adore this bag – don’t be surprised if you see me toting this around! And this month’s products are fantastic, I’m super happy with the whole shipment.

Check it out:

20140318-200130.jpg
This month’s products:

NYX Love in Rio – Amazonian Babes: Escape to Rio…if only with your eyes. Inspired by the non-stop action of this exotic city, these 3-color eye shadow palettes give you high-glam, go-anywhere intensity day and night thanks to their highly pigmented formulations. Hit the beach in natural nudes, then dance the night away with a shimmering sweep of juicy color from the dual-ended applicator.

ipsy subscribers who receive this product will receive No Tan Lines Allowed, Amazonian Babes, Segredos De Giselle, Barefoot In The Sand, Meet Me At The Copa, Moonlit Skinny Dip, Voodoo Love Spells, Cabana Boy, Bikini Bottom, or The Brazilian.

Feedback: This is my first experience with the NYX eyeshadows and I’m really impressed. The colors are multidimensional, blended really well and stayed put for a good 8 hours. I wasn’t feeling well the day I took these photos, hence the dark circles that refused to be disguised by any makeup trick. I checked out all of the trios while I was at Ulta yesterday and there are some great combinations.

20140320-191905.jpg

20140320-191913.jpg
The top left photo is a close-up of the bag, top right is the eye trio, bottom left is the primer and bottom right Get Ready

Pixi Flawless Beauty Primer: The Pixi Beauty Flawless Beauty Primer is loaded with skin loving ingredients. Formula contains powerful anti-aging and skin fortifying benefits. Formula suitable for all skin types.

Feedback: Such a lovely, subtle glow to this product! I didn’t feel like this left any type of shimmer, although it certainly gives the impression that there could be some illumination. I’ve heard so many mixed reviews of Pixi products and after trying this, I see why. The photos above with the eye trio include the primer and the MAC Studio Tech cream foundation in NW15 and my makeup barely moved for 12 hours… the only flaw was some creasing in the eye shadow. The next day, I paired this with the Bobbi Brown SPF 15 Tinted Moisturizer in Alabaster Tinting after a few hours, looked and felt like a giant grease ball. Clearly this primer works better with some things than others. I will keep using this.

bareMinerals Marvelous Moxie™ in Get Ready: Make an impact with Marvelous Moxie™ Lipstick. Creamy, super-saturated, ultra-pigmented color glides on like butter for full coverage in a rich satin finish. Lips look fuller and more voluptuous. An infusion of minerals revitalizes lips for a healthy-looking pout, while a moisture-loaded hydrating complex helps to nourish and condition with Abyssinian Oil and Omega Fatty Acids for supple, baby-soft smoothness. All the while, an encapsulated vitamin A, C and E complex helps to deliver antioxidant defense, so you’re ready for anything—and everything. 

Feedback: I am probably the only person out there who is sort of anti bareMinerals. I think in general, everything has too much mica, which is a mineral that dries. While it makes things super shimmery (which I love), I’m not so sure I want to use products that are so mica-rich. Ok with that off my chest, this lipstick is just ok. It had a nice texture and scent – went on very smooth. I didn’t feel like the coverage was consistent, it started feathering very badly and I swear it kept getting more and more pink as I wore it. It looked fuchsia by the time I left the house. Maybe it will pair nicely with a gloss? Most likely this will end up chucked in makeup purgatory…

Chella eyeliner pen Indigo Blue: Experience Chella’s Eyeliner Pen, a formula so incredible and surprising it almost describes itself. Highly innovative, never-done before – this pigmented, non-staining eyeliner ink provides a sleek, high-intensity eye make-up that lasts all day. This silky eyeliner glides on to define, emphasize and embolden with long lasting vibrant color that stays on until you want it gone!

– Lasts all day
– Water resistant
– Smudge proof
– Quick drying, no feathering
– Free of NANO, free of parabens
– Patent pending

Feedback: I’ve only had the chance to swatch this on my hand so far… I wanted to make sure there were no reactions before putting on my eyes. Vibrant is an understatement. I can’t wait to give this a shot. The only thing I noticed while wearing this is that no amount of soap and water would take this off. My skin has a tendency to hold color so getting my hand stamped is a real pain… I’m hoping that this is not an indication of how long it might cling to the thin skin around my eyes….

Overall, I am so happy with this month!

About Ipsy:
“Michelle Phan has inspired countless women around the world through her beauty video tutorials on YouTube. Every day, the question Michelle gets asked the most is: “What are the right products for me?” With infinite beauty product combinations in the marketplace, choosing the best items for your needs can be a challenge! That was why Michelle created ipsy. Michelle and her team of stylists have selected products they love, for you to try.
Each month, subscribers will receive a beautiful Glam Bag with deluxe samples and full-sized beauty products. Members can watch and play along with the stylists with the same products that they are using. All for only $10 a month.”
Want to sign up? Let me know!

 

One response to “March Ipsy Review

  1. […] Chella eyeliner in Indigo Blue – you can read my initial Ipsy review here. I think the point of this pen is too long. There was more liner to use, but the tip became very […]

Leave a Reply

The Beauty Deputy

Reviews on all things beauty related such as: makeup, skin care, fragrances, and much more!

sarah loves makeup

ramblings from a girl who's been obsessed with makeup since, well, forever

The Project Pan Gal

This blog is about my love for makeup and my attempts on using my products up.

After the 9 to 5

Lifestyle - beauty, music, art, books - blog for balancing after the 9 to 5

Life Before Noon

I am learning what the world is like when you wake up before sunrise.

Canadian Beauty Blogger - Makeup Swatches Reviews Hair Nail Polish

Taking a look at all of the things I've been missing

Beauty & The Tomboy.

My Beauty Obsession Shared!

BlushingNoir

Just another WordPress.com site

The Subscriptionist

Subscription Boxes Revealed and Reviewed

Makeup and Beauty Blog | Makeup Reviews, Swatches and How-To Makeup

Taking a look at all of the things I've been missing

PrettyTrippy

a beauty & travel blog (well sort of...)

All The Lovely Things In Life

A blog about beauty, crafting, and things that make me happy.

Beauty High

Beauty Tips, Product Reviews & Beauty Trends

