A New Day

Taking a look at all of the things I've been missing

Use It – February

on March 1, 2014

Another month has come to an end. Where did February go??

While it was a short month, I made a nice dent in several products this month and managed to finish up some stuff that’s been hanging around for a while.

20140301-171223.jpg

alessandro HAND!SPA Age Complex – this tube came through Birchbox several months ago. “Add moisture back to your hands and arms with this German brand’s luxe anti-aging hand cream, formulated to add elasticity and suppleness back to your tired, damaged skin. Grapeseed extract protects the skin from sun damage while morus bombycis extract, found in mulberries, gently lightens dark spots for a more youthful appearance. Sunflower seed oil adds moisture to revitalize dry hands.” The scent was nice and light, but I didn’t find this overly moisturizing. It was a good lotion to throw in my purse for a c0uple months.

Chantecaille Faux Cils Mascara in Black – I talked about this a couple times over the last couple months. It’s ok. This is designed to be a thickening mascara, but I didn’t find that to be the case. It was good for lengthening, but since my lashes regularly hit my glasses, that’s not something I look for in a formula. Again, thanks Birchbox, but definitely not worth the full price of $42.

Julep Nail Color in Nora (matte suede finish) – I had a love/hate relationship with this polish. It is this beautiful purple/grey/silver shimmer in the bottle that dried super flat matte. With a topcoat, it was back to the great shade in the bottle. The biggest problem with this polish though was the chipping – within 24-36 hours of application I would need to redo 3-4 nails. This was my introduction to the Julep line and it almost ruined it for me. Thank goodness I gave Julep a few more chances with the Maven boxes because I’ve definitely changed my mind – see my last Julep review. I can’t remember the last time I actually finished a bottle of nail polish… high school??

Kiehl’s Powerful-Strength Line-Reducing Concentrate – I used this over the last 2-3 months as part of my nightly routine and didn’t see any major changes. A couple weeks ago, I added in the Kiehl’s Midnight Recovery Concentrate and really started to see a difference. The combination of these two products had great results – noticeably minimizing fine lines around my eyes. I will definitely look to purchase this again on my next trip to the L’Oreal company store!

MAC Eye Shadow in Seedy Pearl – I haven’t finished an eye shadow in forever!! Here is the start to my next round of Back 2 MAC products. Seedy Pearl is a grey/pink/purple, frosty neutral. How’s that for descriptive and vague all at once? This color is perfect on its own or to blend with other shades. This will likely reappear in my collection again.

What have you finished up this month?

 

One response to “Use It – February

  1. […] my last Use It post, I referenced combining the Midnight Recovery Concentrate with the Kiehl’s Powerful-Strength […]

Leave a Reply

The Beauty Deputy

Reviews on all things beauty related such as: makeup, skin care, fragrances, and much more!

sarah loves makeup

ramblings from a girl who's been obsessed with makeup since, well, forever

The Project Pan Gal

This blog is about my love for makeup and my attempts on using my products up.

After the 9 to 5

Lifestyle - beauty, music, art, books - blog for balancing after the 9 to 5

Life Before Noon

I am learning what the world is like when you wake up before sunrise.

Canadian Beauty Blogger - Makeup Swatches Reviews Hair Nail Polish

Taking a look at all of the things I've been missing

Beauty & The Tomboy.

My Beauty Obsession Shared!

BlushingNoir

Just another WordPress.com site

The Subscriptionist

Subscription Boxes Revealed and Reviewed

Makeup and Beauty Blog | Makeup Reviews, Swatches and How-To Makeup

Taking a look at all of the things I've been missing

The Makeup Blogger

Taking a look at all of the things I've been missing

PrettyTrippy

a beauty & travel blog (well sort of...)

All The Lovely Things In Life

A blog about beauty, crafting, and things that make me happy.

Beauty High

Beauty Tips, Product Reviews & Beauty Trends

