A New Day

Taking a look at all of the things I've been missing

What’s in my (ski) bag?

on February 19, 2014

Since there seems to be no real sign of the end of the longest Midwestern winter, I thought I would share some of my ski day essentials. Lately this has been the only thing (aside from retail therapy) that is keeping me sane. And believe it or not, my lift tickets have been cheaper than my beauty products lately…

20140219-195235.jpg

Above, Chapstick Ultra, Neutrogena Ultra Sheer Sunscreen, Avon ANEW Platinum Day Cream, inhaler and a snack 🙂

Have I preached sun care enough? The answer is no, you can never talk too much about protecting yourself from harmful rays. In addition to my am moisturizer, I add in a couple extra precautionary products. On a sunny day in any season, that tiny bit of SPF in your daily products just won’t cut it. After the regular moisturizer, I add a thin layer of the Avon ANEW Platinum Day Cream with SPF 25. It helps extend that morning SPF application and it smells really nice and doesn’t make your skin greasy. The final step is adding a lightweight sweatproof and waterproof sunscreen. I love the entire Neutrogena sun care line – for skiing I tend to use the Dry Touch Sunblock. The final essential is a high SPF lip balm. If you have never experienced sunburned lips, you’re lucky. I unfortunately have left the mountain more than once with painful, swollen sunburned Mick Jaggar looking lips. I have yet to find a high SPF lip balm without a nasty flavor, so while I can’t tell you I like the flavor, the Chapstick Ultra has one of the less offensive flavors.

I’ve been frequenting my central Ohio ski hill recently and I feel as though I need to give them a big shout out. Clear Fork Ski Resort is where I learned how to ski more than 25 years ago. It was closed for several years and reopened to one of the warmest Ohio winters imaginable 3 years ago. They’ve definitely been picking up momentum and making some changes including upgrading their snowmaking equipment and build a tubing park. February is featuring buy one get one free lift tickets – at a rate of $22 for four hours for no lift lines, there is no question that you get the best value for local skiing. Check it out: http://clearforkski.com/index.php/

 

Leave a Reply

The Beauty Deputy

Reviews on all things beauty related such as: makeup, skin care, fragrances, and much more!

sarah loves makeup

ramblings from a girl who's been obsessed with makeup since, well, forever

The Project Pan Gal

This blog is about my love for makeup and my attempts on using my products up.

After the 9 to 5

Lifestyle - beauty, music, art, books - blog for balancing after the 9 to 5

Life Before Noon

I am learning what the world is like when you wake up before sunrise.

Canadian Beauty Blogger - Makeup Swatches Reviews Hair Nail Polish

Taking a look at all of the things I've been missing

Beauty & The Tomboy.

My Beauty Obsession Shared!

BlushingNoir

Just another WordPress.com site

The Subscriptionist

Subscription Boxes Revealed and Reviewed

Makeup and Beauty Blog | Makeup Reviews, Swatches and How-To Makeup

Taking a look at all of the things I've been missing

PrettyTrippy

a beauty & travel blog (well sort of...)

All The Lovely Things In Life

A blog about beauty, crafting, and things that make me happy.

Beauty High

Beauty Tips, Product Reviews & Beauty Trends

