A New Day

Taking a look at all of the things I've been missing

February Julep Maven Box

on February 6, 2014

After a few months, I give up… I’m hooked. This month was so fantastic that I’m in for the long haul.

photo 1

I opted for Classic with a Twist from The Dramatic Collection which contained Greta, Octavia, Love and the new Julep Eye Sheen in Warm Fig Shimmer. I really liked the color options, so added on Rooney from the Boho Glam collection… darn it!

Review:

Greta – not yet sampled.

Octavia – a beautiful navy crème. One coat covered pretty well, however I went for two just to make sure there weren’t any spots creeping through. Its shiny and has a lot of depth. I’ve wanted a navy for a while and this is just the shade I was looking for! See photo below – topped off with Ta Da! Quick Dry Drops.

Love – this is a limited edition for all Mavens. It is a fun gold glitter with tiny pink flecks. It dries a bit rough, but easily smoothed out with a topcoat. I’m not a big fan of the accent nail typically, but thought this would be a good time to give it a go. (sorry… I was a bit sloppy around the edges!

photo 5

Rooney – Julep describes this  color as “walnut bark crème” and its really quite accurate. Its a gorgeous chocolaty brown – another color I was really hoping to add to my collection. This was an impulsive add on for $4.99. Please ignore my awful cuticles in the photo – I have tried everything imaginable and nothing helps them during the winter…

photo 2

In addition to the nail products, Julep included the newly released Eye Sheens which each subscriber had the opportunity to pick their color of choice. I opted for the Warm Fig Shimmer – I changed my mind several times and kept leaning towards the neutrals, but happy I went with this deep pink shade. The color comes in a jar as a cream and dries to a seriously stay-put finish. The Warm Fig has beautiful warm golden undertones and a slight shimmer with no fallout.

photo 3

photo 4

The left is indoor light, right is natural light. I’m still working on photo quality…. please stick with me, I’ll get there!

Over all, this box was phenomenal. Like I said, I’m totally hooked.

This month’s breakdown: each polish is $14 ($11.20 for Mavens) and the eye sheens are listed at $18 ($14.40 for Mavens). The Classic with a Twist box was $24.98 ($19.99 plus the additional $4.99 for the add on) for products totaling $59.20-$74.

If you are interested in subscribing to Julep,  please feel free to use my referral code and don’t forget the FREE BOX code to get your first subscription box free.

Fun fact from the Julep website:

“What makes Julep Nail Color so great?

Julep Nail Color is “4-free” and does not contain formaldehyde, formaldehyde resin, toluene, or DBP. Our professional chip-resistant formulation is fast drying and highly pigmented. Julep nail color is a fun way to make the season’s latest shades accessible to everyone. And because we’ve tested our trend-setting toxin-free colors and products in over 100,000 manicures and pedicures in our parlors, we have a good idea of what works and what our clients love.”

 

I hope you’re enjoying the start of the Olympics tonight! The figure skating team competition has been great so far!!

 

 

One response to “February Julep Maven Box

  1. […] few more chances with the Maven boxes because I’ve definitely changed my mind – see my last Julep review. I can’t remember the last time I actually finished a bottle of nail polish… high […]

Leave a Reply

Always, Cleia

Beauty, Lifestyle, and Subscription Boxes

The Beauty Deputy

Reviews on all things beauty related such as: makeup, skin care, fragrances, and much more!

sarah loves makeup

ramblings from a girl who's been obsessed with makeup since, well, forever

The Project Pan Gal

This blog is about my love for makeup and my attempts on using my products up.

After the 9 to 5

Lifestyle - beauty, music, art, books - blog for balancing after the 9 to 5

Life Before Noon

I am learning what the world is like when you wake up before sunrise.

Canadian Beauty Blogger - Makeup Swatches Reviews Hair Nail Polish

Taking a look at all of the things I've been missing

Beauty & The Tomboy.

My Beauty Obsession Shared!

BlushingNoir

Just another WordPress.com site

The Subscriptionist

Subscription Boxes Revealed and Reviewed

Makeup and Beauty Blog | Makeup Reviews, Swatches and How-To Makeup

Taking a look at all of the things I've been missing

PrettyTrippy

a beauty & travel blog (well sort of...)

