A New Day

Taking a look at all of the things I've been missing

January Ipsy Review

on January 23, 2014

Soooo….. Ipsy. Um, you stink. Seriously. I opened my super fun hot pink bubble wrap bag and pulled out the most awful smelling (but cute) make up bag. It actually made the products stink.

Ipsy package #1 arrived around the 14th:

photo 4

Happily, inside the bag was much more pleasant!

photo 2

Pictured above:

Briogeo Don’t Despair, Repair!™ Deep Conditioning Mask – this smells really nice. Can’t wait to check it out (currently have a hair mask in rotation)

Elizabeth Mott Smooth Shadow in Pearl – this is a really pretty pale sand shade – definitely a liner not a shadow. This would be great for inner eye or lower waterline. The shade is very sublet and glittery – I kind of love glitter. The only drawback I see is that it is very difficult to remove. See swatch below.

Nourish Organic Lightweight Moisturizing Face Lotion – I gave this away to a friend. I don’t really mess around with changing up moisturizer – my skin would freak out.

MicaBeauty Tinted Lip Balm in Fiesta – oh dear. This is really not a good shade for me. It’s sort of an odd shade of pink (mauve?) and it stains. If you look at the swatch below, note that it stained my arm through several washings. To top it off, they sent me two.

Proactiv+ Mark Fading Pads – haven’t tried them yet but willing to give it a shot.

photo 5   photo 3

 

Ipsy shipment #2 arrived and was officially cancelled yesterday.

This bag smelled significantly less offensive than the first and I actually liked the selections much more.

photo 1

Elizabeth Mott Smooth Shadow in Penny – similar to my review from above I really like this soft coppery pencil. It is very similar to the MUFE copper that I used in a previous post. I swatched them side by side for comparison (EM on top, MUFE on bottom).

photo 3

ALTERNA Caviar Anti-Aging® Dry Shampoo – a few days earlier and I could have included it in my dry shampoo roundup. I haven’t tried anything in this line, so this was a really great addition.

Marula Pure Marula Facial Oil – I’m probably the last person to try facial oils. Again, because of my skin’s tendency to freak out, I’m doing overnight test patches to make sure there are no reactions before I put it all over my face. It smells beautiful and I hope the test patches go well so I can put to further use.

MicaBeauty Tinted Lip Balm in Natural– this color is lovely – it compliments my skin tone much better than the Fiesta. The texture of this is very interesting – smooth but not moisturizing, which is odd since it claims to be a balm. This color stains significantly less also.

Absolute! Makeup Cleansing Tissue – haven’t sampled yet. I currently have a package of facial wipes open, so I don’t want to risk these drying out.

photo 2

Overall review – this is only my second month into this subscription and I am really pleased. While I did cancel my second bag, it was never my intention to sign up for two to begin with. I look forward to the upcoming months!

About Ipsy:
“Michelle Phan has inspired countless women around the world through her beauty video tutorials on YouTube. Every day, the question Michelle gets asked the most is: “What are the right products for me?” With infinite beauty product combinations in the marketplace, choosing the best items for your needs can be a challenge! That was why Michelle created ipsy. Michelle and her team of stylists have selected products they love, for you to try.
Each month, subscribers will receive a beautiful Glam Bag with deluxe samples and full-sized beauty products. Members can watch and play along with the stylists with the same products that they are using. All for only $10 a month.”
Want to sign up? Let me know!
One response to “January Ipsy Review

  1. […] really need something much more moisturizing. When I combined it with the Maula facial oil from the January Ipsy bag, it did perform much better. I would probably purchase this again – this 2 oz jar lasted a […]

Leave a Reply

Always, Cleia

Beauty, Lifestyle, and Subscription Boxes

The Beauty Deputy

Reviews on all things beauty related such as: makeup, skin care, fragrances, and much more!

sarah loves makeup

ramblings from a girl who's been obsessed with makeup since, well, forever

The Project Pan Gal

This blog is about my love for makeup and my attempts on using my products up.

After the 9 to 5

Lifestyle - beauty, music, art, books - blog for balancing after the 9 to 5

Life Before Noon

I am learning what the world is like when you wake up before sunrise.

Canadian Beauty Blogger - Makeup Swatches Reviews Hair Nail Polish

Taking a look at all of the things I've been missing

Beauty & The Tomboy.

My Beauty Obsession Shared!

BlushingNoir

Just another WordPress.com site

The Subscriptionist

Subscription Boxes Revealed and Reviewed

Makeup and Beauty Blog | Makeup Reviews, Swatches and How-To Makeup

Taking a look at all of the things I've been missing

PrettyTrippy

a beauty & travel blog (well sort of...)

