A New Day

Taking a look at all of the things I've been missing

January Birchbox Review

on January 21, 2014

Mail call!!

I recently recommitted to Birchbox for all of 2014 and I’m pretty glad that I did! In addition to 2 free boxes and 99 points for the Birchbox store, I got a pretty amazing January box. This month’s theme is GO TIME – inspiration to take on more in 2014.

photo 1

Contents include:

Serge Normant Meta Revive Dry Conditioner  – interesting… I’m not quite sure I get the concept of a dry conditioner. I used it the day after I let my hair air-dry wavy – sprayed it on as recommended, from mid-point to the ends and let dry. I followed with a light brushing and it turned into a big frizzy mess. Was it shiner? Maybe….? It smelled very nice and was incredibly lightweight, but I didn’t feel it was all that effective. Listen, if Sarah Jessica Parker has been using Mr. Normant for 10 years, he must be doing something right…
Coastal Scents® Revealed Palette Set – I’ve been hearing a lot about this brand recently and was excited to receive this sample quad. It sort of seems like the full size might be their take on the Naked palette. The colors are really nice and have good pigmentation. The swatches looked pretty on my super-pale skin.
shadowshadow2
Camille Beckman Body Butter in Midnight Monarch – this is a fairly generous sample (.25 oz). The texture is thick and moisturizing, not at all greasy. It absorbed well and was long lasting. I can’t seem to pinpoint the scent, but it’s a very warm, almost musky scent. It definitely doesn’t remind me of butterflies, but it is a great winter scent.
Retrospect Protein Surge Gel Cleanser – have not sampled. Two large foil packets were enclosed. I’m guessing there are about 4 uses in each.
Under Armour Braided Mini Headband – this was something I didn’t even know that I needed. I have tried so many headbands and nothing seems to stay on my head – maybe it’s oddly shaped? This headband hardly moved. I tested it around the house and then took it out on the inaugural gym visit and it did surprisingly well. I don’t know that I would spend $20 for 3, but this was a great and useful lifestyle addition.
About Birchbox:
“Birchbox is the leading discovery commerce platform. We are redefining the retail process by offering consumers a unique and personalized way to discover, learn about, and shop the best beauty, grooming, and lifestyle products on the market…
Each month, you’ll receive a selection of samples that we’ve tried (and retried) ourselves. We source our samples from both well-known brands and emerging gems. The women’s subscription includes everything from skincare to makeup, as well as fun non-beauty extras. The men’s subscription delivers top-tier grooming products in addition to lifestyle accessories ranging from hip socks to tech accessories.”
Birchbox is $10 per month. Referrals, purchases and reviews of products will give you points to use in the BB store – 10 points = $1
Click here to use my referral code to get your own subscription!
What did you get in your Birchbox?
Leave a Reply

Always, Cleia

Beauty, Lifestyle, and Subscription Boxes

The Beauty Deputy

Reviews on all things beauty related such as: makeup, skin care, fragrances, and much more!

sarah loves makeup

ramblings from a girl who's been obsessed with makeup since, well, forever

The Project Pan Gal

This blog is about my love for makeup and my attempts on using my products up.

After the 9 to 5

Lifestyle - beauty, music, art, books - blog for balancing after the 9 to 5

Life Before Noon

I am learning what the world is like when you wake up before sunrise.

Canadian Beauty Blogger - Makeup Swatches Reviews Hair Nail Polish

Taking a look at all of the things I've been missing

Beauty & The Tomboy.

My Beauty Obsession Shared!

BlushingNoir

Just another WordPress.com site

The Subscriptionist

Subscription Boxes Revealed and Reviewed

Makeup and Beauty Blog | Makeup Reviews, Swatches and How-To Makeup

Taking a look at all of the things I've been missing

PrettyTrippy

a beauty & travel blog (well sort of...)

